We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Denham
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our lovely Little Gem is located in the picture perfect village of Denham - and although we may be modest in size, we're certainly big on country charm, delicious food and friendly faces. Feel right at home as soon as you step through the door... Our delightful dining room and bar area is inviting and cosy, especially with the log fire roaring in those chillier months (You may spot Tucker keeping warm here...) For those sunnier, warmer days, our beautiful, large garden and secluded terrace area are pretty much perfect. Enjoy outdoor dining whilst the little ones have a ball. Everything on our menus is freshly made in our kitchen and changes in line with the seasons. We always use the best local produce that we can get our hands on. In fact - If you think your veggies are top of the crops, please bring them along - we accept them as currency! (We're totally serious) From our well stocked bar, we serve a selection of great real ales and lagers, IPA being our local rebellion ale, alongside a good range of soft drinks and organic juices. Our wine list is carefully sourced (certainly not the worst job in the world) and features boutique wineries - producing an exciting and individual list, with many wines served by the glass. If it's your own little space you require for that business get together or meal with family and friends, our private dining room is the perfect area... Please just speak to us about your requirements. So, if you're looking to escape the hustle and bustle of the town and city and relax with wonderful food and drink, our lovely pub should be your first stop... We look forward to welcoming you soon! Mark, Tucker & The Team p.s Don't forget - Sunday is kids, pooch and muddy boots day!
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We visited The Swan on a Fri night without having booked first. The staff were very accommodating and couldn't have been more attentive and both the inside and outside offer welcoming environments

We shared a squid starter and the rustic bread and both were very tasty. We then had the sausage main and the hoisin chicken main with a side of onion rings and both thoroughly enjoyed our choices.

I would definitely return here if in the area again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    134
    54
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very busy restaurant, and we could see why. We managed to grab the last available table and was served by a knowledgeable waiter who supplied us with advice when necessary. I had the white onion soup as a starter, the wife had calamari. Both were excellent. As the main we both has rib eye steak. Perfectly cooked and seasoned with hand cut chips. Dessert was a trio of homemade ice cream (with two spoons - we were full!)
Lovely meal, charming place, great service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I visited this week for lunch. The staff were friendly. The plaice was sold out so we chose sole.The sole was cool, overcooked ?, tasteless, and made me feel it had been frozen or perhaps not as fresh as it could have been. The price was £16.95 so we expected it to be good.
We will not go back and would not recommend it which is sad as we love the Alford Arms which is in the same chain.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drjudymwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penn
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very disappointed with Sunday lunch - the beef was as tough as old boots- the Yorkshire pudding was like a floppy pancake and there was obscene language coming from the kitchen
Obviously a bad day for them but not inspired to recommend it to any one

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday lunch in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you're in the area you must try the Swan Inn, Denham. It is a wonderful country gastro pub with very friendly staff and excellent food.

We dined here as family for Sunday lunch and everyone really enjoyed the meal.

The menu was extensive with a good range of starters and plenty of main courses, just in case you fancied something different than the usual roast.

We started off with a wonderful summery pea soup, which was plentiful and delicious and a chicken liver parfeit, again plentiful, so much so that we requested extra bread which was brought without any hesitation.

Our main courses were roast pork with all the trimmings. Again for a roast dinner this was really summery with beautiful butternut squash puree and a range of summery vegetables, served with delicious roast potatoes, beautifully cooked pork, apple sauce and gravy - or jus as we were in a gastro pub.

Desserts were superb with home made ice creams, sorbets and sundaes.

The accompanying wine list was well selected and the Marlow IPA slipped down nicely.

And finally a special mention for the staff - top class service and very friendly too - perfect.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

Denham, Buckinghamshire
Denham, Buckinghamshire
 
Denham, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing