We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Plus”
Review of Heath Close

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heath Close
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have just got round to writing a review about Heath Close where we stayed in November for three nights in the lovely Cornwall room. Eileen is a superb hostess and we even had sherry left for us every evening in our beautifully furnished and comfortable bedroom with all we could wish for. A gorgeous house, a super breakfast overlooking the lovely gardens; definitely 5* plus and amazing value off season for the three nights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Openmind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend leading to New Years Eve with friends and family and we weren't disappointed! We stayed in the Dorset Room away from the main house which was very quiet, clean with gorgeous decor. The bed was so comfortable it was a struggle to get up in the morning but it was well worth it to enjoy the fresh fruit salad and Graham's sterling cooked breakfast! A word must be said for the marvellous hosts who really made this feel like a home from home. An all together fabulous stay which the whole party (which included a variety of ages) fully enjoyed and I can confidently say we would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights before our Christmas & New Year break in Sidmouth. Stayed in the annexe as we have a small dog. We were the only guests and it was just Graham hosting which he did very well. Unfortunately the underfloor heating in the bathroom was not on making the room rather cold. Good choice a breakfast and well-cooked. Pity the tea and coffee and biscuits were never replenished though.

Good value at the special offer price

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volvos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have just had a very comfortable and welcoming weekend stay at Heath Close Bed and Breakfast. The room was beautifully decorated and well kept as was the rest of the house. However, what was most memorable was the warm hospitality offered by Graham and Eileen. They are so friendly and helpful that you feel nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent and although they don't offer an evening meal every night the one I did have was superb. I would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have just returned from a long week at heath close. As we had not been before we only had the website to go by. Heath close is as appears on it's website and much more. The accommodation is beautiful and in a good location. It is very homely, exceptionally clean and with extras you would expect of a well deserved 5 star rating. We were made to feel extremely welcome and very relaxed by our lovely hosts Eileen and Graham. Whilst there we enjoyed a high standard full English breakfast daily and a delicious 3 course evening meal on Sunday. I would very highly recommend heath close and am looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just spent a very enjoyable weekend in the Wiltshire room at Heath close.The accomodation was very comfortable and we were looked after well by Graham,Eileen and team.There were some thoughtful touches like sherry in the room and the breakfasts were excellent.Would we return?-most definately.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We travelled to Devon on Thursday November 28th for a family function on the following day. Weeks ago we researched small hotels and B+B accomadation in the area of Budleigh Salterton and found this gem. When we booked the owners were so helpful giving me local information that would assist my trip planning. We arrived on Thursday evening having booked the Devon Room which looked superb in the photos. Upon arrival we were greeted by Graham who was so welcoming and glad to see us. The property is on Landsdowne Rd which is a narrow road in the approach to the property. You enter the grounds via a gate which opens up to the car park area which is very big and we had no problems parking. Once inside the large open plan hallway is magnificent and my wife and I immediately were taken back by the wonderful light and gleaming decor. The carpet that ran throughout the house is cream in colour and it is so soft underfoot that you feel you are walking on a luxury product. We were shown to our room and once inside we were confronted with the WOW factor. Again the luxury carpet, the well appointed room and the fabulous bathroom did not disappoint. Graham showed us the room which had massive amounts of wardrobe space and a wall mounted TV. The views from the bedroom over the well manicured garden were breathtaking. Graham had even gone that little bit further by leaving us both a glass of sherry which was a lovely touch. The next morning we went down to breakfast which is something I always look forward to. Fresh fruit and cereal was followed with a beautifully presented full English which had been grilled and not fried. This topped a fantastic experience at Heath Close. Potential guests should note that you have to settle your bill by cash or cheque only which was no problem to us but some guests may prefer to settle with a credit card and at the time of writing this facility does not exist. Overall a fantastic experience and we thought it was so good that we have already booked a further visit. ENJOY.

Room Tip: The Devon room we stayed in is on the first floor and was large and overlooked the rear garden. Love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrtpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budleigh Salterton hotels
2 mi away
Syon House Hotel
Syon House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Budleigh Salterton
98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast
Stoneborough House Bed and Break...
#2 of 5 in Budleigh Salterton
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#5 of 5 in Budleigh Salterton
69 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Heath Close? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath Close

Address: 3 Lansdowne Road, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range: £56 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heath Close is a luxury 5 star bed and breakfast on the outskirts of the picturesque seaside town of Budleigh Salterton in East Devon, one of the most beautiful areas of the South West. Just a short walk from the South West Coastal path which follows the Jurassic Coast and only 15 minutes drive from J30 on the M5 at Exeter, Heath Close B and B offers stylishly furnished accommodation with 5 en-suite double and king-sized bedrooms. Owners of Heath Close B&B, Eileen and Graham Ellis extend a warm welcome to all of their guests, offering exceptional quality in terms of accommodation and food. Dinner is available on Friday and Saturday evenings for bed & breakfast guests. Dinner is on a pre-booked only basis, so don't forget to book your table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heath Close Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing