We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bildeston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bildeston Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An Excellent experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

From the time we arrived until the time we left everything was perfect at The Crown. A really comfortable room with every amenity even down to a choice of background music. There was a wide choice of dishes on the menu and the meal turned out to be excellent in every way with attentive, friendly staff and a really good ambience in the dining room. Overall an excellent experience for a special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phalarope83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    68
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
42
162
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastern England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Had dinner here on Tuesday August 13th; our poorest meal anywhere for many years. Poor food, served in excellent surroundings, oh, and did I mention the poor food.
Customers walk away from poor eateries, and don't return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Percroonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I say hidden, but when you go there for the first time you wonder where you are heading to. We loved the old paintings or prints which related to country life. We sat down in the bar which gave us a chance to look through the menu and enjoy a drink and our families company. When our food was nearly ready we were led into the restaurant to another table. The food is excellent and well presented. We were curious as to what the bedrooms were like should we ever want to stay, and it was no problem for a member of staff to show us one of their rooms. If you have reason to venture out to this wonderful area of England, treat yourself and pop in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxtikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family were staying nearby in Spring 2011 and we had a lovely meal here. Because we had our dog with us, we had to eat in the bar are but the staff were so helpful. We were 5 people and had a lovely large table. The food and wine were excellent and we all had a great time. Even the locals were friendly!

My partner and I had also popped in for a couple of snifters on our own and sat in the lovely courtyard at the rear (not shown in photo). There is plenty of parking and it is easy to find in the village.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our first visit to the Bildeston Crown and I don’t think it will be our last. We went with friends who have been several times and it is one of their favourite places to eat in Suffolk.

We were staying the night and upon arrival, check-in was warm, friendly and efficient; the lady on reception even offered to carry our luggage, but being a gentleman I declined the offer! The bedroom was a reasonable size, with good lighting (poor lighting is all too prevalent in modern hotel rooms) and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed and, in the bathroom, a decent sized bath and an excellent shower, with good quality fittings. In the room were a state of the art TV and a decent music system (although somewhat lacking in classical choices – something to think about there).

The restaurant is a very nice place to be. The wine list is fairly comprehensive and not too overpriced. The waiting staff was efficient and attentive without being intrusive (we were only asked once if everything was OK). One very nice, very French touch, all too rarely encountered in restaurants in the UK, was that the waiters described the ingredients in each course as they served it. The dinner itself was superb, nominally three courses, but with a very nice amuse-bouche to start and a rum and raisin pre-dessert that was to die for. My one slight gripe was that my starter, described as langoustine cocktail, while very tasty and beautifully presented, included just two tiny, peeled crustacean tails not much bigger than shrimp! My main course, of two cuts of lamb, was superb and for dessert I had the best Bakewell tart it has ever been my pleasure to eat (although I failed to notice it is supposed to be for two people to share!).

I thoroughly recommend this place and, despite the slight gripe about the starter, must award five stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed over for 1 night on Saturday for our 23rd Wedding Anniversary. I have to say the service is the first thing you notice. A warm welcome, shown to our room, bar staff excellent, restaurant service excellent. It is refreshing to stay at a hotel where you order coffee, bar drinks, dinner etc and not once are you asked to sign bits of paper. You simply get a bill at the end of stay. Not even as much as request to swipe my credit card on arrival! It really is excellent. Just sit back, relax, order whatever you like during your stay and get the bill at the end - and you can add service to that at your discretion!

The rooms are very decorative, clean, tidy, comfortable and for the most part functional but for a hotel of this standard I would expect tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I dare say you could order room service but it's a pain first thing in the morning when you just want a cuppa. Also there was no air conditioning in our room. The reason I would not knock it is that the hotel had prepared the room and had a fan going which worked well enough for us.

Food - the best bit part of the stay! The food is excellent, a great menu, beautifully prepared, served well and the best quality you can experience! It really was one of the best meals I have ever had if not the best in Suffolk!

There is plenty to see and do in the area. We visited some of the local market towns and villages and headed into Bury St. Edmunds on Sunday for a wander. It was also nice to just sit in the hotels courtyard and sip a beer and coffee (not at the same time!).

No complaints from me and I would gladly recommend and return.

Room Tip: You can pick your own rooms off the hotels website. Just state which one you want when booking. Work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Lovely room, helpful staff but seemed a bit hit and miss with organisation of running the bar and restaurant. Having said that, it was a bank holiday weekend. Very expensive - would only return for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ml1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bildeston
4.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
11.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,128 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,008 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bildeston Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bildeston Crown

Property: The Bildeston Crown
Address: 104 High Street, Bildeston, Babergh District IP7 7EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Bildeston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bildeston Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bildeston Crown is a 15th century, former coaching inn set in the Suffolk village of Bildeston, one of the historic “wool towns” and just six miles from Lavenham. Known for its stylish yet relaxed accommodation, the inn has 12 en suite doubles, a 120 seater restaurant, private meeting room, bar area with open fire and a courtyard and terrace for al fresco dining . Food is an integral part of The Bildeston Crown experience and Chef Chris Lee, who owns the business with his wife Hayley, has an excellent reputation for his signature, innovative style. Quality produce, sourced primarily locally, is used when in season and diners can choose from a range of menus: Classics which features regular favourites, Select which changes with the seasons and also perhaps the ultimate dining experience – Chris Lee’s Tasting Menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bildeston Crown Hotel Bildeston
Bildeston Crown Ipswich
The Bildeston Crown Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing