We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We've just returned from a return visit to Budleigh Salterton - which is one place which seems timeless. We've been going for years and it never changes.

We love staying at Pebbles and the new owners - Deborah and Richard - are fantastic hosts. The standard of accommodation is wonderful, as is the breakfast!!

Pebbles is situated right on the main street of Budleigh and is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. There is car parking for guests which is an added bonus.

If you are visiting this part of Devon don't look for anywhere else to stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank southportsooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I had a very relaxing time here on a walking weekend with a friend. We were made very welcome by Deborah and Richard . The atmosphere is easy and comfortable, the views wonderful over the sea, both night and day (moon shimmering over the water) and we were refreshed and inspired at the end. It is a place just to be. Red cliffs spectacular. Go!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Extremely pleasant stay. Lovely room, lovely view, lovely garden... Our one comment would be to suggest that some people might prefer a separate table for breakfast. Not that we are unsociable, but first thing in the morning, sometimes it's nice to have time to plan the day away from others. No negative comments at all otherwise.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed at Pebbles twice. The rooms are very attractively furnished in a beachcomber style. The beds are amazing with beautiful quality bedding and mattress toppers. One room is en suite. The other two have their own bathrooms but just across the corridor. The position of this B&B is spectacular being right on the sea front with just a beach path between you and the beach. However, the garden is raised above the level of the path so you have complete privacy. Two rooms have sun rooms with seats for relaxing looking out to sea. The other room on the top floor has views of the sea. The proprietors are very helpful and provide an excellent breakfast with home made bread, yoghurt and cooked breakfasts with produce sourced locally. The breakfast table is shared with the other four guests in residence. We have stayed as a grown up family and a couple and it worked well on both occasions.

Room Tip: The best room is The Lighthouse which has en suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRK1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have just spent two wonderful sunny weeks with my two children occupying the Sea Loft and Beach Hut at Pebbles. I shall come back to reviewing Pebbles in a moment first I would like to take a few minutes to take you on a tour of the area. Budleigh Salterton, is a small town as yet unspoilt by mass tourism, it has a wonderful high street that still has independent retailers that take pride in their personal service and home produced products.
The beach at Budleigh Salterton is beautiful with its dramatic red cliffs filled with many species of birds and vegetation. Despite the pebbles the beach is comfortable , and the sea calm and warm. If you are lucky you might see the dolphins from the garden of Pebbles !.
Should there be a rainy day there are lots of family rainy day programmes nearby for example in Exeter and Plymouth .
So now the best part that I saved for last, Pebbles has managed to keep at first glance a perfect luxurious small efficient bed and breakfast. I strongly recommend a stay of at least a week, because only then can you appreciate the kindness and generous hospitality from Richard and Deborah.
At breakfast the choice is huge and special wishes taken on as a challenge, everything is prepared and baked by Deborah each morning.
You can have breakfast in the garden overlooking the sea should you so wish, nothing is too much....
And as a reminder of your stay you can pack a jar of Deborah`s freshly made marmalade and a fantastic card or buy a picture from one of Richards wonderful photographs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This has been the best Bed and Breakfast we have stayed at. Deborah and Richard treated us like we were family. All the rooms were stunning with breathtaking views. For breakfast we had delicious bacon and sausage, with homemade yogurt, bread and marmalade. Extremely comfortable beds and mouth-watering homemade shortbread made our stay so much more enjoyable.

We stayed here so we were able to play croquet at Budleigh Salterton Club, one of the best clubs in the United Kingdom. We would recommend this accommodation to anybody and we really look forward to staying here again ourselves.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Easy parking, a warm welcome, delicious homemade shortbread in our beautiful room overlooking the pretty garden and beach. Very comfortable bed, lovely enclosed balcony with comfy chairs, magazines & binoculars to use to look at the amazing bay of Budleigh Salterton.
Our room was not en suite but the bathroom opposite was new and huge with both a shower & a deep bath, again with a stunning view of the sea.
Breakfast was good and the home made vegetarian sausages were the best I've ever eaten. The local restaurant recommended by our hosts was very good.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view & en suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
0.4 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
100 reviews
3.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
5.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
143 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
557 reviews
5.9 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach

Address: 16 Fore Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range: £75 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BED AND BREAKFAST BY THE BEACH!! Set just a few feet from the famous beach at Budleigh Salterton with panoramic East Devon sea and coastal views from each of the bedrooms. Lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea, stunning sea views while eating your breakfast, Pebbles really is 'Bed and Breakfast by the Beach!' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Budleigh Salterton
Pebbles b&b By The Beach
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing