We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub with potential but needs attention”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

The Feathers Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pub with potential but needs attention”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this pub while visiting friends in the area. The room was booked for two evenings, well in advance and i phoned the night before to check the booking.

On arrival, there was a little confusion as to our stay but staff were good and we were placed in the Dorset room. The room had recently been decorated and is quite nice, although it didn't fit the web info and the room previously booked. It turned out, we had been relocated because of a problem with the chimney in the Cornwall room. The move i appreciate, but given the fact id phoned the night before and was not informed did unsettle me.

There was no heating on, in the room during the first evening and the window did not fully close fully, which is a little draughty when the wind picks up,however we were lucky enough there was an electric heater in the hallway which we took into the room and this solved the problem.

When we arrived, we filled out a form for our breakfast requirements, which appeared to be very professional, however, at breakfast the following morning the bacon and sausages were hard as they had been pre cooked and the coffee lukewarm, as the cups were cold.

All the above seems negative but put together, can spoil that special weekend.

These are small points that are easily rectified. Staff are generally good, atmosphere good and we had a good weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ringer_07_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Good home cooking with friendly waiting staff in the bar, there is also a separate public bar, the food was excellent, generous portions and sensibly priced. The Feathers is in the centre of Budleigh and I understand also has rooms. As a hotel the so called lounge bar where meals are served could do with a freshen up of paint etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Openmind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We arrived on a cold evening and the pub was very busy but friendly. Table service was excellent, especially for a pub. Food was good, attractively presented but the large haddock!!! Waitress brought Chef's apologies as it was so large, he had had to cut it in two to get it in the frier. Could not even see the peas which were hidden underneath the beast! Never been defeated before but in the end had to scoop fish out of batter and leave - terrible shame as it was gorgeous. Wife had Chicken stuffed with cheese and loved it. Pity they are dog-friendly in the bar but don't allow them in the rooms - we would have booked immediately if they did!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank volvos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and i stayed here recently for one night whilst walking the South West Coastal Path.
A decent comfortable bedroom, good hospitality and beer and very good food.
All you could possibly want from a very friendly local pub.

Room Tip: The " lounge " was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MatureTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have recently visited the Feathers while on holiday. It offers a warm welcome with a great atmosphere. The food was excellent. We dined in the evening. Food was only served until 8pm but it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank heljesune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This time we managed to buy their fantastic haddock & chips with mushy peas, which are freshly caught just 50 yards away from the beach.Very good value & an excellent range of ales on display, but it is essential to arriove early to buy their freshly caught fish.

Room Tip: Book before 7pm to be able to buy their fresh fish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amstrads7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Booked a table at The Feathers while staying in Budleigh for a long weekend. Place was very busy but we were made welcome. Staff were very friendly and service excellent; food hot and very tasty. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WiseBird1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
0.5 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
92 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
401 reviews
3.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Stoneborough House Bed and Breakfast
Stoneborough House Bed and Break...
#1 of 5 in Budleigh Salterton
199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Syon House Hotel
Syon House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Budleigh Salterton
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 35 High Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers Hotel Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing