We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem!”

Lakeside Cafe and Bar
Ranked #1 of 171 Restaurants in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This little cafe is a gem! Very clean bright and airy with a pretty view over the lake where you can watch the swans. Staff are friendly and efficient Prices are very reasonable. Definitely worth the little walk away from the high street!

Helpful?
3 Thank guardianangel1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    41
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Cafe bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our 4th + visit to this Cafe
We own a holiday home in the area & now consider this Cafe to be our 'local'
It is spotlessly clean, great decor & pleasant views all around as it is a circular building.
The proprietors are very customer focused The customer is their priority & needs we're anticipated so no need to ask 'can we have this or that etc'
The food most of which is genuinely home made is very tasty & we'll presented.
There are the usual traditional cafe dishes ( Ham egg & chip) lush & some imaginative dishes (curries, casseroles & other specials, none of which should disappoint .
The loos are spotless.
I consider this cafe is the role model for how a cafe should be.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Subman4112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Place For A Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We recently had our baby daughters Post-Christening Party here. We had around 50 people attend and the size of the room was perfect. Our party started at 5pm after the cafe closed to the public and they even closed an hour early for us to enable us to set everything up. Nothing was too much trouble with the organising and requests for certain food and drink. The buffet was really lovely with lots of choice and was regularly topped up and was very reasonably priced. Overall, I would reccomend lakeside to anyone for a lunch or for a private function. It really made the day with loads of compliments from everyone.

Helpful?
4 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Bright,clean and friendly staff, lovely food good choice and portion size highly reccommend the full english breakfast all round good experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
486 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
“Bright and Cheerful In A Great Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This cafe is a little away from the main Gosport retail area, but benefits from very friendly and efficient staff and is well worth the short walk. The setting is excellent with extensive views both from within and also from the open terrace. Very bright and light, and therefore ideal on a sunny day. The menu covers all the usual cafe requirements and there is an impressive specials board. The prices are fair and a visit is recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeside Cafe and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lakeside Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing