We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Solent Chinese Take Away

Golden Solent Chinese Take Away
Ranked #116 of 168 Restaurants in Gosport
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
1 review
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Authentic and delicious food, served with a smile and promptly. Front of house could do with a little polishing, but don't let that spoil the quality of food. A lovely meal out. I would recommend a visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolfeybassoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    4
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

being in the armed forces i travel round the UK alot and travel all over the world. i have recently moved to Lee On Solent, i cannot believe how good this place is.

I love it, my wife loves it and my fur children love it. the staff are freindly and helpfull, the chef will even cme out to your table if you ask and he is not to busy.

we have eaten here several times and enjoyed every meal so far I have now made it my personel challenge to eat everything on the menu. i have not been been disapointed yet and i dont think i will be.

YOU MUST TRY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We visited this restuarant for my mothers 80th birthday knees up having heard great things about the food. We were seated by the main door which constantly opened and closed on a freezing cold windy night, resulting in all of our party freezing too. The radiator neart us was not on and when we asked if it could be, we were told that the heating was on a thermostat and if the radiator was not on, it was not cold! As a result , we ate in our coats. They were very short staffed, at one point there was a solitary young women taking ortders, answering the phone , dealing with take aways and taking food to tables. She was helped by a young man when he wasn.t delivering take aways ! We waited 45 minutes to give our order, a further hour for our starter and the same for the main course. In all , we sat at 1900 and left at 2300. The food was OK, the atmosphere took away our appetites, as was the same for other diners. When we complained , we were 'let off ' the service charge! We would not have remained there for this , if not for Mother who is not very mobile. A memorable evening, for all the wrong reasons !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kimsydh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Food is of an incredibly high standard. However, despite the restaurant being tiny you may have to prompt staff to replace empty drinks!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is s tiny little restaurant that serves absolutely great Chinese food. Whether you are taking away or eating in, the food is always perfect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSharp_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Solent Chinese Take Away also viewed

Gosport, Hampshire
 
Gosport, Hampshire
 

Been to Golden Solent Chinese Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing