We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas 2016”
other travellers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jet66210
1 review
“Christmas 2016”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Our Christmas visit could not have been better, the cottage is a total delight with everything you could possibly need and was warm and cosy. We were made very welcome by Steve and Alison and particularly appreciated the basket of goodies they left for us and our dog was delighted with his share of goodies! The location of the cottage is very peacful with lovely walks minutes away and beautiful countryside all around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
How kind of you to post a review saying your Christmas could not have been better; we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your dog enjoyed his present as well. Perhaps you would have withheld it had you known he would roll in something unpleasant! (Sorry for all your sakes that we couldn't provide you with the means to clean him up closer than next door......)
If you are able to head out this way again you would all be more than welcome, the walks are even better in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0uiseguk
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in half term and absolutely loved it. Alison and Steve were the perfect hosts and have a brilliant cottage to stay in. It was immaculately presented, has everything anyone could need and even a wealth of information about the area is provided too. The cottage is gorgeous, the outside area ideal for the dogs and the grassy play area they loved. Our two dogs really liked the cottage too, especially the underfloor heating on their paws and the lovely walks around the area.

The area is lovely. Its quiet and tranquil yet everything you need is a short drive away.

We enjoyed 3 meals out, two at the Boat and one at the Sun and all 3 were lovely. Couldn't fault the pubs, the food, the service, the locations, nothing.

It was the perfect place to get away from it all and we will be returning next time we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Hi l0uiseguk, what a nice review, thank you, we are always happy when our guests are happy; it's funny how our human visitors like the pubs and the dogs the underfloor heating!

We are so pleased you liked the Coach House and of course the lovely area in which we are fortunate to live. The English/Welsh border is a great part of the world; I always feel it's a bit of a well kept secret - whatever you do don't tell anyone! Joking aside, it's great when we chat with our guests and they invariably say how lovely the surrounding countryside is and just how many different things there are to do here if they wanted to - at whatever time of they year.

Do come back and see us again sometime, it would be nice to see 'all four' of you again. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Recharging batteries is our speciality. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us GracieH67, and that Mum, Dad and Son also had a good time as well; the restorative power of a welsh cake should never be underestimated - especially if washed down with Herefordshire cider!
We look forward to welcoming you all back before too long. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jackie281
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely and well thought through cottage in the Herefordshire countryside”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a relaxing stay at Monty's coach house which was equipped with everything we could need and to an exceptionally high standard. Alison and Steve were on hand to give advice if needed and even provided some herbs for our dinner! The accommodation is lovely and the basket of local goodies was very welcome on arrival. Our 2 dogs enjoyed some good walks in the beautiful surrounding countryside and the cottage and secure garden areas were perfect for them. We were easily able to visit Hay-on Wye and enjoyed some delicious meals both there and at The Boat Inn just a short walk from the cottage. We certainly hope to visit again to explore further afield!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and facilities
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you very much jackie281 for taking the time to add a review after your recent stay. We are very pleased that you liked 'Monty's' and found everything to your liking - it was of course no problem supplying the herbs for you dinner, in fact it was a much easier request to fulfil than some we have been asked!
Do come back when you can; as you imply in your post, you have only had a brief taste of this great part of the world and there is so much more to see and do. Best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lfboardma...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband, our 3 dogs and I stay at Montgomerys Coach House for 5 days. When we arrived Steve and Alison were very welcoming and had left us (and the dogs) supplies to get us going. The walking close by is wonderful, pubs all very (dog) friendly and the cottage beautifully finished and very cosy. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
That's very kind of you Lfbroadman for saying that you highly recommend us - but better still as far as we are concerned that you all enjoyed your time here at Montgomery's Coach House.

I have to say it took us a bit of organising to get the sun to stay out for your entire five day visit, especially as it was early October! You certainly seemed to make the most of it getting around the great countryside we are luckily enough to live in. Thank you again for the review, please consider staying with us again the next time you are in need of a break. Kind regards to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess B
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy and Welcoming”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage was an amazing find. We booked it as we had a wedding at Whitney Court. Having arrived a day early by mistake, owners Alison and Steve were extremely accommodating and rushed to get the cottage ready for us to stay.

On arrival we knew that we were in for a treat. The cottage is finished to a very high standard with a lovely welcome pack of goodies to get us through the night and a little treat for breakfast.

The bedrooms are extremely comfortable with a DVD and Freeview TV in the rooms and hot water bottles which were an amazing cosy touch.

We were spoilt with the log burner in the living room which was set ready to light and was lovely after a busy day. The living room was furnished with plenty of seating, there was wifi access all through the cottage and DVDs should you want a cosy night by the fire.

The house was clean and tidy, and very well presented. The bathroom was furnished with fresh towels, soaps, shower caps etc.

It was easily accessible and has a nice local pub within walking distance that serves lovely home made meals, a farm shop in the village and a convenience store at the garage should you have forgotten anything.

Would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to have a quiet weekend break or even a weeks holiday, being close to Hay on Wye and Hereford there is plenty to do. The owners have truly thought of everything. A beautiful little cottage. Many thanks Steve and Alison

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Hi JessB, how kind of you to take the time to post such a great review and how honest to admit that you actually arrived a day earlier than you had booked! I am glad we were in a position to sort things out and let you in........

We are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. Many thanks for taking the time to submit a post on our behalf, and for letting any future guests know how you found us, and also for saying on your departure that you would recommend us to your family and friends; as that well known advert on the TV says "every little helps"! Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan1112
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coach House Proves Great Staging Post”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Me and my Partner arrived at the Coach House and received a warm welcome from Steve and his wife. Steve gave us a simple tour which covered the basics, leaving us to explore the property privately a little more. The house was modern and well equipped. On arrival there was also a small basket with local produce which covered basics such as bread, crisps and butter. There was also local Cider and Welsh Cakes which was a bonus. The kitchen was modern and all appliances worked well and were easy to use. The living room was cosy and had a brilliant TV and DVD player, we enjoyed many hours watching Happy Valley which was just one of the excellent new released films they had on offer. Both bedrooms were spacious with comfy beds and plenty of room to store clothes, they also had hair dryers and TVs. Adjacent to both bedrooms was the bathroom which was clean and again modern. Shampoo, soap and body lotion were also provided, there were plenty of towels for our stay. Best of all there was a medium sized decking area equipped with a BBQ, a reasonably sized table and a parasol. We found it was a great place to catch a few rays and have a glass of bubbly. Overall the cottage was cosy, clean and comfortable, situated in a perfect location for day trips to Hereford, canoeing down the River Wye and walking to the local pub for a meal.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
I'm a bit lost for words after reading such a full and comprehensive review! That was fantastic of you Megan1112 to go to such lengths to tell your fellow (potential) guests what you thought of Montgomery's Coach House, and its facilities, and how much you enjoyed your time with us. Better still was that you managed to sit out in the sun for a while on the deck - it hasn't been the best of summers this year......

Thank you for the lovely review and we hope you will consider staying with us again sometime. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing