We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb property ideal for family gatherings.”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining room seating up to 20
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room seating up to 20
The Dairy House frontage Many original features
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
154 reviews
Dining room seating up to 20
The Dairy House frontage
Many original features
Bedroom 1 of 7 bedrooms
1 of 5 bathrooms
Bedroom 2
1st floor lounge
Overlooking harbour
Harbour view from upstairs window
Bedroom 3 with en suite
Dining seating for 20
Looking out onto the patio and lawn
With sofa, fireplace and TV
Bedroom 4 with en suite
Kitchen with all essential mod cons
Fully fitted for self catering
Bedroom 5 sleeping up to 3/4
Games room with pool table, table tennis and Wii
Choice of pool or snooker
'Ping Pong' table tennis table
Bedroom 6
Conservatory off the dining room
Bedroom 7 sleeping up to 3/4
Table and chairs by conservatory
Patio leading into the garden
Rear garden and patio
Harbour foreshore - 1 minute from the house
Pontoon and boats - 1 minute from the house
Close to local marinas
3 nearby family beaches
The Alver Valley Country Park, a 5 minute drive from the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Gosport, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 154 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

sueabbfab
Parrish, Florida
1 review
“Superb property ideal for family gatherings.”
Reviewed 31 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This property exceeded all our expectations. Fully stocked to meet all our needs. Local to shops, restaurants and easy access to Gun Wharf and Portsmouth Harbour on the Gosport ferry.
It is ideal for families and the games room was a great hit. The added little touches of Christmas tree, tasteful decorations and welcome package of basic essentials just made our whole experience a holiday to remember.

Date of stay: December 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house for a multiple family get together”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely week at The Dairy House, it was a beautiful property and all of the party commented on the lovely condition it was in. It was extremely child friendly, which suited our group as there were seven children all five and under. The kitchen was well equipped and the welcome pack of tea, coffee etc was a nice touch. Ken who met us at the property was very helpful and friendly and took a great deal of time to take us around the property. We would absolutely recommend this property to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magicats
Halton Hills, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The house designed for friends”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Once a year a group of us travel together to some exciting destination. This year we were looking for a place where 8 of us (3 couples and 2 singles) could meet up before our cruise sailing out of Southampton. We found the Dairy House in Gosport and boy were we glad we did. The house from the outside looks great but you would not think that it would be enough for such a large group of people. On the inside it's like you walk into the Tardis. This place is huge on the inside.

The kitchen is large, a little tight with more than 4 people in it but functionally it works. It is stocked with pots, dishes, utensils enough to cook and serve a small army. There is nothing that you can't find to cook with. Almost like being at home where you have all your tools to whip up a gourmet meal.

The dinning room is massive! I cannot tell you how many people you can fit at the table but the eight of us spread out on it and still only used half the table. Windows let in natural light. There is a sun room off from the dining room and the play room with a pool table and tv. Lots of bedrooms, some with en suites some without spread over 3 levels of the house.

There is a clothes washer in the kitchen but no drier. You need to do it the environmentally correct way of hanging the clothes to dry. There is a clothes tree and lines outside as well as a line and small hanger in the sun room if the weather isn't going your way. Lots of clothes pins scattered throughout.

The location couldn't have been better. There is a pub basically across the street which made into our local away from home. Perfectly situated just off the Eclipse bus line, one way to the Gosport Ferry and the other way to Fareham train station. Also a nice walk down to the pedestrian street downtown Gosport.

So if you have a large group of friends or family and you need a place to lay your head at night and use it as a base to explore Plymouth and surrounding area, this is the place to be.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Many thanks for your review and we are so please you enjoyed your stay with us whilst over from Canada. For anyone else reading this we are based in Gosport, near to Portsmouth and not Plymouth (I think that was a typo error)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimples01...
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to celebrate dad's birthday!”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I booked this place for my dad's 88th Birthday on the basis of 3 criteria:
1) Bedroom and shower room on ground floor
2) Games room (dad loves Pool!)
3) Something local to do that he would enjoy.
This house met all of these criteria.
So 4 couples and dad stayed there for 3 nights. It was clean, comfortable, well equipped and so quiet (not what you would expect considering it is in a built up area!)
Ken showed us round - I have never had such a thorough helpful introduction to everything before. He was very apologetic that the dishwasher was broken and had not had chance to get the part needed, this was a bit of a pain but we managed!
The showers were excellent, the bedding and towels perfect.
We visited the Naval Submarine Museum and went over on the foot ferry to Portsmouth to see the Mary Rose.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Hi Christine,
Thank you for your review and I'm so glad you had a great time. Sorry again about the dishwasher. Unfortunately the guests before you didn't alert us to any problem so the 1st we knew about this was the morning of your stay when they left. All of our appliances plus the central heating/hot water system are covered under a British Gas Homecare agreement and although they managed to obtain the part and fix it within 3 days of me notifying them unfortunately it wasn't fixed until the afternoon you departed. Again my apologises for this and thank you again for your kind understanding.
Best regards
Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A House for all reasons and seasons”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our third visit, the house caters for all ages and everyone loves it. It is clean, comfortable and has amazing views, it is always a knockout for our family.
We walked along the coast to get very fine views of the new Aircraft Carrier and then to Fort Brockworth which had points of interest to satisfy all 15 of us. We did not need to use the cars all weekend.
The Dairy House never fails to please, it is well sited and always spotless.
The Kenney Clan

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide6187...
1 review
“Great place for big family get-together”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely - bigger than it looks from the outside. We loved the original features, comfort, views, individual touches, and particularly the games room. The house has been really well converted and was excellent for our large diverse family group. We arranged for a celebratory meal from the recommended caterers (The Recipe House', and that was brilliant! Complete's staff were helpful and efficient and it was great having a real person to talk to on arrival rather than be left with a list.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sianmaird...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dairy house, gosport”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful house, perfect for a large group of people. We had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend it. Thank you very much.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.