We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
48
5
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
5
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm dogs swimming pool games room the cottages hidden gem family holiday friendly holiday susan and andrew love dogs three children cosy cottage fridge freezer open fire definitely worth a visit water pressure washing machine home made cakes
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in both Hope Sike & Acorn. Each time it was a great place to unwind (esp. in front of the log fire).

It's Dog friendly and supplied with everything u need esp now many supermarkets deliver.

This is a great farm cottage with acres of fresh air

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EvilEvilBeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I would like to express our thanks for such a lovely time at Scotch Coulthard. we were slightly apprehensive as to whether the accommodation would be clean, as it was a 'Dog friendly place'.We were so pleased to see lovely clean cosy cottages, (no doggy smells) fires lit and homemade cakes to welcome us! Both of the cottages were so well equipped with every possible need fulfilled - even fresh ground coffee and extra candles for cosy evenings! Our dogs loved it, lots of new pals to run round with in such a safe environment.
We would not hesitate to recommend it to all our country loving friends. Loving forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is the 3rd time we have been, the location is remote however scenic, a long walk to the nearest pub, however there are lots of local walks and Hadrians wall is not that far away. Will be back next year

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kennyshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We found this place by chance using our mobile for a pet friendly place to stay for one night.
We arrived on a monday and the place was so very welcoming and friendly that we decided to stay another night which turned into a week. While typing this we have arranged to stay on for another week.
Our german shepherd loved this place as much as we did. The owners dogs come on walks with us daily, they come in the cottage (if you dont mind them to) and sit with us while watching telly.
The owners are so very friendly and will do anything to make you happy.
The grounds and surrondings are breath taking and beautiful.
The town its self has everything you could possibly need and only a 15min drive.
Cottages are cosy and traditional with no complaints.
All in all i simply can not put down in enough words of how amazing this place is and if you want to get away from it all then this is it.
Carters from south shields but feeling a blissful million miles away

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic five days at scotchcoulthard and what a place a must see for everyone, far from hussle and bustle and just what the doctor ordered if your looking for some time to relax and recuperate with the open fire. Towns as local as Hexham and haltwhistle within driving distance for the essentials and a days shopping. Would highly recommend a visit we will surely be back. Forget calling the Samaritans get yourself a week here.

Colin and Kathleen Lawson

Date of stay: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colinlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews