We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't choose if you have other option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hof van Wageningen WICC
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Don't choose if you have other option”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

When I arrived to stay 5 nights I was waiting for the day to leave this hotel.

Terrible for those people with allergy, like me. It's a non-smoking hotel, but my room had a strong smell.

Terrible cushion for the back (too soft) and old pillows. I found a hair in the first night in my sheets.

The shower is integrated with the room and doesn't have a door or curtain, so I used to put a towel in the carpet floor otherwise the room would become wet. The sink is located outside this area and you don't have space to put the bath stuff. No mirror above the sink! I was just wondering how men could shave without a mirror! No bathroom amenities, only a liquid soap, what was over in the second night and never more replaced. I found a used towel in my first day. I've already stayed in several hotels over the world and I've never seen a bathroom like that one.

When I arrived, the lady in the reception forgot to tell me that a lift was available in the hall, and I had to climb the stair with my heavy luggage.

Few good things: the breakfast and the wi-fi connection.

Only stay in this hotel if your conference is taking place inside it due to convenience but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demayumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    39
    65
    32
    14
See reviews for
7
34
10
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel lives up to its promise, cheap and practical, its like taking a night train. Nothing more nothing less.
The restaurant however have the ambitions that their chef is unable to live up to. It was a very dissupointing visit. Money spent for the heavily salted food, no flavour at all. Pieces of raw potatoes in the potatomash, nice. However, I got the feeling that everything was my fault, I was too demanding and picky. I was reasonable, not to dine there twice...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
746 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Hotel is of cost efficient kind, for the price (80 eur) it's ok. That's why rooms are very small, you can hardly turn around inside, beds are tiny and mattresses are battered, pillows are basically non-existing. Same with corridors and old elevators.

The heater was doing ok first night and was barely warm another. Ams as bed is immediately under the window it was not pleasant. Bathroom is tiniest I ever saw.

Breakfast is ok, albeit basic, but coffee is below any possible standards. For dinner the restaurant looks better, but service is lausy, as 2 waiters can not cope with full area, but I have to admit that they try, but often forget the orders. Food itself is ok, may be even slightly better.

So for 1 night stay its fine, but nothing more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in January 2013. The room was classed as "luxurious", but this was surely something of an overstatement. The room was quite spartan and not particularly spacious, although there was decent-sized open closet. There was a small, separate seating area, and the en suite bathroom was quite small. I wouldn't have been very impressed if I'd paid the full rate of €125.

There was a coffee machine of the pod type, supplied with 3 coffee bags and one strawberry teabag. Not replenished after day one, note.

Highlight for me was breakfast - very high quality in very attractive surroundings.

The staff were all efficient and friendly, no complaints there at all.

The hotel is only a short walk from the bus station, with excellent links to the University (on the other side of town) and the railway station in Ede).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulbousSquidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed at :Hof van Wageningen" in December 2012, and the issue that overshadowed everything else was the freezing cold nature of the rooms. The windows leaked a lot of the cold from outside, and the heaters were merely lukewarm so practically useless, except for an hour or two in the morning. Try to deal with this by using an extra blanket? They don't have one for you. They only had 4 extra blankets for the whole hotel, and given the cold rooms these 4 are of course always checked out. I heard from one receptionist that some desperate hotel guests had in the past asked for a bunch of towels to spread on their beds. I was pretty close to following suit. The receptionists also mentioned that they have submitted many guest complaints about the cold to the management ... but the management couldn't care less.

Given this, I frankly didn't care about any of the other features of the hotel, whether good or mediocre. If I am freezing in the hotel to the point that I have a hard time falling asleep, I am not going to come back here no matter what.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wageningen hotels

Ronde, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I always wondered why a university town like Wageninge, which hosts scores of conferences, does not have a better place. This one is like a student dormitory, with tiny, spartan rooms without any comfort. The staff was friendly, though, and the restaurant is much better than the hotel in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I just stayed here 1 night and it was pleasant enough.
My single room was quite small though comfortable. Most strangely in the bathroom the sink unit was stainless steel.
Restaurant was very good with excellent breakfast.
Convenient for town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckfast39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wageningen
1.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Wageningsche Berg
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Wereld
Hotel de Wereld
#2 of 4 in Wageningen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nol in 't Bosch
Nol in 't Bosch
#3 of 4 in Wageningen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel en Congrescentrum De Reehorst
3.2 mi away
Hotel 't Paviljoen
Hotel 't Paviljoen
#1 of 1 in Rhenen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Buunderkamp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof van Wageningen WICC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof van Wageningen WICC

Property: Hof van Wageningen WICC
Address: Lawickse Allee 9, 6701 AN Wageningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Wageningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hof van Wageningen WICC 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hof van Wageningen WICC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing