We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to collapse after the long scenic...”
other travellers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bubba2111...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to collapse after the long scenic walks!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What a lovely place to chill out and relax in the beautiful countryside.....the river right on the doorstep and great walks in The Black Mountains...the cottage was very impressive and having looked through the photo book of the before and after a very nice place to stay.

There was under floor heating which Mulberry (our Lab) absolutely loved...she was laid back sunbathing on it!! Everything was well thought through and top notch..and thank you for the welcome pack...

We will be back....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Many thanks, Bubba21111963, for your lovely review. While it was great of you to take the trouble to say how much you enjoyed your short break with us I sometimes wish a few of our K9 guests would take the time to put paw to keyboard! I am sure that the underfloor heating would feature on any list of highlights of their stay......
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all again the next time you come down to Herefordshire. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki h
1 review
“Just gorgeous”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I can honestly not recommended montgomerys coach house enough. The house itself is incredibly well presented. It is so warm and comfortable. Everything you would require is there. We took our dogs and they had a fantastic break. The walks from the house are extensive and the nearby National Trusts also have fantastic walks. We had total privacy and at one point questioned If we had schnauzers as there was hardly a peep out of them.

Thank you Steve for a fantastic holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Many thank Nikki and Team! We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us over the New Year. I suspect that the reason your schnauzers hardly made a sound may have been directly related the number of lovely footpaths we have from the door and further afield - I know I always fancy a nap when I have been for a long walk! We very much hope you will all come back and stay another time. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia227...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 Night Break 27-30th Dec.”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Excellent holiday accomodation, home from home and absolutely Spotless! The owners provided a welcome pack which was a lovely touch even including treats for the doggie. The beds were amazing, extremely comfortably and the bath towels so soft. Everything was top quality,
the owners have obviously put a lot of thought into this old coach house conversion!

Thank you Steve and Alison you have a very lovely holiday home!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
It's a funny time of year, that gap between Christmas and New Year, but the three of you (and your little hairy friend) seemed to have filled it admirably; thank you for choosing to do so in our Coach House! And thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we hope to see you all back here before too long. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainewil...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

On arriving Alison and Steve gave us a really warm welcome. From then onwards things got better and better. I was totally amazed and happy with the cottage and everything was perfect. Everything there was first class and such good quality. Thank you for making my first time away at Christmas so enjoyable. Very highly recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a warm review. We are delighted that you enjoyed not only your stay with us but also your first Christmas away from home. It was nice to meet you all both two and four legged! Hopefully we will see you all again but please bring the sun with you next time. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaR170...
2 reviews
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 8 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Absolutely stunning barn conversion. The cottage is perfect in every single way. The conversion has been done amazingly, keeping its original features whilst also benefiting from all the comfort and gadgets of modern day living. It was so comfy and cosy over a chilly December weekend, we particularly loved the under floor heating throughout. We had a wonderful long weekend celebrating my husband's 40th Birthday. Whilst my husband enjoyed some winter fishing in the river Wye, my girls (5 and 3) and i enjoyed spending time in the delightful cottage and trips into Hay on Wye and the famous book shops and Shepherd's ice cream parlour (not to be missed!), and the brilliant Small Breeds Farm Park and Owl centre - only ten minutes away. Steve and Alison were absolutely wonderful throughout correspondence and on arrival and made us feel so welcome during our stay, whilst also leaving us to it, so it really felt like it was 'ours' for our stay! - if only! Thank you again for the amazing welcome basket and for Arron's Birthday card and the delicious cider! The cottage has absolutely everything anyone could need, Steve and Alison have thought of everything and it has been done to such a high standard throughout. Thank you again for a wonderful special holiday and we will certainly be back! My husband has decided to have a summer birthday as well, so see you in 6 months if not before!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2017
Very many thanks Fiona, we are delighted that the four of you throughly enjoyed your 'chilly December' weekend with us - the underfloor heating is great at keeping our guests cosy and warm.
Bookshops, farm visit, fishing on the Wye and the famous Shepherd's ice-cream - you seem to have covered all the bases!
What a great idea for Arron to have a summer birthday in addition to his December date; the Queen does exactly that with her 'official' birthday in June so it can only be a matter of time before she and the Duke book in for a long weekend........ Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Totally wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wonderful, superb, excellent, there aren't enough words to describe how lovely this place is!!! Cosy, modern yet traditional Montgomery's Coach House is everything you could want!! Beautifully renovated to a very high standard, the bedrooms especially impress, super king size beds that are so comfortable you'll never want to get up! Underfloor heating, crisp white bedding, TVs in each room, comfortable lounge with log burner, totally enclosed driveway and garden for the dogs, this accommodation could not be more perfect. Highly, highly recommend. The Boat Inn literally a minutes walk away where you can get the most amazing food for reasonable prices! We loved this property and can't wait to return. Thank you Steve and Alison for a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Wow Helen D, it looks like you enjoyed staying in our Coach House! Very many thanks for your kind words and recommendation to future guests to book with us. We are fortunate indeed to have the space in the bedrooms for super king size beds and full size wardrobes and chest of draws - far better than having to unpack onto a chair or hang everything on the back of the door like some places we have stayed at!
As we only have the Brecon Beacon National Park between us, and you are about an hour away, please do pop up and stay with us again when you can. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Short and sweet and all the things we like to hear! Very many thanks, we hope to see you back next time you feel like a cheeky one.........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing