We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad timing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denham Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Denham Grove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bad timing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the last Friday and Saturday night before Christmas.We booked this weekend in july it was the only day's available on an advertised special discounted two day break .We arrived Friday night about 17.45 having worked all day I was really looking forward to an ice cold drink. But we were told to our amazement the bar shuts at 18.00 for a private function for drinks and food.. Well couldn't believe it to be fair to the hotel staff after complaining they offered free taxi transfer to and from the local village so that we could eat and drink with a free drink sent to our room also while waiting for taxi to arrive.
The next day we drove to Uxbridge to shop and look around , got back late in the afternoon looking forward to see what was on the menu for a nice romantic meal only to be told. ..............you guessed it couldn't believe it again. After complaining yet more the hotel management offered to send plates and cutlery up to our room so we could order a takeaway from the local Indian.
What can we say the management could not help us more being Christmas time, MAYBE IT WAS JUST BAD TIMING.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freshesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    197
    140
    103
    47
See reviews for
129
187
18
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Having read some of the reviews I was pleasantly surprised by the experience. OK parts of the hotel are tired and in need of some TLC but room I had was comfortable, clean & had everything needed for a 1 night stay.Ate in the bar from the Bistro menu which had good choice and despite being busy service was good. Breakfast was good value at £8.50 with good choice and again good service.
Hotel is set up for conference and functions and as it was a Saturday night was busy with party nights and wedding so was a bit noisy but would still recommend for short stay.
Booked through Late Rooms got great deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordie 123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Positives: The hotel has a nice pool and spa
Negatives: Room carpets surprising dirty complete with bugs which left me scratching my legs for days. Location in the middle of nowhere leaves you captive audience for the over priced bar and restaurant. Taxi prices in this area are also very high.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwysTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denham hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stay here a lot and this place is like home from home. I always get one of the refurbished rooms and they are always very clean and tidy. The reason I give this hotel an excellent is because of the staff, nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard are my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivisitlotsofhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Everything was going fine untill I woke up next to bed bugs. Complained about it to the reception and they took care of it.

Good point:
Beds comfy
Staff friendly
Good food

Bad points:
Bed bugs
Poor lighting in rooms
No lifts

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sun_Seekers786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitejo, General Manager at Denham Grove, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Sun_seeker786,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on our TripAdvisor page.

Whilst I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay I would like to be very clear that whatever it was that you identfied within your bedroom, it categorically was not bed bugs. Bed bugs are a serious infestation that would require an intensive course of treatment from a trained pest controller over many weeks. They cannot simply be resolved by reception taking care of it as you have stated.

We are situated in a beautiful countryside location and on very rare occassions a bug or insect may unknowingly enter our building, very much as you may experience at home. However this is very rare and certainly not an infestation of any sort.

As a matter of careful due diligence we do have monthly visits from a trained pest controller to monitor for signs of any sort of pest activity and I would like to assure you that we have no such infestations of any type.

If you would like to contact me directly I am very happy to discuss with you further in person.

Kind regards,

Joanne White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We use Denham for the last 7 months on 8 or more occasions
And i don’t know what you people talking about
Every time the customer service is better than national average
Welcoming great , ok the rooms needs a bit of paint – but you get what you are paying for
It is in a beautiful countryside , lots of space and attentions for customers
Swimming pool , gym and everything you need on a break or on a business stay
And one thing what always great is the food
The breakfast always hot , help yourself , and great variants , dinners are buffet style where chefs are serving the food ( how unusual and great this is ) we never had a problem with food always plenty of it and very tasty as well , and well presented , and good price for it
There is a bit to do with restaurant staff as they are need a bit of training but apart from that absolutely great place
I highly recommend the hotel , good rates , great food , and everything you need from a hotel
Do not listen to people who are paying pennies and expecting 5 star this place is gem in his scale

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harata x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conway_chris, Front of House Manager at Denham Grove, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear harata x,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of Denham Grove with fellow TripAdvisor members.

It sounds like you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you regularly visit Denham Grove and always have a lovely experience, from your interactions with the team to the quality and presentation of the food. I have ensured your comments and feedback have been displayed in our staff areas.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope to welcome you back to Denham Grove in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Conway
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stay here on business and it generally fits the bill quite well. The hotel looks pretty good on the surface, modern rooms, clean and tidy, etc., but a few little things let the experience down.
Positives:
- Car parking right utside
- Comfortable beds
- Modern interior
- Excellent WiFi
- Good value

Negatives:
- Attention to detail, e.g.
- Furniture in public areas very worn, some tables look close to collapse and the seat covers in the restaurant are worn through
- Scummy kettles
- Carpets need refreshing, as they are starting to look stained...
- Fixtures and fittings in room, e.g. toilet flush, sink draining, noise of air-con
- Buffet dinner is pretty low-rent...breakfast is good.

All-in-all, nothing majorly wrong, but enough niggles to irritate, even if the price is very competitive.

Note:
- Parking is free, but you will need to drive if you want to go anywhere as the hotel is quite isolated

Room Tip: There are some 'lodge' style rooms (superior), which give you a door directly outside (e.g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollypolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conway_chris, Front of House Manager at Denham Grove, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear mollypolly1,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Denham Grove on TripAdvisor – we do appreciate all the feedback we receive.

I do appreciate you taking the time to comment on the positive aspects of your stay as well as the negative. As I mention in other responses below, we are currently in the process of replacing, or repairing the furniture in Restaurant. We do operate a pro-active maintenance and cleaning programme – our team do work hard to ensure the niggles you note; such as scummy kettles and poor sink drainage do not occur, but on the occasion of your stay they obviously did occur and for that I am sorry.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope to welcome you back to Denham Grove in the near future on business or pleasure.

Kind regards,

Chris Conway
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denham
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
6.0 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ethorpe Hotel
Ethorpe Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denham Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denham Grove

Property: Denham Grove
Address: Tilehouse Lane, Denham UB9 5DG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Denham Grove)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Denham Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 42 acres of beautiful, tranquil parkland, Denham Grove offers stylish and modern accommodation, impressive modern leisure facilities and a convenient location close to the M40 and M25 motorways. There are 100 stylish en suite rooms, and complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas. Each room features a TV. With great access to the region's major road network, the hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore this part of beautiful Buckinghamshire. Denham Grove is only 14 miles from the Wembley Stadium. The great leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, a mini-gym, a spa bath and a sauna. The hotel also offers tennis and a pool table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Denham Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Venues Denham Grove Hotel Denham
Devere Venues Hotel Denham
Denham Grove Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing