We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a great setting”
Review of Urbano

Urbano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food in a great setting”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic meal at El Patio last week. The restaurant is in a lovely courtyard and both inside and outside were decorated beautifully. The food was great and the staff were very knowledgeable about each dish, and very attentive. Would definitely visit again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spikeandicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    26
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chaotic mix of gourmet food and disco”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

On the spur of the moment we decided to go for a gourmet dinner while 4 weeks in Andratx for work / vacation. The reviews on TripAdvisor were promising, so we booked a table for the same evening. It turned out that in one end of the restaurant dinner guests were seated, in the other end there was a German party including music! Not quite the quiet romantic evening we and others had anticipated. The music and singing belonged more to the touristy beach parties than to a gourmet restaurant.
The restaurant is German owned and with only German waiters so it seemed, it was very efficient. They twice removed plates before we were finished eating and the atmosphere was a bit too stressed regarding serving of wine / water.
When all of this is said, the wine and food was of a high standard with fun extras (oriental fish roll, basil and cherry 'ice cream' and mini chocolate mousse. The fish dishes and soup were exceptionally good (the vegetable salad with herb ice cream and seeds a mess).
We and others felt a little cheated by not being properly advised regarding party / music and ensuring that our seating was as far from the other party as possible. Some of us decided to join the party at a certain stage, so gourmet was flavored with disco:)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Meal In Andratx for a long time.”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have been going to Puerto Andratx for many years now and generally the food has always been good if not spectacular. El patio is a fantastic restaurant and well worth stepping outside the port for. Along with maybe two or three other venues it stands out from the rest with lovely food and ambiance.

Another poster mentioned it was a bit snooty, I would agree that maybe the staff could be a bit more relaxed in their approach but I did not find them at all rude/aloof just mabe a bit formal for my liking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMANC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bit Snooty”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Welcome wasn't great, but food and setting excellent

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best on the island”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I spend a large part of the year in Mallorca and I have visited most of the better restaurants in Palma and the south west. The standard of the cuisine is very high (similar to Simply Fosh in terms of excellence) and the service is consistently excellent. The location is a little sub-optimal since its outside the port, but the design of the restaurant is extremely good and features a very attractive inner courtyard for dining under the stars in the evening. Pricing is slightly higher than most nearby restaurants; however the lunch-time fixed price menu represents excellent value, without comprising the quality of the food. If you are going to Pto Andratx I'd strongly suggest that you make this your first choice since none of the restaurants nearby are remotely close in terms of cuisine or service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urbano also viewed

Port d'Andratx, Majorca
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
 
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
 

Been to Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing