We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience of quality”

Restaurante La Casa del Pregonero
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Chinchon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A different Restaurant in Chinchon. Family bussiness opened in 2002.Traditional dishes and recipes; located in main square.
Barbarroja, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An experience of quality”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. Having tested the service and ambiance over a lunchtime coffee, we booked a table for the same evening and were able to eat on the balcony, overlooking the Plaza Mayor. On a Saturday evening, this has to be the best place to be, in Chinchón. The menu was extensive and inventive; the dishes chosen, absolutely delicious. The service was attentive, yet unhurried, the local wine reasonably priced and the presentation of each dish was a visual delight. We went back later in the week and the mid-week 'Gourmet Menu', at only 18 Euros, was of exactly the same quality and very good value for money. My only criticism is the pricing and lack of choice of what is available for vegetarians, but this is a problem throughout Spain. While my husband was waxing lyrical over his fillet of salmon cooked in a Cava sauce, I could only comment on the freshness and presentation of the salad or the perfection of the grilled vegetables and yet our meals cost almost the same price. Nevertheless, it was undoubtedly the best eating experience we had in Chinchón and would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twowardspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    134
    37
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality of Food,service,ambiance and price outranks Diverxo in Madrid & Lasarte in Barcelona”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We lived in New York for 50 years and are retired in Madrid, today we just ate at this Chinchon restaurants, we ate Castillian Soup and wild Boar, both spectacular, the desserts were all fabulous, my wife ordered the filet mignon that it was so tender that places like Rubaiyat in Madrid would envy. Eat here, you will allways remember it, take my advice, Tony

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony13851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious - recommended to book at the weekend”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We came across this lovely little restaurant on a quiet day in the middle of the week. The food was fabulous and the service perfect. We were given the chef´s appetiser to start with which consisted of hot soup, a spoon of little toasty (and tasty) crumbs and cheese served with quince jelly. Following that we had two orders of suckling pig and two of lamb. The food was perfectly cooked, very moist and tender. Two of our party had deserts, one of which was reminiscent of the Club Allard´s "under the sea" several textures / types of chocolate served in a very innovative way. The chef once again surprised us with some small sweet desserts to have with our coffee. Highly recommended. Lovely service and well worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Saturday night dinner”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

All I can think is that the other reviews were friends of the owner or the chef had gone home ill. This was one of the worst meals I have eaten. It started with stale bread and a surprise starter that had as its centre piece a packet of crisps! The main corse was a bony baby lambs leg, total tasteless, covered in grease accompanied by a few potatoes. Terrible. Avoid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a truly wonderful meal here. We couldn't fault the quality of service and food. We sat on the balcony overlooking the square and it was great to absorb the atmosphere whilst we ate.
The restaurant inside also looked really nice - very tastefully decorated and clean.
We will certainly return the next time we are in Chinchon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante La Casa del Pregonero also viewed

Chinchon, Community of Madrid
Chinchon, Community of Madrid
 
Chinchon, Community of Madrid
Chinchon, Community of Madrid
 
Chinchon, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Restaurante La Casa del Pregonero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing