We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gwyn W

Memorable stay

Review of Rhydspence Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Well what a really enjoyable stay with Craig and Freddy at the Rhydspence. Three memorable nights at their welcoming Inn. Their staff and the locals drinking in the bar were so friendly and Freddies cuisine is something so special, in fact more than special, it's amazing! We certainly hope to make a return stay, hopefully in the not too distant future. We wish you all the best Craig and Freddy. You certainly deserve to do well. Christine and Gwyn, Dunchurch, Warks.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£100
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from Rhydspence Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.1 miles from Rhydspence Inn
    The Rising Sun
      1.7 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.6 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
      • ZenHotels.com
      3.5 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free parking
      Bar/Lounge
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      7.7 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.6 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      3.3 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Bar/Lounge
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
      • Agoda.com
      3.2 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Foyles by night
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.5 miles from Rhydspence Inn
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Whitney-on-Wye
      Reviews (258)
      Filter reviews
      258 results
      Traveller rating
      178
      37
      17
      11
      15
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      178
      37
      17
      11
      15
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews hay on wye tasty food beer garden lovely meal pudding worth a visit beams crispy chips
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      2 - 7 of 258 reviews
      Reviewed 6 May 2024

      This acommodation was not really up to the standard of the other places we stayed on our trip. For some reason we got this tiny room No. 8, there was nowhere to put anything, no bedside tables, nowhere for a suitcase and it was above the kitchen! The bathroom was modern but smelt of Roast Dinners and Cooking oil most of the time we were there, an issue with the extractor fan maybe? There was also quite a bit of banging and clanking between 10-11pm while they cleared up the kitchen. I did take a peek in another couple of empty rooms nearby and they were palatial in comparison!! We were pre-booked for dinner at 7.30pm and in fact were a little early, sitting down at 7.20pm. We waited such a long time, the starters arrived at 8.20 pm, about an hour later. The mains at 8.43pm. My husband ate his dinner in 4 minutes flat, he was so hungry by then! We ate elsewhere on our second night. Like a rainy day, we felt a little disappointed all in all. To their credit, they didn't charge us for the starters on checkout and did apologise for the delay at the time.
      So, my advice is to check the room you are going into and also have a good look at the Sample Menu on their website because this IS the menu, it's quite limited and it may not be to everyone's taste. (Be aware that this is not a Burger and chips kind of place1). We came back with a heap of books from Hay on Wye though!

      Date of stay: April 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Quiller810
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Craig Howlett, Owner at Rhydspence Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

      Hello there,

      Thank you for leaving us a review and I’m sad to see it’s not a better one as we never want our customers to leave feeling this way.

      The room that you stayed in is our basic standard double which is the cheapest of the rooms, due to the smaller size bed, amenities and also being above the kitchen. The others rooms are all priced at a higher rate due to them being larger with more amenities.

      I can’t apologies enough about the smell of the room, I do wish you would have brought this to our staffs attention during your 2 night stay and we would have happily upgraded your room free of charge. I have spoken to all my staff and they have all said that no issues were raised about the room during your stay or on checkout.

      In regards to dinner that evening we apologise for the wait on the starters, it is not the standard that we are looking for our customers to receive. I hope that the complimentary drinks and us comping the starters made this up in some way. Our staff understood the wait you had with your meal and so when your starters were cleared we made sure your mains were out within 15 minutes and your puddings within 10 minutes.

      I’m sorry you felt our menu limited. The menu has 5/6 starters and 6/7 mains which for a restaurant serving fresh local produce with everything prepared in-house, is on par with other establishments in the surrounding area.


      I hope this clears a few things up but I understand that this doesn’t fix the disappointment you had during your stay with us. We hope you can forgive us and would love to have you back one day in a nicer room and a drink on us.

      Warm regards,
      The Rhydspence Inn

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 May 2024

      This is a fabulous hotel. It is a very old building with a lot of character. Our room was very spacious and had stunning views on three sides. There was plenty of storage space, including extra space in the bathroom. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, and good quality toiletries were provided. Everything was very clean. All the staff were pleasant and efficient. A special mention must go to Craig, one of the owners, who was lovely and welcoming. We also fell in love with Horace, the resident dog. The food was wonderful. Very well cooked and presented. I would have preferred a linen napkin, rather than a paper one at the evening meal. It would have just made it more special. Just a suggestion....

      Room tip: Room 7 has stunning views, and is very spacious
      Date of stay: May 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank alysonBromsgrove
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 April 2024 via mobile

      You simply must visit this absolute hidden gem in the beautiful Herefordshire countryside!

      We’ve dined here on a couple of occasions and visited for drinks a few more, and on every visit we have felt so genuinely welcomed and relaxed whether it be drinking by the open fire or dining in the one of the fabulous small rooms surrounding the bustling bar area.

      The Rhydspence is brimming with character and the owners have somehow created a wonderful blend of a traditional (dog friendly) country pub with the quality of dining usually associated with major cities. These guys have nailed it and we love it!

      Date of stay: April 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank adamjamesdj
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 9 April 2024

      We stayed at the Rhydspence on a Saturday night having spent the day in Hay-on-Wye and also booked dinner. The four poster room was beautiful with lovely views of the surrounding countryside as well as the waterfalls and bridge. Dinner was excellent, high standard of food, particularly liked the duck main. All staff were welcoming and friendly, young waiter did a sterling job. The bar was warm and convivial for drinks. Breakfast was delicious and filling, even on the smaller portion which we opted for. Thought our stay very good value for money and would recommend for exploring the area.

      Date of stay: April 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Joanne D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

      We stayed for one night and enjoyed dinner with a friend who is was walking the King Offa’s Dyke path. My wife commented that the bed was extremely comfortable, the food and service was excellent. I would recommend the staying here and hope we will return soon

      Date of stay: April 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Andy H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews