We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooked fodder”

Tea and Tittle Tattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Award winning Tea Shop, serving home cooked breakfast,lunches and Afternoon Teas. Our speciality is our Vintage High Tea presented on tiered cake stands and served on beautiful bone china a real treat for any occasion.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Home cooked fodder”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went for Sunday lunch. Had the chicken pie (tasted great, much better than it looked), my mom had the fish with new potatoes and peas, she had to ask for butter as the potatoes were dry. You can get a glass of squash which I liked you don't normally get that as a choice. A fair price I thought, don't let the old fashioned decor put you off.

After a two hour walk we went back for take away cake (seriously lemon), it was delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneb933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    56
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Devon Classic”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

To be honest, this was the only place in Budleigh Salterton that would still serve us at 3:30 in the afternoon so, therefore, we didn't expect much.

We were pleasantly surprised, however, with the lovely reception given to us by the lady who served us and were served a couple of the most delicious cream teas I've had in a long time. The atmosphere was very warm and charming with the other customers all buzzing and drooling over the gorgeous cakes that the cafe makes on premises. The decor is quaint, to say the least, but if you're after delicious food and good service you won't be disappointed.

I can imagine it gets a bit bonkers come high-season though :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thegimbletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winscombe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Tea Shop”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Have known this tea shop for many years (still think of it as the Butler's Pantry), though as we're normally in full walking gear (shorts, back packs, muddy boots, et al) we feel it's a little genteel for us and we don't want to shock the other customers, so we tend to sit outside at the Longboat. This year, we found the Longboat shut when we needed it (seems very weather dependent) as was The Slice of Lyme, so took our chance in Tittle Tattle. Had a super cream tea - great scones and more than adequate amounts of proper jam and clotted cream, at a very reasonable price. Quick service and a very welcoming feel to the place. We gave the resident locals something to think about, though only a couple of them looked at all put out by our presence! The menu looks extensive and good value and there never seems to be a shortage of customers. Still not sure about its suitability for the likes of us but will certainly bear it in mind in the future provided we're not too muddy! Recommended, particularly for those who don't look like they've been dragged through a hedge backwards!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A gem in a lovely seaside town”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I only had coffee there but it was a super coffee , great service, lovely atmosphere and the cakes on display looked yummy.
There was an imaginative lunch choice and had it been lunchtime I would definitely have eaten here. A must visit place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This cafe cooks wonderful meals from local Devon produce. Sunday lunch is excellent. Afternoon teas all homemade cakes baked fresh. Wonderful cream teas.
Well worth trying.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tea and Tittle Tattle also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to Tea and Tittle Tattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing