We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet gem not far from Sidmouth, Exeter and Exmouth”
Review of Syon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Syon House Hotel
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A quiet gem not far from Sidmouth, Exeter and Exmouth”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

As Sidmouth was fully booked up I tried the Syon House as it has some good reviews and it lived up to the previous ratings. In a quiet part of Devon with great views of the Otter Valley from the front bedrooms and the kitchen area this was a relaxed, comfortable and very modern B&B / Hotel. The rooms have been recently decorated with a great shower and nice beds. Breakfast was superb and Claire, the owner, was helpful and friendly. It is also a quiet location away so if you want to have a location away from the town centres this could not be better placed. 10 mins to SIdmouth, Exmouth and Exeter it could not be better placed for me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
60
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We were looking for accommodations close to Sidmouth for the Folk Festival Week without the uber high prices. Syon House was perfect.

We did experience some confusion over the 'correct' entry door. Once inside, we found a beautiful, if deserted, grand entrance hall. Fortunately, one of the resident dogs alerted Claire to our arrival and we were promptly shown around. Claire is friendly and outgoing. She seemed happy to answer my many questions about the work she has done to the house.

The house is truly lovely. I don't know which impression came first; the beauty or how clean everything was! With views over rolling fields, I knew I would try to spend at least a little time in these main rooms.

Our room (an upgraded option) was fairly large, very bright and spotless. Huge windows on opposite sides provided lots of fresh air. A large wardrobe and dresser, along with bedside tables, would hold enough clothing for a month! The reading chairs were comfy and the view - wonderful. The bedside lighting was a treat; many hotels fail to provide good lights for reading in bed. There's also a large flat screen TV for those not into reading.

Breakfast exceeded expectations, with a huge amount of food, a varied menu and good coffee. The full English was one of the best I've had. Day two I had the Greek yoghurt with nuts and berries with honey. I regret we only stayed two nights since I would have liked to sample more of the menu!

Even though things weren't "Perfect", I have to say this comes pretty darn close. A sign outside to indicate the entrance and a bell to announce your arrival would eliminate any confusion.

It's clear that this hotel is a work of love and that improvements are ongoing. I've stayed in a number of Country Manor B&Bs, and none come close to the perfection you will find at Syon House. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kch1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We were met by Claire wearing nothing but a big smile and a bikini. "Welcome" she said, "make yourself at home, just enjoy the place and relax". And we did.
Syon House is newly refurbished, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. There's plenty of room in the lounge or conservatory to sit and relax in the big comfy sofas. Our room also had a sofa although speaking to some other guests theirs didn't.
Breakfast was probably the best I've had in any hotel. All guests sit together around one large table, outside if weather permits. The young lady helping to serve (sorry I didn't get your name) is extremely pleasant and takes your order while Claire cooks everything perfectly.
Now the niggles....our bedroom was part of a partitioned room and unfortunately we could hear the guests in the room next door. We could easily hear them discussing the glass walled bathroom in their room , which luckily ours didn't have. Not enough noise to keep me awake but my husband had a disturbed night's sleep.
One of the things which attracted me to Syon House was the pictures on the website, particularly the one showing the view of the outside seating area and garden. However, traveller beware, these are not pictures of Syon House but of Claire's other property, the Hartnoll Hotel (Identical websites) If you're expecting manicured lawns and a perfect patio this isn't what you'll get. There is outside seating but not what's shown on the website. However, if the same attention is given to the garden as has been given to the house then I'm sure it will be lovely in the years to come...... just not yet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suziepq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Syon House is still a work in progress and the story so far is very good. We stopped off for a night to break our journey to Padstow and needed somewhere quiet and relaxing without rose printed chinz and scruffy armchairs. None of that here ! I loved the colonial feel of the spaceous lounge area, even if I didn't get much time for lounging about ! The room, while not particularly large, was very clean and well appointed. The window gave onto a garden with orchard trees and a curious stone arch - maybe a folly, and there was just a distant glimpse of the sea. Breakfast was generous and well presented, however, unlike some lucky reviewers, we were not offered tea and cake on arrival and we were advised of a pub for dinner. The weather was unsettled for our brief stay but I can imagine breakfast on the terrace would be lovely.

Room Tip: Book by phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falconette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The Syon House Hotel has that special relaxed feeling of being a house guest in a friend's peacefully located, beautifully cared for home. Though only recently opened to the public this boutique Hotel will go from strength to strength as more facilities are added. The breakfasts are varied, dellicious, a feast for the eyes & the tummy, maybe NOT the waistline!! A truly spacious, welcoming, relaxed Hotel, we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I feel sure all rooms will have that special touch which is evident throughout the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coulsons57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I visited Syon House as a single female on business. The house was amazing as were the grounds, there was a little pub a short walk down the road. The breakfast at the hotel was amazing. Fantastic venue for business meeting. Excellent value for money and a charming female owner.

Room Tip: Speak to the friendly owner when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxinebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syonhouse, Owner at Syon House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Thank you so much everyone for giving me such fantastic reviews, I am enjoying Syon House and entertaining you all as much as you seem to enjoy staying, it is wondering to be able to shae this beautiful home with lovely people coming to stay. Claire Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

At the last moment we booked one night at Syon House on our way down to Cornwall. This is a new boutique hotel which is delightful. It has been very tastefully refurbished. A lovely location and when the gardens are finished a view to remind one of a bit of Tuscany. The owner lives in a part of this lovely country house and cooks a very good breakfast. No evening meals but it is easy to walk to the local pub in the village. If you are passing by and have the time it is worth staying at Syon House.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budleigh Salterton
4.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
87 reviews
3.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
869 reviews
3.5 mi away
Woodbury Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Syon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syon House Hotel

Property: Syon House Hotel
Address: East Budleigh, Budleigh Salterton EX9 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Syon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Syon Houe is a sympathetically restore Georgian house situated on a plateau on the edge of the picturesque village of East Budleigh near the coast in East Devon. It has unrivaled views down the Otter valley with distant sea views over Lyme Bay and Budleigh Salterton. It's 6 luxury bedrooms are all ensuite with the best quality bed linen and towels, toiletries and hot drink facilities. Syon is just 10 miles from the centre of Exeter and 8 miles from the M5. There are three beautiful golf courses within a few miles, Budleigh, Sidmouth and Woodbury Salterton. A set gourmet dinner is available as is tea. Pets are welcome at the owners disretion. Woodbury Common and the Otter valley is renowned for walking and bird watching. There are many attrations and beautiful shopping centres within close proximinity, namely, Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, Honiton, Exeter and Exmouth. Sandy Park conference centre is 8 miles and Bicton Arena is 1 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Syon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Syon House Hotel Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing