We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Came here with my fiance and mum a week before our wedding so that we could have a few days of pre wedding relaxation. We hired the sail loft (one double & one twin) so that we had the whole floor to ourselves. It was fabulous, what a location! The view from the main bedroom looked straight out onto the beach, simply beautiful. We had delicious homemade cake and biscuits on arrival, terrible for the wedding waistline but irresistible. The couple who run this place are lovely and have put a lot of thought and detail into making your stay comfortable. They were so accommodating, I needed to have my wedding hair trial and it was no problem to have it in the room. They even gave us a card and some yummy locally made chocs when we left, which was so kind (the chocs were so good too!!) We learned that they are handing it over soon and we only hope that the new people run it as well. The whole place is absolutely spotless too. Breakfast in the conservatory was delicious, loved the smoked fish with scrambled eggs. They used hot pebbles to keep the toast warm, genius! The place is the perfect balance between cosy, homely and luxury. The garden is THE place to be on a summers day and it leads straight down on to the beach. Not a single fault. A wonderful, peaceful and unique stay. Thank you. I could go on but I'd recommended just booking and experiencing the place for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
147
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

A return visit for us.
As you pulled into the drive you felt the tranquility of Pebbles wash over you.
Pebbles is conveniently located in the centre of Budleigh Salterton so park your car and explore. We spent a day exploring by buses and trains. Humfrey and Rosemary kindly printed off all the necessary timetables etc for us. In the evening go for a stroll along the promenade, then return to the luxurious rooms, enjoy the sea views from your room then have an exhilarating shower, relax in the wonderful robes then slip between the smooth Egyptian cotton sheets to be lulled to sleep by the waves breaking on the beach.
In the morning be woken by the smell of fresh bread wafting up the stairs. Whether you want the full English for breakfast or prefer something lighter you'll be tempted by the homemade yoghurt, muesli and marmalade.
If you're looking for a quality place to stay with good food, comfort and views to die for then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

It was a delight to spend a week in Pebbles and be cared for by Rosemary and Humfrey
Our bedroom had a 'full frontal' view of the beach from a conservatory leading off the bedroom which made our room even more appealing.
Rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished and the beds are very comfortable.
The ground floor is a colourful gallery of Rosemary's art work and also includes other works by members of the family.
Breakfast was memorable, ample choice and well cooked and served with home made bread and the special hot toast. I am not revealing the secret, visit and find out for yourselves, you will not be disappointed.
I rate this B&B as exceptional.

Room Tip: Go for the Lighthouse room, it even has a personal lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The welome, the standard of accommodation, the quality of service, the location, the attention to detail, the views and sounds of the sea cannot be surpassed. It was our first visit to both Pebbles and Budleigh Salterton but the people and place are now friends for life. Well that is the way it feels after a very pleasant and all too short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our second visit - 18 months after our first one - this time staying in The Lighthouse.
Humfrey and Rosemary as welcoming as ever and the house and room very comfortable.
We can't recommend this B&B highly enough and Budleigh is a very relaxing location with a bit of everything.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mumfo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Visited Pebbles again before Christmas and pleased to see that it's still as wonderful as I remember. I had loved The Lighthouse room, but that was not available for this trip. I needn't have worried, The Sail Loft was also charming and had the same fantastic view. Bathroom was across the landing, but private - there're even bath robes provided.
Rosemary and Humfrey's hospitality is still superb and the breakfast second to none.
I can't recommend Pebbles enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

There’s something very special about Pebbles. We’ve been to many B&Bs over the years and nothing compares to the perfection you find here. We were last here two years ago and it just gets better.
The ‘basics’ are superb: wonderful location with sea views, welcoming tea and home-made cake and delicious breakfast (the arrangement of numerous cereals in glass jars is worthy of a contemporary art gallery, as is the fresh fruit – never mind the real art throughout the building) But it’s those other many ‘extra’ touches that really have the added ‘wow’ factor: beautiful bedding, immaculate cleanliness, home-made flapjacks in your room beautifully wrapped to take home.
And then of course there is the warmth from Humfrey and Rosemary who really are ‘host and hostess with the mostest’ for whom nothing is too much trouble. This is our third time back – and certainly not our last - especially before they leave early next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabchicktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
0.4 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
89 reviews
3.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
4.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
383 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
514 reviews
5.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach

Property: Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach
Address: 16 Fore Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BED AND BREAKFAST BY THE BEACH!! Set just a few feet from the famous beach at Budleigh Salterton with panoramic East Devon sea and coastal views from each of the bedrooms. Lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea, stunning sea views while eating your breakfast, Pebbles really is 'Bed and Breakfast by the Beach!' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Budleigh Salterton
Pebbles b&b By The Beach
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing