We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it, loved it, loved it!”
Review of Hotel de Wereld

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Wereld
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is ideally situated for the city centre and the bus station and where we stayed for 4 nights, we were upgraded (surprisingly) to a suite which was extremely stylish, large and clean. The reception desk is next to the open plan kitchen, which was quirky but interesting to see the Chefs at work. Breakfast was served in the bar area, however when the weather was warm enough tables were laid outside. It was relaxing to sit and watch the world go (cycle) by. All the staff we came in contact with were friendly, helpful, professional, and eager to please, and a credit to the hotel. Nice to have a clock available, and a decent hair dryer! We ate in the Restaurant O Mundo which was out of this world. The service, the food, the atmosphere, the whole evening was more than we could ever imagine and you really need to experience it to believe it! Can't wait to return and it is easy to see why this hotel is number 1 in Wageningen. Well done to all the team, and thank you for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bazjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with an excellent connection quality/price. I got a very big and super clean room with a big bathroom and a big
Shower! The room were equipped with TV, frigobar, free wi-fi and a very comfortable bed! Breakfast was fantastic served in a nice old fashion bar!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MatteoBelletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was in Wageningen for a business trip and it was only for one night in mid-January 2014. Hotel de Wereld is a historic place for Dutch people as it marks the end of World War II. Therefore I was keen to stay over here and I was not disappointed.

The building is beautifully restored and the hotel has about 15 rooms. It is very centrally located. My room was under the roof. For Dutch hotel rooms this room was really big! It was decorated in a modern minimalistic style. Good desk and wifi, good bed. During the night it was rather noisy outside, students go out on Thursday, I presume. Try the restaurant O Mundo in the hotel, very good, no need to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Given its important role in the history of the Netherlands and its Michelin starred restaurant a visit to this hotel had been on the cards for a while; there just needed to be a reason to visit Wageningen, and one duly arose. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom, and interesting views of the adjacent streets. Whilst the room was very good, there were not enough cupboards or shelves to arrange clothes and possessions for a three night stay (maybe most visitors are "over-nighters") and mirrors and lighting were a little frustrating (more design statements than for practical use). Breakfasts were very good.

The highlight of the visit was dinner in the famous restaurant. Expectations, which were high, were surpassed. We had the very reasonably priced "surprise" menu accompanied by different wines with each course, and enjoyed it thoroughly; a real treat.

One enduring memory of the hotel: its reception desk is in the kitchen and it appeared that all of its staff, including chefs, acted as receptionists as and when required. The staff were extremely professional, personable and quite clearly enjoyed working in the hotel (that can be one of the joys of staying in a small hotel).

This is a fascinating hotel, its history, decor and standards of service, make it well worth a visit. Even if you do not stay overnight and can't afford dinner, a drink in its atmospheric bar would be very worthwhile.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights during a recent work visit. I'd read that this was a boutique hotel with designer touches, and there was only a small suite available - but I didn't expect the room and bathroom to be quite so large and with so many windows!

There were nice little touches to mark the 4-star status, like an espresso machine and high-end tea bags; plenty of reading material (including interior design and architecture magazines) neatly arranged on the modern tables; two comfortable armchairs; designer lighting. If you like modern design in historic buildings, this is something for you.

I didn't try the restaurant, which is apparently quite good. I had the rather expensive breakfast, though, which was alright, with fresh-pressed juice, a selection of breads and rolls, Dutch cheeses, an egg, and cereal. No warm buffet.

Room Tip: Designer rooms in historic building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

An absolute wow experience. I certainly did not expect such a well-furnished, spacious room - even though hotel announces itself as a 4 star property. Very tasteful, and a bathroom to play golf in! One of the best rooms I have ever slept in.
Breakfast was good and healthy and service excellent. By sheer bad luck the coffee maker in the room didn't work.
Internet was fast and thankfully open - no hassle with the password. Will definitely return if I get the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheLegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I spent 4 nights here back in November and enjoyed a wonderfully large, comfortable suite. The rooms were well appointed with many large windows. I didn't spend as much time in the room as I would have liked given a busy schedule. The hotel is in the old town with many things to do within walking distance.

The bathroom was large with a separate shower and bathtub. Breakfast was not included in the room rate and was expensive considering it was continental. The one breakfast I had in the restaurant was of high quality, but the remaining mornings I just had coffee and some granola with yoghurt that I purchased from a grocery store.

The service was a bit spotty; several times I had to wait quite a while to speak with someone from the hotel. There didn't seem to be any staff dedicated to the check-in area, so I had to wait and ask people working in the restaurant for help. They also didn't have a map of Wageningen, which would have been very helpful for me.

I was able to rent a bike through the hotel, which is a great way to get around town. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlytheTail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wageningen
0.3 mi away
Hof van Wageningen WICC
Hof van Wageningen WICC
#4 of 4 in Wageningen
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Wageningsche Berg
3.4 mi away
Hotel 't Paviljoen
Hotel 't Paviljoen
#1 of 1 in Rhenen
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nol in 't Bosch
Nol in 't Bosch
#3 of 4 in Wageningen
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Het Torentje
B&B Het Torentje
#1 of 7 in Wageningen
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Guest House 1907
B&B Guest House 1907
#4 of 7 in Wageningen
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Wereld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Wereld

Address: 5 Mei plein 1, 6703 CD Wageningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Wageningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Price Range: £87 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Wereld 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Wereld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing