We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 stars because 6 stars not available!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Louise B
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“5 stars because 6 stars not available! ”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

An outstanding cottage in a lovely location; quiet but lots to do.

Beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean and fresh with huge comfy beds and a brilliant shower. A welcome pack of provisions is supplied and there's a pub and little garage shop just a couple of minutes away. We also recommend the Nepalese/ Thai takeaway at the end of the road.

The cottage itself is very private and has great wifi, a decent size TV and so many extra touches such as a clothes airer, a night light for the landing and small sewing kit, not to mention a really well equipped kitchen and ample private parking.

The owners are really friendly and helpful and we had a restful and lovely holiday.

Just book!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
LadyChatterbox, great username and great review!
Very many thanks for taking the time to let others know just how much you enjoyed staying with us and some of the things any future guests can expect; that was kind of you. We work on the premise that if we can provide a few extra touches on top of the more obligatory 'bigger' stuff then our guests need only concentrate on enjoying themselves.....
If we did our bit to help the two of you have a 'restful and lovely' holiday then we are more than happy. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franleysh...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Superb' is how I would describe this property!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about this property is 'superb'. It met all our expectations and some we hadn't even thought of!! I endorse wholeheartedly other recent reviewers' comments regarding the quality of restoration, decoration, equipment and outdoor facilities. It is, as you said, a home-from-home, but with the tranquility and beauty of Herefordshire thrown in for good measure.
We loved our stay in Montgomery's Coach House and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
Thank you, Steve and Alison, for being so welcoming and for providing your guests with such a wonderful place to stay. We're looking forward to our next stay with you in November.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
How kind, franleyshon, for thinking us superb! We like to think we did our bit with what we offer to our guests in our coach house but Herefordshire and the lovely Welsh Borders certainly does the rest.
We look forward to seeing you both in November, we are sure you will be just as comfortable in our 'Agent's Office' Bed and Breakfast room.
Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilNicho...
Flitwick
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation.”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

There was nothing less than perfect regarding our stay here. The accommodation looks small from the outside but has been sympathetically renovated and has plenty of space inside. It is well furnished and everything you could want is provided ( including very large soft fluffy bath towels). The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could possibly want while self catering. The living area was very comfortable and there was plenty of room for four of us.
The owners were very welcoming but not obtrusive and the Welcome Pack on arrival was a real cornucopia with lots of goodies!
The situation was very quiet but with some facilities within easy walking distance - a pub, convenience store and garage - even a take away Nepalese!
All in all we had a great time staying here and would certainly recommend it to others particularly if you like books as it is only a few miles from Hay on Wye.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Nothing less than perfect is a great start to a review! Although we wouldn't claim that ourselves we do try to ensure that our guests want for nothing while staying with us. No one wants to be halfway through preparing something to eat to find the implement they need is not provided; or for that matter, nor would you like to dry yourself on stepping out of the shower on a skinny towel.......
Many thanks Phil, to you and yours, for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to just the two of you coming back for some 'quite' time on your own! Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adkaz
Puerto Del Carmen, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous coach house a real gem”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here for 4 days and loved it ,beautiful coach house decorated to a high standard and has everything you could need for your stay ,lovely welcome pack thank you ,very dog friendly with even a little garden for your dog to use .steve and Alison are lovely owners and can't help you enough with your stay ,cannot recommend this place enough and will return again definitely

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you adkaz for taking the trouble to post a review about your stay with us. It was nice to meet you all and we are, of course, more than happy that you not only enjoyed your relatively short time with us but that you intend to come back and see us again. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nannyappl...
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My friend and I have just spent a lovely five days at Steve and Alison's lovely cottage. Beautifully decorated , well equipped and very comfortable. The goody package was well received. The boat inn is excellent for eating out. Very large meals and no room for pudding! Also the sun inn at Winforton is excellent too. Would recommend to friends and family.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad that you found everything you needed and had a comfortable stay with us. We are indeed spoilt for places to eat in both our and neighbouring villages - the only way to manage a starter and a pudding at our local is to miss out the main course!
Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family, we hope to see you and them soon. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickPidgl...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab find”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were lucky to find a last minute availability at Montgomery coach house that allowed us to go to a family funeral.
On arrival we were greated by Steve how very happily showed us around his stunning coach house.
In the kitchen was a lovely welcome basket with a loaf of bread, crisps, cider and some dog biscuits.
The coach house is a absolute credit to Steve and his wife, they have done a stunning job of renovating it to how it is today and it shows how proud they are of it.
There is a lovely little garden that was perfect for our dog.
We had a lovely stay and we hope that we will be able to come back and explore some more of the area. It's a great location to head into Wales from.
We've already recommended here and friends have booked the b&b for September.
Keep up the good work and hopefully we will be back.
Book this while you have the chance you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
That was great of you to leave us such a positive review Nick, despite the sad occasion that brought you back to Herefordshire.
We are glad you enjoyed the small welcome basket but suspect the tea/coffee, milk and sugar were of more immediate use after your journey!
You are of course right to say we are delighted with the way the renovation of our old Coach House turned out and we are determined that it stays in tip-top condition for all of our future guests.
How nice that your friends have booked to stay with us in one of our B&B rooms, I assumed they checked out the separate Trip Advisor review page before booking? Even if they didn't we will be sure to make them both welcome and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne...
Northampton
2 reviews
“Excellent little gem”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Thank you Steve and Alison the Coach House was amazing. Had everything you could need for the perfect break and was immaculately kept. Near to some beautiful little villages and perfect for dogs Ideal for that quiet relaxing break. Will certainly be going back and taking my friends

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
It was our pleasure Marianne B. It was great to meet you and the hairy gang and we look forward to seeing you all again when you are next able to head this way. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.