We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Feathers Hotel

The Feathers Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Feathers Hotel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We booked into the Feathers for 2 nights at the last minute and stayed in the 'Guest Bedroom' which was at the front of the pub.

The room was just what we expected, a double room, en suite bathroom (shower, toilet and basin) and was what we wanted (we view our rooms as just somewhere to sleep while we're away rather than obsess about the facilities). We had plenty of storage for clothes, tea making facilities, biscuits, shower gel, towels and a TV. The room was turned over each day, tea and coffee (and biscuits!) replenished and towels replaced.

The pub itself was brilliantly situated on the High Street in the town centre, a short walk away from the pebble beach, coastal path walks and river walks. Exmouth, Exeter and Sidmouth are a short drive away but also accessible by bus. The bus stop was right round the corner from the B&B.
Unfortunately we didn't get to have an evening meal at the pub (they were fully booked!) but the menu certainly looked delicious. There are a number of places to eat within walking distance. The pub sold local ales and offered a friendly and homely environment with a nice mix of friendly locals and holidaymakers.

We were given a set of keys so we could come and go as we pleased with no curfew.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious with nothing too much trouble. A word of warning though... If you have the full English, you won't be requiring lunch! It was huge!

The only niggles we had were that my husband, who is 6'2", didn't fit on the bed (the bed had a head board and a foot board) but this is something we will consider ourselves for other trips.
The wardrobe was a gentlemans wardrobe so I couldn't hang my dresses in it, but there was a hook in the side of the wardrobe so I hung them on there instead.
It was also a little noisy at night and early morning (people, seagulls and traffic) but we bought earplugs from the local pharmacy which solved that!
There were no parking spaces available at the pub and I was a little concerned that we would have to pay for parking for 2 days. There is a free car park at the back of the town hall - which is 2 minutes away from the pub. We parked there for the duration of our stay.

Overall, the room was reasonably priced and just what we wanted!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    22
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
475 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

An extensive menu, all home made. Excellent value. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Good atmosphere.
Didn't stay here just had a bar meal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at this traditional pub over a weekend to attend my brother's Wedding on 16th June 2012. It has 4 bedrooms. We stayed in "Lauren's Room", a twin room on the side of the hotel with a lovely big shower. It was spotlessly clean, there were extra blankets if required. The breakfasts were delicious, all freshly cooked to order and the toast was proper bread! I have eaten in the pub previously, always very good. We had actually organised a family meal prior to the wedding in the skittle alley, they catered perfectly for us. The staff are a credit to the owner, Joan. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillieWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in The Feathers on 11th, 12th and 13th May 2012 to attend a surprise birthday party and couldn't find fault in our stay. All the staff were very helpfull and food was excellent and well presented . The room we were given "The Lounge" was comfortable, clean and well laid out with a large en suite. Well worth the money and will no doubt be staying there again when we visit friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I together with my husbands parents chose to have a meal at The Feathers on a Saturday evening. A nice family came and sat at the next table with ther dog. We were very shocked to see a dog in an eating area but accepted that we were in a rural area and hoped the dog would be well behaved,unfortunately the arrival of more dogs proved our concerns were correct. Suddenly we were no longer at a restaurant, we were at a kennels with dogs growling and barking and owners trying to hold there dogs back. We asked the bar staff if we could have another table but there were none available,so decided to go elsewhere. The landlady explained that as they had started cooking our starters we would have to pay for it even if we didnt eat it. Her justification was there were signs on the front of the pub and the website stating that dogs were welcome. Neither is true, apart from a small sign inside the pub which asks owners to keep there dogs on leads,which isn't much help when you book over the phone. I suggest in future when customers book a table the landlady informs them that they may be sharing there meal with dogs. We will not be returning EVER? On the plus side we did have a lovely meal elsewhere minus barking dogs, so the evening was not a total waste

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were very happy with our stay at The Feathers Hotel. We booked a last minute room for a New Years Eve get away. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The pub staff and land lady - Joan were really friendly and we had a perfect night partying in the new year at The Feathers. Thanks Joan and the friendly locals.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
213 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stay here once or twice a year. Yes, it is rooms above a pub but they are very clean and the beds are comfortable. The shower is good and the breakfast very nice. There was not too much noise from the pub downstairs. There is free internet access but it is a bit patchy.

The Feather is a good traditional pub with skittle alley, public and lounge bars. The food is good and the atmosphere friendly. Joan, the owner, works very hard as do her staff. She has always been friendly and hospitable to us.

Like the previous poster I do think it is unfair for a review to be published by someone who has never stayed. Yes, there may have been a mixup over the booking but, with so few reviews the TA rating for this hotel will be affected unfairly.

The Feathers is not a 4 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. It is comfortable, unpretentious and friendly. Rooms at the back are a bit quieter than the front because of morning noise from the high street. At night it is very quiet. We have stayed at the Feathers for Bank Holidays and New Years Eve where the atmosphere is great and the whole pub pours out into the street for Auld Lang Syne accompanied by violin and accordion!

Room Tip: The front room is the most spacious. The back rooms are quieter in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
0.5 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
3.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
4.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 35 High Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Feathers Hotel Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing