We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Feathers Hotel

The Feathers Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Feathers Hotel
Windsor
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at this traditional pub over a weekend to attend my brother's Wedding on 16th June 2012. It has 4 bedrooms. We stayed in "Lauren's Room", a twin room on the side of the hotel with a lovely big shower. It was spotlessly clean, there were extra blankets if required. The breakfasts were delicious, all freshly cooked to order and the toast was proper bread! I have eaten in the pub previously, always very good. We had actually organised a family meal prior to the wedding in the skittle alley, they catered perfectly for us. The staff are a credit to the owner, Joan. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillieWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    22
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in The Feathers on 11th, 12th and 13th May 2012 to attend a surprise birthday party and couldn't find fault in our stay. All the staff were very helpfull and food was excellent and well presented . The room we were given "The Lounge" was comfortable, clean and well laid out with a large en suite. Well worth the money and will no doubt be staying there again when we visit friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I together with my husbands parents chose to have a meal at The Feathers on a Saturday evening. A nice family came and sat at the next table with ther dog. We were very shocked to see a dog in an eating area but accepted that we were in a rural area and hoped the dog would be well behaved,unfortunately the arrival of more dogs proved our concerns were correct. Suddenly we were no longer at a restaurant, we were at a kennels with dogs growling and barking and owners trying to hold there dogs back. We asked the bar staff if we could have another table but there were none available,so decided to go elsewhere. The landlady explained that as they had started cooking our starters we would have to pay for it even if we didnt eat it. Her justification was there were signs on the front of the pub and the website stating that dogs were welcome. Neither is true, apart from a small sign inside the pub which asks owners to keep there dogs on leads,which isn't much help when you book over the phone. I suggest in future when customers book a table the landlady informs them that they may be sharing there meal with dogs. We will not be returning EVER? On the plus side we did have a lovely meal elsewhere minus barking dogs, so the evening was not a total waste

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were very happy with our stay at The Feathers Hotel. We booked a last minute room for a New Years Eve get away. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The pub staff and land lady - Joan were really friendly and we had a perfect night partying in the new year at The Feathers. Thanks Joan and the friendly locals.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stay here once or twice a year. Yes, it is rooms above a pub but they are very clean and the beds are comfortable. The shower is good and the breakfast very nice. There was not too much noise from the pub downstairs. There is free internet access but it is a bit patchy.

The Feather is a good traditional pub with skittle alley, public and lounge bars. The food is good and the atmosphere friendly. Joan, the owner, works very hard as do her staff. She has always been friendly and hospitable to us.

Like the previous poster I do think it is unfair for a review to be published by someone who has never stayed. Yes, there may have been a mixup over the booking but, with so few reviews the TA rating for this hotel will be affected unfairly.

The Feathers is not a 4 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. It is comfortable, unpretentious and friendly. Rooms at the back are a bit quieter than the front because of morning noise from the high street. At night it is very quiet. We have stayed at the Feathers for Bank Holidays and New Years Eve where the atmosphere is great and the whole pub pours out into the street for Auld Lang Syne accompanied by violin and accordion!

Room Tip: The front room is the most spacious. The back rooms are quieter in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The Feathers Hotel is by far my favourite Place to stay in Budleigh possibly even Devon,
I was upset to read the reviews given by Surrey Girl (who has never even been there!) mum1958, and Carolemay59! It all seems a bit of a witch hunt really to blacken the name
of a quality establishment. My girlfriend and I have stayed at the feather on a number of occasions and received excellent customer service every time. The Staff give a warm friendly service and the land lady is always willing to go that extra mile! I have stayed is all three rooms which are very clean with excellent facilities and the breakfast is amazing !!!!
I would recommend the Feathers to anybody !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boardini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I just wanted to leave a post(something I have been meaning to do for a while). We have stayed at the Feathers Hotel many times during the last few years, and even stayed one New Years Eve, which was absolutely fantastic. We really enjoy staying there and often recommend friends and family who have all has fantastic stays at this place too. It is really great value for money, with clean, comfortable rooms and the best breakfasts. The landlady and her excellent team were always very welcoming and ready to accommodate your needs - this has happened when we have had to change plans many times. We really look forward to staying there again soon. thanks again to Joan and the staff for all your friendly welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wellsboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
0.5 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
5.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
4.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 35 High Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Feathers Hotel Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing