We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bar food”

Anglesey Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 171 Restaurants in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Staffs
Level Contributor
214 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“great bar food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Bar is really nice and friendly, there was a bar menu and specials board. Good range of beer. Nice food, served promptly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bootrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“SUPERB hotel in Gosport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have been staying at this hotel on business for years now. It has been such a pleasure to see the progress the owner ( Ray ) has made in renovating what was an abandoned building to the highest standards you will in get Gosport at the moment.

Not only does it look good, not only are the rooms good, but the atmosphere is one of a well managed and maintained family run hotel, bar and restaurant and it comes at a very reasonable price.

Give yourself a pat on the back Ray, you deserve it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank banco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buffet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We recently attended a birthday party here, not impressed one bit.
It looked as though someone had done a trolley dash round Iceland.
Do they think that stone cold breaded chicken strips and samosas
are remotely appealing?
My advise would be to take your own sandwiches and a microwave.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobMart_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Having been let down the afternoon before my wedding by the venue I had booked for the celebratory meal, The Anglesey Hotel was recommended to us and we were all incredibly impressed!!! They really pulled out all the stops to help us out at such short notice........ even though they usually shut the dining room in the afternoon they agreed to keep it open just for us and we found they had even beautifully decorated the table for us (which one of our best friends was going to do once we arrived.)
The Chef Kevin and the waitresses were all brilliant and tended to our every need and the food was all delicious and perfectly cooked!!!
I can not praise them all enough for giving us such a fantastic time and we will definitely be going back again & recommending them to our friends!!!
Thank you so much for helping to make this such a perfect special day for us!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sly104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I can't rate The Anglesey Hotel high enough. My best friends got married yesterday and after being let down the day before their wedding for a meal for all 8 of us at the ceremony a friend suggested they try The Anglesey Hotel and they could not have done more to save the day!
The dining room was simply beautiful and the staff laid the table with all the decorations we provided and the setting looked breath taking. The service was second to none and we were all greeted with smiles to any requests.
The food delighted everyone and was truly first class and the chef received a little round of applause from us all.
We will all certainly be returning now that we have discovered such a truly outstanding restaurant with "can't do enough for you" service.
Thank you so much for not only saving the day but "making" the day as far a we were all concerned!

Helpful?
Thank J928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anglesey Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Gosport, Hampshire
 

Been to Anglesey Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing