We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David
Hereford, United Kingdom

Dreadful Christmas Dinner

Review of Rhydspence Inn
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Dec 2023via mobile
A Club Christmas Dinner, food cold &!distinct lack of vegetables. Took nearly 3 hours for a 3 course meal for about 20 people.

We all had to pay a deposit but my wife had had an accident 3 days previous and is in Hospital. Under these circumstances I asked for a deposit refund which was declined as they have already purchased the food. This was plainly not true as one of our number who had not ordered a starter asked for one and was told that there weren’t any, if my wife’s food had been ordered then there should have been one available. I do not believe that they would have ordered a smaller turkey had my wife not booked and do not believe that they will have much difficulty at this time of year to sell turkey. I believe their behaviour lacked integrity and will never go there again,
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs, go to the nearby Boat Inn instead.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Howlett, Owner at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this review
Responded 18 Dec 2023
Good afternoon David,

I’m sorry that your experience with us wasn’t up to the standard that we want our customers to have. We never want anyone to leave feeling cheated or frustrated with what should have been a merry and relaxing experience.

We do take deposits from parties larger than 12 as to ensure we are making a profit at the end of all the hard work us and our team put into these events. We are a new business and need to ensure that we can continue to carry on doing events like these. We have had instances where 5 people haven’t shown up to a party of 14 and we lose out at the end of the day, like you have mentioned we order the food in advance. I understand your frustration with thinking we had a spare starter ready to go but it was not plated and not prepared and our chefs were already underway cooking for the other 30 people we had in that night. We wouldn’t make up your wife’s starter just to throw in the bin, if told in advance of course we could have accommodated this.

In regards to wait times, your party arrived at 7pm and sat down at the table for 7:30pm, all the puddings were served by 9:15pm, so unfortunately the 3 hour wait time is a little exaggerated and 2 hours is an industry standard of wait time for a party of 20 plus.

The dish you ordered with a ‘distinct lack of vegetables’ was Lamb Shank with Savoy Cabbage & Polenta so it was a dish was less vegetables than the Roast Turkey. Sorry there was some confusion on that but I hope when we brought out extra vegetables free of charge at your tables request, that sorted the problem.

Again we don’t ever want anyone leaving us feeling this way, please accept our apologies and hope you can give us a second chance in the future, especially after your host and your party told us how wonderful their evening was and how delicious the food was.

Kind regards,
The Rhydspence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £140
  • Vio.com
    £118
  • Official Site
    £125
1.6 miles from Rhydspence Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
2.5 miles from Rhydspence Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£190
  • Agoda.com
    £190
  • eDreams
    £190
  • Lol.travel
3.4 miles from Rhydspence Inn
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Vio.com
£190
    3.4 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    Booking.com
    £290
    • Agoda.com
      £290
    • eDreams
      £290
    • Vio.com
      £290
    3.2 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £125
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      £125
    • Agoda.com
      £125
    • eDreams
      £125
    3.1 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £150
    • Priceline
      £150
    • Agoda.com
      £150
    6.0 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    Restaurant
    Booking.com
    £110
    • Agoda.com
      £110
    • Vio.com
      £110
    4.8 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £120
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
      £120
    4.9 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    Booking.com
    £125
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      £125
    • Hotels.com
      £125
    • Skyscanner.com
      £124
    6.6 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Whitney-on-Wye
    Reviews (257)
    Filter reviews
    257 results
    Traveller rating
    178
    36
    17
    11
    15
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    178
    36
    17
    11
    15
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews hay on wye tasty food beer garden lovely meal pudding worth a visit beams crispy chips
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    19 - 24 of 257 reviews
    Reviewed 6 December 2023

    We had heard good things about the Rhydspence since the new owners took over so we thought we’d go there for dinner. We were very impressed: the Inn is as lovely as ever and we had a warm welcome from the staff and owners. The food itself was excellent, not a big menu but very appealing, with good sized portions and very tasty. It’s certainly a big step-up from standard pub grub. The whole experience was very enjoyable and we will definitely be returning.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 692sueq
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 November 2023

    Staying at The Rhydspence Inn was a truly magical experience. Built into the heart of Whitney-on-Wye, the new ownership have made a tremendous effort with turning this Inn into a new, exciting venture for it's local community. The two new Owners, Freddy and Craig, along with a crack staff have whipped this place into fantastic shape in the last 2 months and with a sumptuous, ever-changing menu, we hope that they have a fantastic Christmas and an amazing New Year! We will absolutely be coming back, hoping to see this place within all it's glory in the Spring and Summer.

    Room tip: Book early for Sunday lunch- the menu is top quality at a very reasonable price.
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Samuel C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 October 2023

    The Rhydspence will always hold a special place in our hearts, it is one of the reasons we moved to the area 6.5yrs ago! First visit since the new owners took over and we are so impressed. Lovely welcome, new Czech lager Pardál on draught (and only 3.8%), fab Sunday roasts all round (beef especially was cooked beautifully, probably the best I've ever tasted as part of a roast dinner). A special mention also for the chutney that came with the cheese board - so delicious. They were also very accommodating of our dog, she's a rescue and can be a little jumpy around other dogs. We will definitely be back soon.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank thousandsofrobins
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 October 2023 via mobile

    I can highly recommend the Rhydspence Inn. The new owners are very welcoming and it is a lovely place for food or just for drinks. My Guinea fowl roast was one of the best roast dinners I’ve ever eaten. Horace the resident poodle is an absolute star too. We will definitely be going back!

    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Effras
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

    Very happy to welcome new owners to a local institution. Friendly and efficient service. Delicious starters (perfect range and great accompanying breads).

    If they carry on as they are, serving reasonably priced, well cooked and local favourites, the future looks bright.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Z5660LFkatet
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews