We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhydspence Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rhydspence Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitney-on-Wye
St Albans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were originally attracted to the hotel because, unlike many establishments we viewed, the single person in our small group was not penalised by a heavy single supplement and/or less attractive accommodation. All three of us found the hotel service, accommodation and food excellent. Rooms were comfortable and well appointed, with fine views across the Wye valley. The enormous, well cooked and presented full English breakfast really set us up for each day of our three day stay, and we didn't need to eat again until we we sat down in the evening in the lovely dining room for our choice from a comprehensive and very reasonably priced menu which was changed daily. The male of our group was particularly taken with his late afternoon consumption of the devine Robinson Flagon draught cider served at the bar. Our recommendation - go for it: you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Found twin room 4 (used as a single) and double room 7 very comfortable with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce2CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for the great review, it is lovely to know you enjoyed your stay, you did an awful lot of walking in the days you were here, so I'm glad the breakfasts set you up for the day. We both enjoy sharing the plans that our guests have and the days experiences told over on their return, you covered quite a few miles, but you were all smiling with the achievement of each day, or the thought of a glass of flagon cider and a glass of wine for the ladies. Remember to call for a special rate as a returning guest next time you ready for a walking break, or just a restful stay over.
our best wishes
Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    17
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
71
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We arrived at 1pm to book in and go on a day out to Hereford.The log fire and the wonderful company of paul and Gerry,was to much and we stayed in this beautiful pub until dinner at 6pm and finally went to bed at 10pm.The room was large and everything was just so,even down to the shoeshine in the bathroom compliments.Breakfast was at the time we wanted it so we could have a lie in and enjoy the sounds of the country.The evening meal was to cheap for what I had and the breakfast was of the size and quality that some places now offer it free if you can eat it.all .Never did get to Hereford just chilled out in this wonderful place.The only downside was the fact that I couldn't stay for another night as work called.A must for those who love the unusual , good food,quality for the money, log fire,and peace and quiet.

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountains so you get the sun streaming in first thing.We had room 16 which overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crispmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with, we try to ensure that our guests feel cared for and are able to relax, it was a lovely compliment to us that you chose to stay and not venture out, when I come up from the kitchen and see guests, like yourselves, comfy in front of the fire with books or ipads etc just chilling, it gives our inn such a warm atmosphere, homely. It gives me a great feeling to see guests tucking into dinner and enjoying it, hope to see you again soon, remember to ring through for special rates as a returning guest. our best wishes and thanks again for the lovely review Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Book for one night stay in January. Lovely room- we stayed in room 1 - plenty of room with a 4 poster. We thoroughly enjoyed our short visit, lovely food, and beer .We chose the 'burns night ' menu. We had the venison casserole - hearty and tasty as was the breakfast. Thank you for a lovely stay - A great find and will be back

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank acmorris29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you both for the lovely review, you must have just arrived home and put the kettle on. It is so nice to have our guests take time to let us know how we did. Remember, when you come back, to ring for our special deals for returning guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Our very best wishes
Paul and Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

my boyfriend and I stayed here on a recent trip to Hay. The proprietors were amazing and we can honestly say we've never had a warmer welcome- Gerry was even thoughtful enough to put a fleece around my shoulders during dinner as the fire was out of order. Room 2 was beautiful and exceeded our expectations and the food was unbelievable. We arrived at Rhydspence overworked and tired and left refreshed, happy and very relaxed Thanks to you both! Tom and Cheryl Liverpool

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherylmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Tom and Cheryl, what a lovely review, thank you, especially as you arrived in the middle of us dealing with a chimney fire, waiting in a safe area while the fire crews did a very thorough job. I'm glad you liked your room, the warmest in the building usually as it has the chimney breast running up through! Please do come again when you need a break, we'd love to welcome you back.
Hope you had a great Christmas Day and we'd like to take this opportunity to wish you avery happy New Year. Paul and Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a very old style country hotel, run by a great couple who work their socks off to make you feel special. The rooms are old fashioned but very very clean, the bar is great, warm and cosy. Even had an eccentric English lord present just like stepping back fifty years.
Food was good and very reasonable not sure how Gerry keeps going she is amazing.

I have had many 'big breakfasts over the years but Gerry cooks the largest breakfast i have ever seen....Beware!!

Kevin and Roz.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Kevin and Roz, thank you for such a lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. (Gerry) Thank you for the compliments, my efforts are to ensure your feel cared for. the big breakfast is to set you up for your day ahead or the journey home.
Remember to call for our special offers. Have a great Christmas and again thank you
Paul and Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just got back from a truly wonderful weekend at the Rhydspence. Gerry and Paul were so welcoming on our arrival. Paul with his great dry sense of humour and Gerry with her fantastic culinary skills. The breakfast was delicious and kept us going until our evening meal, which was equally as delicious. We ate our evening meal in the bar by the beautiful roaring open fire. Our room was very spacious and absolutely spotless, with fantastic views. We will be returning for a Christmas break. Cant wait!
Sandra & KIeran Armstrong

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, We look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas time, remember if there's anything we can do to make your stay extra special , just let us know. See you soon , Paul and Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was our second visit to the Rhydspence Inn where we spent the weekend. Gerry and Paul were very welcoming. Our room was warm and cosy. The bed was comfortable to sleep in and the bathroom was very spacious. We were provided with an extra heater as the room was on the end of the Inn but we found that the room was warm enough. It was pleasant to see that they are willing to go the extra mile to provide every comfort for their guests. The views are absoluting stunning and the grounds are beautiful.
The breakfast in the morning is extremely filling and a perfect start to the day. There is a variety of choice for breakfast and they are willing to cater for all needs. There is also a packed lunch option if required for those off adventuring - although the breakfast is plentiful and keeps you going for the whole day. The evening meal is also extremely filling and delicious. There is either eating in the bar or the restaurant. Both areas provide a comfortable eating environment.
All in all we found this to be a wonderful trip away. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LelP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for such a great review, it was lovely to see you back at the Rhydspence, our aim is to offer relaxation and rest from busy lives. After walking up and down mountains a hot bath and a cosy fire can make all the difference, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Paul and Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney-on-Wye
3.7 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
9.3 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
22.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
17.0 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhydspence Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhydspence Inn

Property: Rhydspence Inn
Address: Brynafal Bridge Ct | Hay-on-wye, Whitney-on-Wye HR3 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Whitney-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitney-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhydspence Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rhydspence Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhydspence Hotel Whitney-On-Wye
Rhydspence Inn Whitney-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing