We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
alysonBromsgrove
bromsgrove

Perfect weekend away

Review of Rhydspence Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
This is a fabulous hotel. It is a very old building with a lot of character. Our room was very spacious and had stunning views on three sides. There was plenty of storage space, including extra space in the bathroom. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, and good quality toiletries were provided. Everything was very clean. All the staff were pleasant and efficient. A special mention must go to Craig, one of the owners, who was lovely and welcoming. We also fell in love with Horace, the resident dog. The food was wonderful. Very well cooked and presented. I would have preferred a linen napkin, rather than a paper one at the evening meal. It would have just made it more special. Just a suggestion....
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Room 7 has stunning views, and is very spacious
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
    0.1 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    The Rising Sun
    eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    1.7 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
      £120
    • ZenHotels.com
    2.5 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Vio.com
    £190
      3.4 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Booking.com
      • eDreams
      • Vio.com
        £290
      • Agoda.com
      3.2 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • Priceline
        £125
      • eDreams
      • Agoda.com
      3.1 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.6 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • eDreams
      • Agoda.com
      • Priceline
      3.5 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free parking
      Bar/Lounge
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      7.7 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Whitney-on-Wye
      Reviews (257)
      Filter reviews
      257 results
      Traveller rating
      178
      36
      17
      11
      15
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      178
      36
      17
      11
      15
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews hay on wye tasty food beer garden lovely meal pudding worth a visit beams crispy chips
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 257 reviews
      Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

      You simply must visit this absolute hidden gem in the beautiful Herefordshire countryside!

      We’ve dined here on a couple of occasions and visited for drinks a few more, and on every visit we have felt so genuinely welcomed and relaxed whether it be drinking by the open fire or dining in the one of the fabulous small rooms surrounding the bustling bar area.

      The Rhydspence is brimming with character and the owners have somehow created a wonderful blend of a traditional (dog friendly) country pub with the quality of dining usually associated with major cities. These guys have nailed it and we love it!

      Date of stay: April 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank adamjamesdj
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 9 April 2024

      We stayed at the Rhydspence on a Saturday night having spent the day in Hay-on-Wye and also booked dinner. The four poster room was beautiful with lovely views of the surrounding countryside as well as the waterfalls and bridge. Dinner was excellent, high standard of food, particularly liked the duck main. All staff were welcoming and friendly, young waiter did a sterling job. The bar was warm and convivial for drinks. Breakfast was delicious and filling, even on the smaller portion which we opted for. Thought our stay very good value for money and would recommend for exploring the area.

      Date of stay: April 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Joanne D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

      We stayed for one night and enjoyed dinner with a friend who is was walking the King Offa’s Dyke path. My wife commented that the bed was extremely comfortable, the food and service was excellent. I would recommend the staying here and hope we will return soon

      Date of stay: April 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Andy H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

      Came for supper with a friend and the food was so amazing. I cannot fault it.
      We ended up sharing everything as we couldn’t make a decision as we wanted everything on the menu.
      We had the mussels with leeks and the truffle potato egg to start… I have genuinely dreamt of that egg….! Then we shared the steak haché and a chicken dish which was ridiculous. Perfectly cooked chicken.
      Dining again soon as oh my lord… the food is so marvellous. Hosts were amazing, felt so welcome again by Craig and Freddy and their team. So great to see such a passionate group of people take on such a historic pub

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Pippa M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 February 2024

      Delicious Sunday lunch - incredibly tender roast beef main course - in a restaurant humming with happy customers and smiling staff. So pleased to see the Inn has reopened under such excellent management. This is the place to go for inspired menus, affordable prices and a terrific vibe. We'll be back!

      Room tip: Book early because this place is already popular and will only get more so.
      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank SerenaElizG
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews