We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and Excellent”
Review of Hotel Moosmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Moosmann
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tranquil and Excellent”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were there in late April 12 and stayed there for one night. The room from our lake view room was incredible, especially the gorgeous view from the bathroom bathtub! The amenities in the room were basic but clean. Seriously, you don't need much with such a view, just a balcony and a couple of chairs. Such beauty with good privacy. Breakfast was adequate with warm coffee served at your table. Owner Enrico is also very friendly and helpful. Gandria is a small village but we like it because it is away from the crowds with fun winding streets to wander. There is a good regular boat service from Lugano that can bring you all the way to the end of the lake in Porlezza, Italy where you can get off to walk around and buy a gelato before taking the next boat back to Lugano. Gandria is also connected via hiking paths including the Olive path. We walked from Lugano to Gandria via Monte Bre Village. We took 1.5 hours, descended 2400 feet and walked a total of 3.75km. But you get to catch beautiful views of the lake and descend through the woodlands in well-marked paths. You do need moderate fitness and strong knees though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    30
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
51
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed at the Moosmann hotel from 29th to 01st August 2011.
Hotel is located at the italian frontier and is a car free "village". I mean " as it is for me more a place with some houses, restaurants than a village. To reach the hotel you need to park your car outside and walk abut 100 meters. You need to know that they are some steps too as the hotel in situated directly on the lake. Rooms are quite simply decorated (70th style which is not really my case) but very clean (which is for me more essential). I have some reserved concerning the balcony. We had a room with balcony and you have 2 types of them. One is a french balcony where you can nearly put 2 chairs on it without hurting your knees and the other rooms have a bigger balcony. Don t know if the prices are different but in case you want a water front room ask for the bigger balcony. Anyway not traumatic as there is a huge terrace as well as a little green area where you can relax under the sun. As I mentioned before the hotel in directly on the lake so you can dive in it nearly from your balcony (so to speak).
Very friendly staff and the breakfast buffet has everything one needs to start a good day. To reach Lugano you can either walk (1 1/2 hour part of the path is on a quiet and beautiful path the rest unfortunately on the road) or take the boat or the busses. The parking for your car is CHF3 per day so not a problem I guess. Anyway all in all very calm, relaxing atmosphere.
The "village" does not offer much. A few restaurants that s basically it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nolofinwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Our favourite place - understated, simple, friendly, no-frills but heart-stoppingly beautiful! And nothing better than doing the long, lakeside walk into Lugano for the day, before catching the ferry back to the hotel for a sundowner. Have taken lots of family and friends here, and all of them still talk of the gorgeous breakfast, served on the deck over the lake.
We usually get the cheaper no-view rooms, since we're out and about a lot - makes it far more affordable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmenbaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at Hotel Moosmann for 2 nights. Upon arrival we had read their website and reviews on TA so we knew we would have to descend a long way to get in to the hotel. Top tip is to travel light. There may be lifts etc but there are also a lot of steps. I arrived wanting so much to love this hotel because of its location, quirky layout and because it was family owned.

First impressions of the hotel itself were not good. The corridors were so dark it was difficult to see where we were going. In some cases, the lights come on automatically but in others they do not.

Having found our way to reception, we were greeted by a lady (name unknown but I think she is the owner, together with her husband). She was pleasant enough but there was no friendliness that I would have expected from a small family run hotel. Still, she was efficient and we were processed very quickly. It was at this point, I had to pay for the car park (whcih can be paid at hotel and they give you a voucher to display in the car) which meant going all the way back up to the road (2 lifts, several flights of stairs and a long road). Oh well, I chose the hotel knowing it didn’t have easy access so I can’t moan but I do think the parking part could be made a bit easier.

Upon entry to the room which was up a double flight of stairs in a dark corridor, we entered our room (206) which was lake view and the view was indeed stunning. Simply cannot be beaten in my opinion.

We were told by the lady that we need to keep the shutters closed if we leave the room and then she left. No information about the hotel, where to go for a drink, to eat etc. the room itself was the most basic room I have ever stayed in. it was clean and tidy but the décor is frankly, horrid. Just not nice at all with this bizarre brown paint effect on every surface, the bed, the desk, the chair etc. my first though was “thankfully we are only staying 2 nights”.

The bathroom was a reasonable size with shower over the bath. The toiletries they provide were extremely poor. It was just a single sachet of shower gel/shampoo and the smallest bar of soap. When we used the shower gel, they did replace it but the bar of soap was never replaced even though after a couple of showers, there was hardly any of it left.

No air conditioning which given it was 34 degrees outside and very humid was a problem. I appreciate this may have been exceptional weather but it still made sleeping very uncomfortable.

Bed – uncomfortable with very cheap mattress. Completely flat pillows.

The hotel itself has clearly seen much better days. It was virtually empty when we were there although the weather was fabulous, the scenery magnificent and the town of Gandria was busy. My overall impression was of a struggling hotel which had cut services and things like lighting to get through a difficult period.

Breakfast was ok – but very little choice.

The Wifi was broken – we were told it had broken the day before we arrived.

The garden is beautiful and well maintained. Sadly, no service at all in the garden. If you want a drink you have to go to reception to get it which is some distance away. For this reason, we never lingered for too long. This was a pity, it should have been a relaxing part of our 9 day touring holiday but instead we explored Gandria and the surrounding lake areas which is a beautiful area.

Both nights we ate in Gandria and had good food. The waiter in the restaurant was talking to a Swedish man who holidays there most years. We joined in their conversation to find that the Hotel Moosmann had closed their restaurant/bar earlier in the season and had to let staff go due a downturn and strength of Swiss Franc (on this point, if you are going from the UK – the GB£ is very weak – a beer is about £6/7, 500ml of house wine is about £20-25 etc). The local waiter told us that their restaurant was suffering as they were so close to the Italian border - across which restaurants and hotels were significantly cheaper.

I asked him if his knew where we could get access to wifi as the hotel’s wifi had broken the day before. The waiter laughed and said the hotel’s wifi had been off for some time.

We concluded that Hotel Moosmann really must be going through a very difficult patch and I felt very sorry for them. However, we paid a lot of money to stay there and it was not good value. I really think they could have done little things to make the experience for guests better which would not have cost very much at all but they did not. Even offering iced water to guests who were sitting in the garden in stiflingly hot conditions might have been a nice (and free idea) but Mr and Mrs M were simply nowhere to be seen.

Of the four hotels we stayed in during our 9 day tour, it was undoubtedly the poorest value. Given its location, the garden and it’s history, this hotel should be booming. Sadly, it is far from it. I would not go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff was extremely friendly and helped us with any question we had. My husband and I have traveled a few times to Lugano and wanted something away from the center of town. This was the best place for that. It's quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was a typical European style which we enjoy. I'm 8 months pregnant and the staff was more than helpful to make sure I was happy with my hard boiled egg! Although you could hear other people in the hotel it was nothing that we haven't found in other places. And if you didn't feel like taking the ferry, the walk from Gandria to Lugano is not that long and quiet pleasant. We would recommend this place to anyone and would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkie2481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weggis, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Very clean rooms but cheap and ugly furniture. Poor breakfast in a very unwelcoming room with admittedly nice viw

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sblezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We spent 6 wonderful days at the Hotel Moosmann for our 25th Anniversary holiday. Our room had french windows onto a small balcony overlooking the lake, with what must be one of the most beautiful views in the world, and the perfect peace and quiet so rarely found nowadays. Apart from occasional ferries, fishing boats or cruisers, there is nothing to disturb the silence except for ducks, birds and the odd plop of a fish.

There are no cars in Gandria itself as it is perched on a very steep hillside by the lake. (There is a road above - out of earshot! - and public car park, and the hotel also has a luggage lift.) We arrived by taxi from Lugano station, and the driver had a permit so was able to drop us in the church square, about 3 minutes down an easy but quite steep path and steps to the hotel. On other days (including when we left) we used the ferry which takes about half an hour to get to Lugano, and also connects with many other places around the lake such as Paradiso (for the funicular up Monte San Salvatore), Capolago (for the vertiginous but thrilling rack-railway up Monte Generoso), Morcote, Ponte Tresa and not forgetting the Cantine di Gandria right opposite the hotel with its fascinating Customs Museum.

We were given a very friendly reception on arrival by Mr Moosmann himself, who helped carry our luggage and was charming and courteous at all times. He speaks excellent English, as well as Italian and German (and probably French) and both he and all the staff were excellent - real old-fashioned service.

Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean - yes, it is in a bit of a time warp, and the furnishings are not new, but they are excellently maintained. Our bed was perfectly comfortable with crisp fresh linen and a super soft extra pillow provided when I asked. A faulty telephone connection was fixed immediately. We had two armchairs, a table and desk, minibar, folding chairs for the balcony, plenty of hanging and shelf space and a safe. The bathroom was fine, my only quibble the shower curtain (I HATE shower curtains! they always cling to you...) but plenty of hot water and ample towels.

The hotel building is in three sections, two beside the lake and one set back. It is a maze of different levels: there are several small lounges for guests including a very ancient-looking beamed room with a huge fireplace, and a lovely large dining room overlooking the lake, with original pictures by a local painter. Outside is a lakeside terrace where we had breakfast, and a delightful garden shaded by trees with loungers and sunshades. There is a bathing platform with handrail and shower and they provide towels - the lake water is not warm! but refreshing and pleasantly chlorine free, if you don't mind sharing with the ducks and swans. The freshness certainly enhances one's appetite for the extensive and tasty buffet breakfast; we also had a light lunch and dinner all of which were good.

Altogether this was one of the nicest hotels we have ever been to, and it is in a uniquely special position, the perfect spot for getting away from it all. It may seem expensive, but this is a very expensive corner of an expensive country, and compared to the majority of Lugano's hotels this is not very dear. I urge people to make the most of this lovely hotel while they still can - there are very few places that are still this unspoilt left in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geecee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gandria
2.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
2.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#13 of 45 in Lugano
351 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
3.0 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moosmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moosmann

Property: Hotel Moosmann
Address: Gandria, Lugano CH-6978, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano > Gandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moosmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moosmann Hotel Gandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing