We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andy H

Hidden Gem

Review of Rhydspence Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024via mobile
We stayed for one night and enjoyed dinner with a friend who is was walking the King Offa’s Dyke path. My wife commented that the bed was extremely comfortable, the food and service was excellent. I would recommend the staying here and hope we will return soon
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£100
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    £100
1.6 miles from Rhydspence Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.1 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    The Rising Sun
      1.7 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.6 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • eDreams
      • Priceline
      • ZenHotels.com
      3.5 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free parking
      Bar/Lounge
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      7.7 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.6 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      3.3 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Bar/Lounge
      • eDreams
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      3.2 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Foyles by night
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.5 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Whitney-on-Wye
      Reviews (258)
      Filter reviews
      258 results
      Traveller rating
      178
      37
      17
      11
      15
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      178
      37
      17
      11
      15
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews hay on wye tasty food beer garden lovely meal pudding worth a visit beams crispy chips
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      7 - 12 of 258 reviews
      Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

      Came for supper with a friend and the food was so amazing. I cannot fault it.
      We ended up sharing everything as we couldn’t make a decision as we wanted everything on the menu.
      We had the mussels with leeks and the truffle potato egg to start… I have genuinely dreamt of that egg….! Then we shared the steak haché and a chicken dish which was ridiculous. Perfectly cooked chicken.
      Dining again soon as oh my lord… the food is so marvellous. Hosts were amazing, felt so welcome again by Craig and Freddy and their team. So great to see such a passionate group of people take on such a historic pub

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Pippa M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 February 2024

      Delicious Sunday lunch - incredibly tender roast beef main course - in a restaurant humming with happy customers and smiling staff. So pleased to see the Inn has reopened under such excellent management. This is the place to go for inspired menus, affordable prices and a terrific vibe. We'll be back!

      Room tip: Book early because this place is already popular and will only get more so.
      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank SerenaElizG
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 February 2024

      After shopping around different places to host my husbands 40th birthday celebrations, and being met with such disappointment time after time, the moment I walked through the doors at the Rhydspence, I knew I had found the right place. Craig, one of the owners, is quite possibly, one of the nicest humans on this planet. He took all the worry out of planning a big bash and made the whole thing completely seamless. The party ended up being for about 100 people give or take and everyone was fed and watered throughout the day. The pub was immaculate, we booked all the rooms and they were all fabulous. Clean and warm which must be tough to maintain in such an old building. All the staff were just great. I could not have asked for more. The food was the highlight of the day, with hot bowled food being served throughout and canapés to suit everyone. Freddy, the head chef and his team must have worked so hard to prep everything and keep everyone happy. I had a few private meetings with Freddy as my mother in law and sister in law have a long list of allergies. He designed a special menu for them, which meant the world as they often miss out on occasions like this. Freddy is an excellent chef and obviously loves what he does. As the evening carried on and the drinks kept coming, the people who were using the rooms ordered food and it was all delicious! The truffle chicken was just insane! How they pumped out dish after dish cooked to perfection just baffles me! I also think we ate all their chips! At no point did the staff make it seem that the drunk crowd was annoying them (but they must have!) all the staff were professional and warm and smiled the whole time! I can’t thank them enough for everything. What a fabulous place.

      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Pips H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 18 February 2024

      This was our second visit under the new owners and
      We were totally impressed with the food and the service. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very efficient and friendly and the quality and presentation of the food was excellent. Would have no hesitation in recommending the RHYDSPENCE, and we shall certainly be returning, hopefully soon.

      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank GlasburyChris
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

      This 14th century pub under new ownership is enchanting. After many years uninhabited we have had a wonderful time seated by a blazing log fire. We had the Pheasant consommé and expertly cooked Steak Haché. The service was excellent and everything was perfect. Must be the best in the region!

      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Noel M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews