We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First a wedding & then 70th birthday - they did us proud!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bildeston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bildeston Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We are Australians who spend a few months every year or two coming back to the same area of Suffolk. Bildeston Crown is one of the treats we look forward to. 5 years ago we got married there - last weekend we had my husband's 70th birthday there. Both involved dinner and most of the guests staying too. Even though the management has changed since we were last there, it continues to be terrific. Everyone friendly and helpful, chef and service superb, rooms and general ambience delightful - all details immaculate. A little piece of living history in this 400 year old building in a village in Suffolk. Only flaw was in the computer backup for billing etc - which was less than modern! Check out took ages - because none of the dinners or bar bill had been shared and then added to rooms from night before (as management & I had organised days before). First guest couple left having only paid for their room & and had to be called to pay the rest over the phone later as they drove home. Next guest couple left having been over charged because desk failed to apply Sunday night special when adding on their (paper) dinner and bar bills to their room. Next - my turn - took half an hour to sort it all out. An investment in proper IT to support the service would turn an excellent experience into a superlative one!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in the Black Fuchsia room at The Crown, the bed is very comfortable, the bath is large and luxurious.

The room could not have been cleaner, which I was very impressed with. I did like the décor but I think the room could have had a bit more colour and also a few more cushions on the seating would have been nice.

The bathroom was very big and in very good condition.

The staff were very helpful and friendly which made the stay very nice for us.

We would certainly come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodfootballbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our 53rd Wedding Anniversary and the buildings are beautiful, with large oak beams and open fireplaces in most Public Rooms and even in our Bedroom ! A great deal of money has been spent by the owner and local farmer, James Buckle, on making sure the Grade Two listed former Coaching Inn is top quality.
Our bedroom overlooked the High Street, but has secondary glazing, so no noise from traffic in the small village. The Bar, Dining Areas and Ingrams select Dining Room, all have general ambience.
We had the Eight Course Tasting Menu with eight different wines, all for £100.00. Unfortunately the wines were cheap and VERY small measures with not all matching the dishes perfectly. I would have preferred to pay more for better quality wines. The food however, was extremely good. Beautifully presented and tasty, apart from a very strange Cheese and Ham Toastie, which was served as a savoury before the dessert. It was accompanied by a good LB Taylors Port - the best wine of the evening ! Other wines were from Chile, Australia, South Africa and Italy.
Definitely a place to visit, but verging on expensive for a Village Pub ! I will go again, but order a bottle of decent white wine and half a bottle of excellent Claret to accompany the Tasting Menu instead of having the Wine Flight.
Only one other criticism - I had to remind the waitress on two separate occasions that a course had been served, but there was no cutlery on the table. With only 13 dining in the room, tyhis should have ben avoidable.

Room Tip: Look on The Web Site - there are pictures and descriptions of rooms. There should be no problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinDNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Had lunch here for my partners birthday with her parents, daughter and aunt and uncle.
The service, ambiance and food could not be faulted with a reasonable selection of dishes that catered for a cross section of tastes including our young daughter which is often a problem in michelin starred restaurants.
Steaks were cooked perfect to order and the fish dishes were excellent.and if I could be just a liitle critical the portions were a little on the small size considering the fairly high prices.
However that said, the quality could not be faulted and I guess in life you get what you pay for.
Wouild definitely go again, in fact we have already re-booked.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenshelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We know that the food is exceptionally good here, so we decided to stay overnight on this our third visit, to enhance the relaxation of the evening. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We took advantage of a 'deal' package for the room, dinner, bed and breakfast. We opted for the seven course tasting menu. This represents very good value if you take into account the work and fine ingredients that go into preparing and cooking all the dishes. We recommend it to all our friends. When visiting beautiful Suffolk, this is a great 'special treat' place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifebeginsatfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our first visit to the crown, an experience we thoroughly enjoyed. The food, wine, location and service where all superb. Suffolk has so many lovely restaurants - this is one of the best we have been to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

my family and i arrived on the 31 jan for a meal, we were escorted to a lovely cosy room with a wood fire burning, we had a drink then went through to dining room, very opulent and lovely table, waiters very attentive and polite, food was superb,well done chef,we are from scotland and if we lived here in bildeston we would defanetly eat here as often as we could.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bildeston
4.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
12.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,262 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,203 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
548 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bildeston Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bildeston Crown

Address: 104 High Street, Bildeston, Babergh District IP7 7EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Bildeston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bildeston Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bildeston Crown is a 15th century, former coaching inn set in the Suffolk village of Bildeston, one of the historic “wool towns” and just six miles from Lavenham. Known for its stylish yet relaxed accommodation, the inn has 12 en suite doubles, a 120 seater restaurant, private meeting room, bar area with open fire and a courtyard and terrace for al fresco dining . Food is an integral part of The Bildeston Crown experience and Chef Chris Lee, who owns the business with his wife Hayley, has an excellent reputation for his signature, innovative style. Quality produce, sourced primarily locally, is used when in season and diners can choose from a range of menus: Classics which features regular favourites, Select which changes with the seasons and also perhaps the ultimate dining experience – Chris Lee’s Tasting Menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bildeston Crown Hotel Bildeston
Bildeston Crown Ipswich
The Bildeston Crown Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing