We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last Minute Booking”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We booked in as a family of 4 very last minute and was thrilled with the service from the onset. Extremely helpful and accommodating on the phone and very welcoming upon arrival. Our room was lovely and a delight to stop in and held all four of us very comfortably.. Breakfast was lovely and the service was again excellent and cheery. Overall a very relaxing laid back environment, perfect for our hectic family :) if we find our way down there again we would definitely be stopping here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeriJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    54
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
72
59
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have been coming here as a regular visitor I cannot fault the staff always at hand to help & nothing to much trouble situated in a picture postcard village & very good value great drink & excellent food!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linny-Lin-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My partner and I have just stayed at the Old Lodge Hotel this weekend. From start to finish, the staff and management went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
We had lunch just after arrival - pint and a burger for £6 was a bargain, and being able to sit out in the sunshine in the beer garden, an added bonus.
The locals are as friendly as other reviews described, and will start chatting pretty much as soon as you walk in.
The room itself was small, but very clean, and had everything we needed, and the bed was extremely comfortable - it was very difficult to get up in the morning.
Breakfast was phenomenal; I wish I hadn't had a hangover and could enjoy it more - lovely bacon, artisan sausages, 3 kinds of toast, beans, potato rosti etc etc - loved it!
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChalkysChum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Following a warm welcome I was shown to my room where I was advised of the things you need to know.
Next was try out the WiFi which worked fine in my room as well as in the lounge downstairs. The hotel is open to non-residents for eating as well as the bar. I was very pleasantly surprised how well guests were received by the non-residents, I was included in most groups conversations. For a smallish hotel the bar had a good selection of drinks and the staff kept it clean and tidy at all times.
The restaurant was even more impressive. No matter who was on duty in the kitchen the food that came out to table was of very high quality both in presentation and taste. The room was nicely set out and always appeared spotless.
Mike & Natasha run the place and were always on the go. They were always prepared to chat and had a great sense of humour. Neither appear to suffer fools gladly but even I was accepted. I will be using this hotel again.
Did I have any criticism . Yes, not enough hangers in the wardrobe. Mentioned it to Mike and more were supplied that day.

Room Tip: Let them know what you require of a room in advance. It only takes a phone call or email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I book this restaurant for my daughters 3rd birthday lunch with family. They could not have done more for us. The table was decorated with glitter and sweets and banners put up. The service was very good and the good was lovely. It is so nice to find good quality food in Gosport. We have eaten here a couple if times and will most definitely go back. The staff were very accommodating and great with my daughter. They made her day very special. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having stayed here about six years ago we were expecting the worst, we would not have booked at all except for the fact that is near the venue that we were attending, however, it has improved considerably since then.
After a couple of minutes sorting the room heating we were fine, OK so the window wasn't double glazed but we come from an age when none were so no probs.
Yes the hotel could do with a better reception area but in a place this size it would probably not be economically viable.
Breakfast was excellent, the chef coming in early on a Sunday morning to accommodate us.
Overall we had a good stay not withstanding the weather and will be back again for any further family events.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobMart_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your comments -especially as you had visited before under the previous ownership. We have a difficult position in the Hotel trade as we have to balance size with trade. We are stuck with the limitations of the Hotel's physical size, and have to accept that without a dedicated reception, from time to time there will be obstacles to overcome, but we are pleased that you were pleased with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussie
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Firstly this is advertised as a Hotel I beg to differ!! there is no Hotel Reception to meet Guests and to give information..we had to go to the Bar which was packed and eventually an Employee came..we were shown to the room we had booked but unfortunately we could not enter the room as the door could not be unlocked!!apparantley they do have trouble with this lock..however it had not been attended to up to this point.the room was basic and yet was a Premier Room..the room looks out onto a main road and is in a Residential Road so those in their bedrooms could look into ours..that in self is ok however there were no nets or blinds at our window ..the window in our Room was the old sash type which needed attention..as it was windy that particular night the window just noisy and kept banging which kept me awake most of the night..the Room itself had no Visitors Book therefore we had not a clue what time Breakfast was what time the Restaurant closes no information on a point of Contact should anyone need help during the night no guide to what Channels were available to watch on the Television the pillows on the bed were old and there were no Pillow Protectors and no Matress Protector..as these Rooms are a £100 per night I think it was very very poor.When one eats in a Restaurant that is not that cheap the least you expect is a TableCloth!! tthere were small candles on the table that were never lite.. the Food however was very good and we would eat there again..as a Hotel this needs some tweeking for sure.,this is really a Bar with rooms upstairs..it seemed full of locals getting drunk and they were very noisy and very drunk.The Breakfast was great and we cannot fault the food..however the owner needs to rethink the Hotel bit,,one more thing our Room had nowhere to put our Cases other than the floor .We would never stay there again but cannot fault the food and the owners wife who virtually did everything..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your comments we do take positive feedback very seriously as a result we are currently producing information books to go in each room. For a small boutique hotel of this size it is not viable to have a separate reception and bar, I can only appoligise that we are popular and busy. The night you stayed it was very windy and this being a 220 year old building grade || listed, there is only so much you can modernise the building within conservation guildlines, as I recall we asked you for a breakfast time which you gave us and I am glad you enjoyed your meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosport
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
4.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge Hotel

Property: The Old Lodge Hotel
Address: 81 The Avenue | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old Lodge in the heart of Alverstoke village in Gosport, is a beautiful Georgian house upgraded to 11 delightful rooms, a restaurant and bar serving the local community as well as guests from far and wide. Currently undergoing extensive refurbishment following its acquisition by local new owner Michael Pearce, it is due to open around December 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Gosport
The Old Lodge Hotel Gosport, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing