We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

The Feathers Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Feathers Hotel
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a lovely couple of days staying at the Feathers, staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good both breakfast and evening meal. Room clean could use a little more attention to detail, it did seem quite small but not stayed in a pub room before. The fire door outside the room did bang when other residents let it go quite annoying late at night.
No on site car parking however, a free car park a few minutes away. The position of the Feathers in the centre of town compensated for this.

Room Tip: Devon by the fire door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistyWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    22
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A good solid feeling that belongs to an old inn envelops you as you enter this hotel. It was a bank holiday, There were not many people about in Budleigh, but the hotel was comfortably occupied. Our sandwiches with chips were nicely prepared and very tasty. There was a good choice of real ale at the bar, and the Tribute ale was in good condition.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

was early arriving but no trouble had a lovely cup of coffee then shown up to room spotless could not fault anything .
had a meal in the evening with friends great service and good food .
Breakfast was of the same standard plenty of choice and fresh local produce
as with other reviews they have sorted out the little small hiccups and is a good place to stay .
Had the Dorset room the only thing that let it down was the outside of the windows need cleaning so thats not bad for Hotel in the center of town .
would stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flash419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this pub while visiting friends in the area. The room was booked for two evenings, well in advance and i phoned the night before to check the booking.

On arrival, there was a little confusion as to our stay but staff were good and we were placed in the Dorset room. The room had recently been decorated and is quite nice, although it didn't fit the web info and the room previously booked. It turned out, we had been relocated because of a problem with the chimney in the Cornwall room. The move i appreciate, but given the fact id phoned the night before and was not informed did unsettle me.

There was no heating on, in the room during the first evening and the window did not fully close fully, which is a little draughty when the wind picks up,however we were lucky enough there was an electric heater in the hallway which we took into the room and this solved the problem.

When we arrived, we filled out a form for our breakfast requirements, which appeared to be very professional, however, at breakfast the following morning the bacon and sausages were hard as they had been pre cooked and the coffee lukewarm, as the cups were cold.

All the above seems negative but put together, can spoil that special weekend.

These are small points that are easily rectified. Staff are generally good, atmosphere good and we had a good weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ringer_07_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Good home cooking with friendly waiting staff in the bar, there is also a separate public bar, the food was excellent, generous portions and sensibly priced. The Feathers is in the centre of Budleigh and I understand also has rooms. As a hotel the so called lounge bar where meals are served could do with a freshen up of paint etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Openmind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We arrived on a cold evening and the pub was very busy but friendly. Table service was excellent, especially for a pub. Food was good, attractively presented but the large haddock!!! Waitress brought Chef's apologies as it was so large, he had had to cut it in two to get it in the frier. Could not even see the peas which were hidden underneath the beast! Never been defeated before but in the end had to scoop fish out of batter and leave - terrible shame as it was gorgeous. Wife had Chicken stuffed with cheese and loved it. Pity they are dog-friendly in the bar but don't allow them in the rooms - we would have booked immediately if they did!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank volvos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and i stayed here recently for one night whilst walking the South West Coastal Path.
A decent comfortable bedroom, good hospitality and beer and very good food.
All you could possibly want from a very friendly local pub.

Room Tip: The " lounge " was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MatureTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
0.5 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
3.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
4.9 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 35 High Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers Hotel Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing