We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed here on several occassions and will definately go back again, the decor is first class throughout and the presentation, quality and choices on the breakfast menu is superb. Catherine and George are really nice people, they are very welcoming and friendly which really does enhance your stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
118
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here in The Wisteria room just before Christmas 2013 for 2 nights. Very very comfortable large bedroom and lovely ensuite. Extremely well furnished and decorated throughout the whole house. Excellent breakfasts with homemade marmalades and jam. We can confirm that the website description of breakfasts as "includes a spectacular platter of seasonal fruit, freshly made porridge, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, as well as, of course, the option of a 'full English'." is fully justified as we sampled all of this and it was great.
A lovely 2 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourists-from-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It occurs to us that the way Stoneborough House is run, is a simple lesson in how to present the perfect B&B. Extremely comfortable, very tastefully furnished and with so many thoughtful touches.
Kathryn is warm, charming and helpful. Breakfast, chosen the night before, is all you could want. It's within 15/20 minutes of Sidmouth, Exmouth, Lympstone etc.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but on this occasion we got the last available room, a twin. Slept very well and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74Mozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, Essex
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife has always said " why stay somewhere that's not as good as home" - well Stoneborough exceeds in just about every way - beautiful furniture, decor,a lot of space, clean,fresh, stately rooms - tea and cake on arrival much appreciated after 6 hours in the car - and finally a wonderful breakfast - a warm welcome, without fault.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We received a warm welcome on our arrival and shown around this lovely house.
Bedroom very nice, bed very comfortable. Breakfasts delicious with varied selection complete with homemade produce. Everywhere spotlessly clean. Hosts very hospitable.A treasure in a beautiful part of the world. No shower in the room we had unfortunately, however I believe there were showers in other rooms. Would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

i was greeted by Kathryn who was warm and welcoming,my room was the wisteria room with a kingsize very comfortable bed,tea and coffee and china teacups biscuits and water.the ensuite had a bath not shower but not a problem for me.
breakfast was a good selection of quality products,i chose the full English the night before and it was lovely.the homemade jams and marmalade was a lovely touch.
a very elegant house with lovely areas for guests to relax in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Touring Devon for a few days we decided to base ourselves in Budleigh Salterton
and we picked out Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast. We were very glad we
did as both the B&B and the town did not disappoint. Everything in Stoneborough
House was totally up to scratch, the breakfast was delicious with home made jams
and everything served to perfection. We would certainly recommend our choice
and will definitely stay there the next time we are in the location. Everything
was perfect and even the weather was not bad for September.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doneteaching2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
3.5 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
4.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
452 reviews
4.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
100 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
416 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21A East Budleigh Road, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoneborough House is a fine Edwardian home situated within walking distance of Budleigh Salterton town, the Otter Estuary and the sea front which forms part of the Jurassic Coast. We offer three elegantly furnished, very comfortable en-suite bedrooms, two doubles and a twin. We also have a beautiful large guest sitting room and a stunning conservatory overlooking the garden. There is ample off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneborough House Bed And Breakfast Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing