We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More B and B really”
Review of The Anglesey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anglesey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
838 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“More B and B really”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Staff were great. Breakfast was also very good. We unfortunately had a poor start because our allocated rooms were unacceptable and had to be changed. The final rooms which we stayed in were fine but rather dated in decor.Would be nice if there was a residents lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    73
    34
    15
    5
See reviews for
63
70
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights with the wife, a couple of weeks ago, due to a local wedding. The hotel is a lovely old building with some very nice period features but has fused this with a modern makeover. Room was on the small side but very, very clean and continued the modern/period feature theme. I cannot remember staying anywhere where my wife and I have had such a good nights sleep.....bed was very comfortable with tasteful bedding that matched the decoration of the room we were staying in (room 207 I believe).
Staff were very, very friendly and we really enjoyed the breakfast on both mornings. We came away very happy with our choice of hotel for the weekend and would not hesitate to book here again if we are in this neck of the woods.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A single night stay saw the use of the bar and the restaurant for breakfast.

The staff were friendly but mainly unavailable, the bar was full of rowdy locals but did add to a better atmosphere.

The rooms are clean and comfy but somewhat cramped.

Good for a single night but not a for any longer.

Room Tip: See before you accept
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johngledson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed for just one night and was made very welcome. The bar was friendly and glasses of wine very reasonable ! Lovely dinner in the restaurant and good breakfast before I left.
I would certainly stay there again!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed one night, very peaceful location lovely bright and sunny room which had windows to the front and side of hotel, bed was lovely and comfortable and we slept really well, only thing which let this down was dust... the dressing table and both ends of bed, skirting boards were covered and looked like they hadn`t been dusted for a while, standard lamp beside bed not working although this didnt really bother us for one night. Everything else was lovely, staff friendly and helpful, full english breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raybezani, Manager at The Anglesey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for bring this to our attention and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We spent one night at the Anglesey Hotel. Our room was quite small, but OK for one night. The bathroom was small and the shower cubicle was very compact, but fortunately myself and husband are fairly slim, so managed ok. The bed had sheets and blankets, which was very nostalgic! The lampshade looked like it was from the 1970s, but this fitted in with the rest of the room. The staff were polite and courteous. Check-in was easy and the lady on the front desk kindly booked taxis for us. The full English breakfast was very tasty. The orange juice was warm but tasted nice. The toast didn't arrive at the same time as the breakfast, and when we asked for another basket of toast, we were brought one slice to share! Probably just a misunderstanding, but it made us smile. If we stayed in Gosport again, we would be happy to stay here and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends. We usually stay at a Premier Inn which are plentiful in Dorset but on this occasion we couldn't get in due to late booking hence we chose The Anglesey.
We were on the top floor, easily accessible by lift and it had a decent, albeit distant, view of the sea but a nice outlook over the park.

Nice looking hotel from outside but disappointing inside. No one on Reception so had to locate a bar man to book us in. Bar did meals but we just had a drink. There seemed to be a few locals in there drinking who didnt seem very friendly ...perhaps it was our Birmingham accents ;)

The room was small and very over cluttered with old furniture. There was a folded down dining table placed to the side of the bed and I caught my leg every time I got in or out. The bathroom was small, whilst on the loo you literally had the wash basin in your lap! The shower wasnt very powerful but the bed was wonderfully comfy and we slept well.

Breakfast consisted of only 2 types of cereal, just bananas for fruit. It would have nice to have seen yoghurts or croissants as Im a preferer of continental breakast. Partner enjoyed his full English and I had poached eggs which were nice. They also did us a fantastic latte coffee. Downside was that no salt or pepper etc was on table and we couldn't ask as no one ever came back to check all was satisfactory.

On booking out again we were never asked if we'd had a good stay (I wanted to mention the table), not brilliant customer service and I think for the same price as a Premier Inn we would choose that next time as you get a large room, bathroom (with a bath) and a good variety breakfast. I wouldn't have liked staying for more than one night and their customer service policy needs to be looked at.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kipndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raybezani, Owner at The Anglesey Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. It was from TripAdviser reviews that we changed our breakfast system from buffet service back to individual service and cook to order and todate our reviews have shown that it has worked. However in this industry you are only as good as the person representing you and it would appear that I was poorly represented on the day that you stayed. Generally there are at least four selections of cereals and at least five different fruit types available I apologize if this was not the case for you.

Our hotel was built in 1826 when en-suite's were unheard of, we have ensuited all of our rooms and of course in the smaller rooms the en suites may seem a little tight for size but that is surely better than a shared bathroom? The table to which you refer is an antique table from an early Gosport Ferry Boat circa 1910 and if you had looked closely you would have noticed the brass hooks on the legs that would have held the drop leafs in place during rough crossings also the screws in the feet for holding the table down to the main deck. In a small room it is an ideal piece of antique furniture for our commercial travellers who wish to take advantage of our Free Wi Fi and work at a desk on their Ipad or Laptop. We have recently added an extra 8 bedrooms to the upper floors to the rear of the hotel and have some really lovely large rooms at the front of the hotel so please ask for one of these when you next visit. Regards. Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosport
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gosport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
3.3 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Hotel

Property: The Anglesey Hotel
Address: 24 Crescent Road | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Alverstoke Village on the Gosport peninsular the Anglesey Hotel is an elegant Georgian Building dating back to the 1830’s. Recently improved with the addition of a further 8 en suited bedrooms and a lift to all floors, the hotel now has unparalleled views of the Solent and the Isle of Wight as well as Portsmouth, Gun Wharf Quays and the Spinnaker Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anglesey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglesey Hotel Gosport
The Anglesey Hotel Gosport, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing