We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a let down”

The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina
Ranked #36 of 173 Restaurants in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: On the Millennium walk and with a fabulous view across Portsmouth Harbour to the Historic Dockyard and Spinnaker Tower.The Boat House Cafe at Gosport Marina is a relaxed harbour side venue for freshly ground coffees, homemade lunches and afternoon teas right through to supper – 7 days each week.Boat House Cafe customers can park free in the Gosport Marina car park for up to two hours
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a let down”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had a meal her with a couple of friends. I had the bbq ribs. They came out and the tub of chips got dropped on me so the young girl took them back, also i sent the ribs back as they where cold, even the sauce was luke warm. I also asked the 'young' girl for a elderflower, that she didn't even know what it was. Not happy at all and i will not be recommending anyone too

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ptLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    53
    10
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don’t leave Portsmouth without visiting!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A pre-booked simple late lunch at The Boat House Café with 30 friends was the perfect end to our day in Portsmouth. No-one should leave the city without taking the Gosport Ferry (a great thing to do in its own right) and a short walk to this tucked away café with lovely décor inside, a great outdoor seating area beside the marina, and fabulous views of the harbour. The delightful owner organised everything perfectly for us. We only looked for it because we hadn’t noticed anywhere suitably cosy and charming on the main city waterfront, and we felt we’d made a real discovery – it didn’t disappoint.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandyViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wargrave
Level Contributor
148 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“could have been so good”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

went out for a quick supper after driving down from London, ordered two glasses of house wine which was very good then had their fish and chips which was tasteless and soggy. such a disappointment after reading all the other reviews. Great location and a pleasant room but food needs to improve.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank inclineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossac, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Late Lunch”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We had our son and girlfriend down for the day and decided on a late lunch in a nice setting by the coast. We had seen this place advertised and knew they served lunch until three and it was in walking distance so we gave it a try. The cafe bar sits on the edge of the water and overlooks Gosport Marina and is in such a great setting. The food was lovely and even though the service was a little slow we would definitely go again. Well worth trying out...

Helpful?
Thank frenchroverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A SAVOURY SACTUARY!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Boat House Cafe is a natural focal point for both social and business purposes, and is a jewel in the crown of GosVagas attributes. Service and the quality of the cuisine has so far been exemplary. Fantastic views of the harbour and a relaxed atmosphere prevails both during the day and at night. I frequently visit, just to sit outside, have a delicious lunchtime snack, do the daily crossword, drink a coffee or two, and enjoy a cigar. All they need to do is give the tables and chairs a good overhaul and it will be perfect! Keep up the good work folks, and have a very successful summer season! I am spreading the word .......... but not too far - I don't want to loose my bench in the sun!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina also viewed

 

Been to The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing