We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome in a beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burnhead Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 16 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
1 review
“A warm welcome in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Myself and 2 friends stayed at Burnhead as a overnight stop during an Ultra Marathon event and are so glad we did, nothing was too much trouble. David picked us all up from the midway point, even going back a couple of hours later for our third team member as she was finishing later. The rooms where warm, clean and comfortable with everything you could need, including home made cakes. We had a lovely meal at the local pub and a very restful nights sleep and as we needed to be out again for 8am to start the second day, David and Christine where still happy to get up early and make sure we had a full breakfast before driving us back to the midway point. Couldn't recommend this place enough, the location is truly stunning, hope to return one day when we have more time to explore

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We enjoyed a weekend at Burnhead . On arrival, David and Christine there to welcome us and even helped with our luggage. Welcomed with cake and a most welcome "brew". Slept very well, beautiful room, warm with en-suite bathroom, every amenity you could wish for. Awoke feeling very refreshed, stoked up on a hearty homecooked breakfast....If you've never had "Billy Bell's" sausages, you've never lived. Set off on a good circular walk to Walltown in the face of a howling wind. But the knowledge of the return to a warm room and a hot shower more than made up for it. A pleasant evening in the Milecastle Inn and another undisturbed and restful sleep. An excellent breakfast again and packed and ready to return home, having had a splendid mini break. I would have no hesitation in recommending Burnhead to anyone, nothing is too much trouble and it is a home from home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

A lovely B&B, right on Hadrians Wall, with friendly and accommodating hosts. Good value for money. We have been using this B&B as a base for walking sections of the wall on and off for around 6 years and we have always been very made very welcome. A lovely part of the country to visit - there's something for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We booked into this B&B having checked the location, which looked perfect for our Hadrian's Wall Walk. We had walked 28km that day, so were tired and looking forward to a hot bath and rest. We were shown to our room having been rather ticked off about our arrival time (early evening). The room was quite small and not very comfortable, with a tiny bathroom. In the morning the land lady shouted at us several times to leave, which was unnecessary and rude. It was blowing a gale and absolutely lashing with rain as we stepped out onto the path and it would have been nice if the landlady had offered us shelter for a few minutes while the storm passed instead of tutting loudly as we shut the door!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nandi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCOLNSHIRE, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We actually received a lovely welcome however it soon became evident that if we had been any later we would have been an inconvenience for the owners as they were 'meeting friends for drinks at the local pub'.

I didnt have a very good sleep as i was cold., the duvets were very thin.

The next morning the breakfast was average but then at 1005 we had already been told twice to vacate our rooms as they had made arrangements to go walking for the day.

When the baggage transfer company arrived we were shouted 'not to keep him waiting as well'.. I have to add at this point that we had not been given a check out time, if it had been in the booklet, then i apologise as i was too tired to read it.

As we went to pay we were told that they dont take cards.. The owner then drove my partner into Haltwhistle (like a naughty boy) for him to get cash as i sat, very uncomfortably, in the porch as she hurriedly tidied the bedrooms. Who doesnt take debit cards these days..had we been informed of this when we booked, we would have made sure we had enough cash to pay.

There was another couple staying and were hurried out in the same way... and i thought it was extremely rude that the owner 'tutted' when they left.

Providing you turn up and leave when it suits the owners then im sure you will have a pleasant stay but I wont be going back. In fact i would go as far as to say i was quite disgusted at how we and the other couple were treated.

I wish we had stayed in our tent that night!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZOE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Friendly and welcoming. Lovely location right on Hadrian's Wall

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed here for one night whilst walking Hadrian's wall. It is located on the wall so perfect - you don't waste anytime walking back to the wall. We were given a very warm welcome - cake and tea included! The room - a twin was adequate, although not spacious. The bathroom was very clean but again small. The bathroom didn't have a radiator, so was a little bit cold. The room was really warm though. The B and B is a short walk away from the Milecastle Inn - great food. Breakfast was good - plenty of cereal choice. I would definately stay here if you are planning a walk along the wall.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
7.8 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
12.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
6.3 mi away
Old Repeater Station
Old Repeater Station
#3 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#4 of 9 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnhead Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnhead Bed and Breakfast

Property: Burnhead Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cawfields | Northumberland National Park, Haltwhistle NE49 9PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Burnhead Bed And Breakfast Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing