We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful base to explore the Swiss Alps”
other travellers have booked this property
Gandria - 4 km from the very center of Lugano
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gandria - 4 km from the very center of Lugano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Gandria - 4 km from the very center of Lugano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Gandria, Lugano, Canton of Ticino, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
puzzlebru...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful base to explore the Swiss Alps”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Richard & Nina were an absolute delight – wonderful hosts. The house was very well equipped with everything we wanted and needed. It very much had a woman’s touch, with great attention to detail … which I have found is typical of Nina. When we booked, Nina provided us with a 14 page document about everything we would want to know – from how to find the place, parking, where best to shop, facilities in the house, maps, power (not the normal European plugs but some adapters are available). The cooking facilities are great. We love preparing our own meals from local produce, so this worked out well. And the village of Gandria. Only 200 people. A great experience staying there. Pretty little town. Friendly people. So the first 2 big pluses of our stay: Gandria itself and our hosts, Richard and Nina.

Gandria was also a great base for our day trips in Switzerland – and through the Swiss Alps in particular. The weather was perfect for driving the alpine mountain passes.

In summary: The focus of our stay in Gandria was to have a holiday, in a pretty part of the world, in accommodation & environment we could enjoy. Gandria was just perfect for that. Nina and Richard, thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

A few tips:-

Vignette. This holiday was the first time we had driven in Switzerland. It was only by accident that I stumbled across some information about needing a vignette on our car, to drive through the Swiss tunnels and motorways. Superficially, the vignette might seem expensive, but within Switzerland there are no road or tunnel tolls, so it actually turned out to be cheaper than paying tolls.

Parking in Lugano. Google blue parking disks Switzerland. In some areas (marked) you can typically park for a few hours for free. The blue disk is used to record when you parked. Your rental car may already have one afixed.

Grocery shopping. Do your grocery shopping at Billa in Carlazzo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canadiang...
Finalborgo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfort and sophistication-the perfect holiday accommodation!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This is a perfect place to relax and explore the wonderful lakeside of Lago Lugano and all of it's breath taking surroundings! Nina has thought of everything in this 'hotel-apartment'. It is like a mini chalet, on two floors, with a view of the lake in the tiny Borgo of Gandria. The kitchen has everything you need and more and the interior style is very bright and upbeat. The whole place has an artistic flare, including the cheese-slice shape of the building and cool location for the laundry facilities. If you are visiting during cooler weather, the fireplace in the centre of the living room, is a cozy addition. On top of this, the hosts, Nina and Richard, are wonderfully helpful and fun! Staying here is a very original experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: furnishings, location and hosts
Liked least: not many good restaurants nearby
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYStateTr...
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful second time around!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a week at Casa Parrucchiere in August 2011 and liked it so much that we returned for another end of August week in 2013! Again we found this little house perfectly equipped and an ideal home from home for a wonderful time by Lake Lugano. Hosts Nina and Richard were just as welcoming. And there is something very relaxing about being surrounded by the peaceful and car-free village of Gandria, with church bells ringing occasionally and villagers chatting on the steps outside the house, like living in another, more restful age.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being part of the community and the location
Liked least: Doesn't apply
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison779
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful setting & accommodation”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were made to feel very welcome in this lovely, renovated, quiet, clean accommodation. Beautiful setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & quality of accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana I
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gandria is a magical place!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A very magical and romantic place! My husband and I fell in love with the simple elegance of what Gandria has to offer. From the vistas, to the church bells and the people, Gandria is a magical place. The historical elements of Casa Parrucchiere and its modern amenities and attention to great detail make this a true gem when it comes to great location and service. The house is equipped with everything you need and more. The owners Nina and Richard were friendly, welcoming and hospitable which made our stay truly memorable.

A recent addition to the Gandria village is “La Bottega Di Gandria “ a cooperative store that offers unique local Ticinese products. We went there every day to buy fresh bread, cheese, salami and wine.

I was searching for a creative and inspiring setting to write my children’s story and Case Parrucchiere and Gandria were a magical combination that was truly unexpected. I would highly recommend staying here and we hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Ana, thank you for the wonderful review and taking the time!!!! Thank you also for mentioning the Bottega - the staff will appreciate it. Will be back to you about meeting in Washington on Tuesday. Have a great Sunday, Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collin M
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting Lakeside Retreat”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a long weekend here and it's been the most relaxing trip we've taken since moving to Switzerland. Nina was so helpful and all the information given to us really made the trip relaxing from the very beginning. The house is absolutely beautiful, set right across from the Church in the picteresque, car-free town of Gandria. The mornings and evenings were cool, but we enjoyed local wine, olives, and cheese on the adorable outdoor seating area as we watched the tourists and locals go by, lounging in the hammock from time to time. We even lit a fire in the fireplace with the wood provided a few of the nights we stayed, playing card games and watching a movie or two (both provided in the house as well). The house was very clean and the kitchen a joy to cook in with produce we bought from the local markets. The bathroom and bedroom downstairs, both looked brand new as well. Walking along the Olive Trail, which passes right in front of the house, was another highlight. We've taken some of the most breathtaking pictures. Getting to Lugano or Porlezzo was easy and both trips to visit the Farmer's Market was a lot of fun. Overall, this was exactly what we were looking for in a quiet, relaxing, Ticino getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing location, great outdoor area, and cozy interior.
Liked least: Lots of steps (they're everywhere, it's a hillside town). Be prepared for it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DM0rgan
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal rental property for 2, set in an enchanting lakeside village”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Set in the car-free, lakeside village of Gandria, Casa Parrucchiere is a wonderful place to stay if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of modern life, but remain within easy reach of the amenities of a cosmopolitan town. This small house on 2 floors has an interesting history and is set literally feet away from the village church with its ancient tower that is typical of the Ticino region. The house is perfect for 2 people, is very well equipped, comfortable, clean and airy. Just outside the front door is a small seating area shaded beneath a vine-covered pergola. With no cars in the village, it is very peaceful, usually the only sound is of footsteps on the numerous stairways, arcades and passages that make Gandria such an enchanting place.

The village has a newly-opened community cooperative store selling wonderful local fresh and dried foods, and wines, often produced on a very small scale, that it would be difficult to find elsewhere. This means it is very easy to make your own authentic Ticinese foods in Casa Parrucchiere's kitchen !! There are also 5 restaurants in the village and a convenience store in the nearby petrol station.

Gandria is an ideal location for exploring the area. If you are travelling without a car you can make use of the village bus which goes directly to the centre of Lugano. Or there is a delightful walk along the lakeside Olive Path which will bring you to the edge of Lugano in about an hour. The village also has its own jetty from which you can board the cruiseboats that ply the lake.

The owners of the house, Nina and Richard, are a charming couple; helpful, informative and very friendly, who do all they can to make your stay relaxed and enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique location in car-free, lakeside village
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing