We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food but service let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lovely food but service let it down”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Just been to the lodge for Sunday lunch, the food was delicious but unfortunately that's not the whole story. We arrived 30 mins before table was booked and as there was only 4 people in restaurant we asked to eat then. We were told we could sit at our table but couldn't order til 3 o clock as the chef wouldn't be happy! Then when given the menu I asked about a roast dinner but not available because there was a party of ten in a separate room and we could have pre booked a roast. No one told us that when we booked! However I chose a suet pie and waited the 30 mins to order but told that was unavailable too. Eventually I got a lovely chicken dish and my son had a steak which was also good. The problem seems to be lack of staff, the nice lad at the bar was running around so was the lady working on the tables. I dread to think what it is like on a busy day. Such a shame as I really wanted to love it here as we used to come here regularly before it re opened but Sunday roasts are a must and to be told we couldn't order before allotted time was a bit much. What about passing trade? Do they turn them away when the restaurant is nearly empty? I hate to be negative but that's the way it was. Lovely food but let down by lack of staff and poor planning.


Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Adelef1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    54
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
72
59
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We recently attended a wedding reception at The Old Lodge Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the day. The owners and staff are so friendly and helpful and can't do enough for you, nothing is to much trouble. The food was really nice and we all enjoyed it, and we have all said that we will be returning to have a meal in the restaurant. We stayed here over night and our room was spotlessly clean with complementary shower gel shampoo ect, bed was really comfy and we had a good night sleep. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a great choice on the menu, we chose full English and it was the best breakfast we've had in a hotel in ages. We would highly recommend The Old Lodge Hotel and it would be ideal for a wedding reception or family function as well as for a meal and a drink. The owners make this hotel and we wish them all the best for the future, Thank you for a great day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Spent 3Days at this Hotel, chef great, Hotel recently upgraded its Rooms, The restaurant area has also had a makeover, the staff were very good & attentive. Great location, recommend it to tourists or locals

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thanks for the review, George - don't wait too long to re-visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horndean, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Night out with friends who chose where to go as did not know any places to drink and eat in this area,was pleasantly surprised at the warm and friendly atmosphere and service of the staff for not being a local.Nothing was to much trouble and even though they had a wedding reception on and were busy still had time to come over and talk and ask if we were enjoying our evening and meal ,which I must say was lovely,presentation of food and flavour was really good,and I have to recommend the Brownies we did mention how lovely everthing was and the chef even came out and spoke to us which I thought was a nice thing to do seeing how busy they were,Would definately visit again and recommend ....a nice atmosphere,pleasant staff and great food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi Helen and thanks for the glowing report. This is our first year, and weddings are a new experience for us, but we try not to forget that we are also open to the public, and do our best to juggle the two. Keep coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had a fantastic meal from start to finish,the manager was always on hand to help.staff were well informand and would help in any way they could,im not posh but for me the meals where just fanatstic.
i will recomend this place to anyone, had a good laugh and at the same time it was relaxing too

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Old Lodge. We try really hard to be the place you would choose to spend an evening, and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here with 4 mates for a wedding reception and staff were fab, rooms, and decor of the hotel was top class and the bar was also really well priced. Breakfast top draw. All in all absolute bargain and thanks for your hospitality,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarksomeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
So glad you enjoyed our hospitality - look forward to seing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My friend and I booked the Old Lodge as a place to stay and hold the wake for a family member. The Old Lodge has recently been renovated and what a marvellous job they have done. The room are so comfortable. In addition the standard of food from the bar and restaurant is excellent. The staff are welcoming and friendly. Lovely setting with tables outside. The function room was more than adequate for 30 of us and the buffet that was provided was of a high standard agin so was the support and service given by the staff. the function room is used as a public sitting area with television at other times however there is also space away from the bar inside to sit. The bar has a good range of drinks swell as a local beer on tap. That was delicious. I was in the disabled room that had a very comfortable and accessible bed and toilet. Currently there is a bath with a shower over, but this may be altered to a walk in wet shower.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable. The staff were helpful at explaining options over the phone, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
I am glad you enoyed your time with us, Karen. The comment are most gratifying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosport
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
4.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge Hotel

Property: The Old Lodge Hotel
Address: 81 The Avenue | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old Lodge in the heart of Alverstoke village in Gosport, is a beautiful Georgian house upgraded to 11 delightful rooms, a restaurant and bar serving the local community as well as guests from far and wide. Currently undergoing extensive refurbishment following its acquisition by local new owner Michael Pearce, it is due to open around December 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Gosport
The Old Lodge Hotel Gosport, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing