We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, no longer a Greasy Spoon”

Trinity’s At The Lightship
Ranked #9 of 171 Restaurants in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Very unique venue moored in Haslar marina . Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. This converted lightship has three decks,available for hire for all your events The flight deck has the best views of Portsmouth harbour. Membership available at £5.00 Per person per year. Open at 9am to 11am for breakfast.Lunch 12pm to 3pm. Dinner 6pm to 9.30Pm . We have a fully stocked bar and welcome drinkers 11am to 11pm . Fish counter is situated on the flight deck Children friendly and dogs welcome on the top deck
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great, no longer a Greasy Spoon”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Popped onto the Lightship yesterday for a drink whilst waiting for a friend to arrive on his boat from Weymouth. We only had a drink, but observed the most fabulous looking food being served. A major step up from the Greasy Spoon it was when it was previously run by the owner of another greasy spoon in Gosport. We never ate there the whole time the last owner had it because of the terrible reviews we had from friends. We wish the current owners every success but it already looks like they are being appreciated. As locals, we hope they can continue to succeed throughout the winter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    53
    15
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“How much better. brilliant”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Visited by rib today and had lunch and a beer on deck in the sun
The lightship had gone downhill for a year or so but what a difference. A really friendly girl greeted us behind the bar and you could tell straight away that things had changed for the better. Some nice touches on the tables, with a homely feel. The lunch menu was great. we had sandwiches and chips and it was no trouble to change what we had from the menu. I totally recommend the bacon and Brie baguette. Thanks so much. We are going back with friends tomorrow night to check out the dinner menu. Again it looks great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Being a berth holder for many years it's great to have new owners who offer great food at reasonable prices keep up the good work Maria and Neil it is what the marina and Gosport needs

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andymca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria19592014, Owner at Trinity’s At The Lightship, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Good Morning
Here at the lightship we welcome all reviews good and bad , this helps us with improving our standards.
Please could you let us know what date you visited the lightship and we can see who was on duty at the time .
Thank you in advance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the Lightship”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great start to the day, juice, choice of tea, china cups and a full English with good quality sausage and bacon, all for just £4.99.... Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Forget anything you have heard about eating and drinking in the lightship before - well worth a visit”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have been visiting the Lightship for some 15 years or so and seen it through many ups and downs in that time. It is now on probably one of it's biggest "ups" in it's history under the new proprietorship of Maria Hodgkins who has introduced Trinity's at the Lightship.

Situated in a converted lightship at Haslar Marina in Gosport with unrivalled views of the harbour entrance and Gunwharf Quays it is a unique venue for eating and drinking. There is a comfortable inside restaurant/bar or for fine weather an outside seating area and marquee on the upper deck.

Open from morning to night there is breakfast available from first thing moving on to an interesting bistro style menu with associated wine list and cheese board. All reasonably priced

We visit the marina by boat and during a recent stay we visited Trinity's on several days. The proprietor was always visible and she and her staff were most welcoming. Food was was well presented and well received by the diners and the bar was well stocked. Even though only open for less than 2 weeks there seems to be a regular clientele developing. We will certainly be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Etchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trinity’s At The Lightship also viewed

 

Been to Trinity’s At The Lightship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing