We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina

The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina
Ranked #34 of 168 Restaurants in Gosport
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the Millennium walk and with a fabulous view across Portsmouth Harbour to the Historic Dockyard and Spinnaker Tower.The Boat House Cafe at Gosport Marina is a relaxed harbour side venue for freshly ground coffees, homemade lunches and afternoon teas right through to supper – 7 days each week.Boat House Cafe customers can park free in the Gosport Marina car park for up to two hours
Brossac, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Late Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We had our son and girlfriend down for the day and decided on a late lunch in a nice setting by the coast. We had seen this place advertised and knew they served lunch until three and it was in walking distance so we gave it a try. The cafe bar sits on the edge of the water and overlooks Gosport Marina and is in such a great setting. The food was lovely and even though the service was a little slow we would definitely go again. Well worth trying out...

Helpful?
Thank frenchroverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    52
    9
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A SAVOURY SACTUARY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Boat House Cafe is a natural focal point for both social and business purposes, and is a jewel in the crown of GosVagas attributes. Service and the quality of the cuisine has so far been exemplary. Fantastic views of the harbour and a relaxed atmosphere prevails both during the day and at night. I frequently visit, just to sit outside, have a delicious lunchtime snack, do the daily crossword, drink a coffee or two, and enjoy a cigar. All they need to do is give the tables and chairs a good overhaul and it will be perfect! Keep up the good work folks, and have a very successful summer season! I am spreading the word .......... but not too far - I don't want to loose my bench in the sun!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a fantastic spot for lunch which we chanced upon on a recent trip to Gosport/Portsmouth. It's in a wonderful spot on Gosport Marina and the food is delicious and very reasonably priced. But it's the service and atmosphere that makes it particularly special, with super friendly and helpful staff and a lovely buzz that makes you want to sit there all day. All in all a great find, I'm just sad I don't live closer!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerichochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I am in heaven and it is official. I have had many restaurant Sunday lunches, but this one more than surpasses them. It is that perfect blend of good cuisine and home cooking. Someone clearly carved the beef by hand, it was perfectly roasted, the vegetables still had bite, and the Yorkshires were crispy and lovely without being hard, clearly made from scratch. Awesome food, and the view really couldn't be bettered.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shadowolfhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is not the easiest of cafés to find. We came upon it by chance while walking along the seafront at Gosport. It is positioned overlooking the harbour in the Gosport Boatyard. We only had a snack of spicy homemade soup and warm pork pie with salad- it was delicious. All the tables inside were fully booked for Sunday lunch so we happily sat outside overlooking the water in the sunshine. The lunches looked good and the prices very reasonable. There are a limited number of tables inside so it would be advisable to book if going for a meal . We found all the staff to be very efficient and welcoming despite how busy they were.

We are looking forward to returning again for a full, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brianloveday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina also viewed

 

Been to The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing