We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Marquis(Layham)
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cedars Hotel(Stowmarket)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hintlesham Hall(Hintlesham)
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Limes Hotel(Needham Market)
US$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
    Savings alert! 19% below average rates

    The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
    US$115
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Savings alert! 14% below average rates

    The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$50
    Travelodge
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel(Stowmarket)(Great Value!)
    US$52
    Travelodge
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    The Black Lion(Long Melford)
    US$165
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (359)
    Filter reviews
    359 results
    Traveller rating
    219
    77
    38
    15
    10
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    219
    77
    38
    15
    10
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbeefred polltrufflepuddingdelicious dinneropen fireexecutive roomfull englishwine listmain coursescallopsthree coursestea and coffeefine diningfabulous foodset menuhigh standard
    Filter
    Updating list...
    41 - 46 of 359 reviews
    Reviewed 14 September 2017

    My husband and I booked for lunch here having been to this village a few months before and spotted the Crown. You can eat in the bar, but we chose the restaurant and had a great window table (good for watching the comings and gongs in the High Street). Staff are so friendly and we were offered various menus - the set lunch, the main menu and also the sandwiches. The choice is very good and our server said they could happily cross over dishes from one menu to another.
    With our drinks (good wine list and reasonably priced - also Adnams beers, which are amongst our favourites) we were brought an appetising board of mixed warm breads/savoury pastries with deep golden butter - melt in the mouth fayre! I ordered half a lobster which comes with new potatoes and a Caesar salad with Hollandaise. The lobster was cooked to perfection and the Caesar was a little masterpiece of its own. My husband went for the roasted vegetable warm ciabatta open sandwich with sides of a green salad (very fresh and lively and with a tarragon vinaigrette) and chunky chips - perhaps the chunkiest we have ever eaten - hot and delicious. Service throughout was attentive but not intrusive. A small point - the wine list does not offer 250 glasses, yet they are quite happy to serve this size, so just specify. Also, toilets very good!
    We look forward to our next visit - it would also be lovely to stay in one of their individually decorated rooms and enjoy an evening meal, with breakfast next morning.
    Do visit the Crown!

    Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel so can only recommend the restaurant.
    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank christine w
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

    We, two couples, lunched here mid week and I have to that I was very disappointed with not only the food but the prices. My starter was seared scallops with artichoke and endive (£10). There were 2 scallops, half a baby artichoke and presumably some endive. Regrettably the flavours just didn't gel and it was quite unpleasant. My main course of Suffolk pork with braised cabbage and apple (£23 if I remember correctly) was OK but tiny portions and certainly not worth the price. The braised cabbage was the size of half a Brussels sprout. The Sweet of raspberry Pana cotta was good. Service was very good but we made the mistake of eating in the bar which was very pleasant until some locals came in with their dogs which, after settling down after yelping and bickering, one decided to make camp with us and just laid down by our feet. I think the owners thought we were honoured that the dog, without any encouragement from us, had taken a shine to us.
    This is the 3rd time I have eaten here and I am yet to be impressed. Having said all that and given a rather damming revue I have to say that my wife loves The Bildeston Crown. Next time I'll let her write the revue - after paying for the meal!!

    Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    Thank timothyP
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 August 2017

    We had Sunday lunch for five at the Bildeston Crown on the bank holiday weekend. On arrival at 1.00pm the restaurant was virtually empty.
    To set the scene and end the suspense: The food was mostly fine. However the service, despite the significant size of the waiting brigade for the number of covers, was sadly lacking. The order was taken swiftly but there seemed to be no particular waitress assigned to our table. A bewildering number of staff brought, bread, water, alternate cutlery and the first bottle of wine. The lady that wrestled ineffectually with the bottle was no sommelier.
    Starters arrived and they were fine, much as we remembered from a number of years ago when we used to visit a couple of times a year. The wine bottle was emptied with the first course so we asked for another bottle. Plates were cleared and the mains arrived very swiftly thereafter. If anything a little too swiftly. Other than to mention that the beef was presented rare there was no information supplied by the, again multiple, waiting staff about the food. Surprising, but not a fault. We reminded a waitress that we had ordered another bottle which had not appeared and were assured it was on its way.
    Everyone was well into their mains and no wine had appeared. Waiting staff were passing frequently but studiously avoiding eye contact. With a bit of effort on our part we reminded another passing waitress of our order of wine.
    We’d finished our mains by the time another (? a bewildering range of faces had me confused by now) waitress again assured us the wine was on its way. I suggested that it was now no longer needed. Another waitress appeared, had we not had our wine? We explained and cancelled the order once again. We were assured that the manager would be informed. Unfortunately a few more customers now arrived including a large party. This seemed to confuse the waiting staff and there was much bustling past us, again with no eye contact, but no one made any effort to clear our plates or offer a dessert menu. We passed our soiled plates to the end of the table to flag up our readiness to be cleared and receive the dessert menu.
    The promised manager did not arrive. However one waitress did stop by to personally apologise and plates were eventually cleared and four dessert menus and a sandwich (?!) menu arrived. We decided to order coffees and petit fours at the same time to avoid further delay. We were careful to order a full set of petit fours for each of us. At this point another person arrived to ask if all was well. I explained that the food was fine but the service had been terrible. She apologised briefly and disappeared, strangely without asking what the problem was.
    The desserts contained the first real disappointment in the food department. The Eton mess was a meagre deconstructed affair (how does one tell a deconstructed Eton mess from a deconstructed Pavlova?), a blob of cream, a fragment of merengue and a scatter of berries.
    With desserts finished a single serving of petit fours arrived; we decided to share. One waitress delivered espressos from one direction whilst cappuccino and Americano arrived from another with the announcement that the coffees were complementary.
    Our experience of the mains had been spoiled by thirst and a long wait over empty, greasy, plates. This is particularly strange since it is common knowledge that the largest mark-up is typically on the wine list. It is usual in restaurants with a pricey wine list to be over attentive about pouring and enquiring if more wine is required often to the point of annoyance. It is equally bewildering that an Eton mess would be so meagre, since a bit of meringue and a bit of fruit jus is hardly expensive. How can a ‘mess’ be deconstructed, isn’t that an oxymoron? Perhaps that’s the joke.

    At no point did any manager introduce themselves and enquire what the problem with service had been. For excellent service I would typically tip 15% and work down from there. This is the first time in my life that I did not leave a tip. I do not think that it was the fault of any particular waitress since we sampled the service of many. It must have been a matter of organisation and training. How can three separate waitresses take an order for wine and none arrive? Where did they go with the order? Could three independently forget? There was a lot of tramping about past our table by waiting staff seemingly for nothing but the exercise. We never did find out who, if any, our designated waitress was and, if anything, the restaurant seemed to be over staffed and hardly under pressure. The restaurant missed out on at least another £100 for wine and petit fours. If wine had actually arrived as ordered we’d probably have got through three bottles and been mellow enough to have given the Eton mess the benefit of the doubt.

    Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    2  Thank Chris S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 August 2017

    The Crown was lovely, very friendly helpful staff. The room (8) was very clean and comfortable although a little hot but there was a fan to use. Little jugs of fresh milk where available for tea/coffee. Breakfast was delicious, with a great choice, hubby loved the full English and myself the Eggs Benedict, lovely fresh local produce, Dinner in the restaurant was equality outstanding and Hayley happy to explain what dishes where.
    We would stay again.

    • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Karekmsmith
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 August 2017

    We had to cancel a booking with another hotel, having discovered that the restaurant and terrace would be closed due to a wedding. We were concerned about finding somewhere nice without much notice, but found the Bildeston Crown, and very much liked the look and sound of it. We were not disappointed, as it suited us perfectly in every way. A variety of quiet and attractive places to sit and have a drink, wonderfully refurbished with taste and style. Excellent service at all times from a very friendly yet highly professional team of staff. A lovely room (room 5) and all requests met promptly with a smile. Beautiful food , which we were frequently able to eat on the terrace because of the fine weather. The staff quickly obliged us by re setting the table outside on these occasions. Breakfast was superb. We would not hesitate to stay again.

    • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank sibellius2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews