We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
48
5
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
5
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm dogs swimming pool games room the cottages family holiday friendly holiday susan and andrew love dogs three children cosy cottage jack russell fridge freezer open fire definitely worth a visit water pressure washing machine home made cakes
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was now our 3rd visit to this wonderful retreat in the middle of nowhere.

If you want a quiet place to get away from it all, Provide you with excellent accomodation, plenty of fresh air, and a good base from which to explore the delights of Northumberland then this is the place for you.

All the cottages are clean, tidy and well equiped, and have lots of little touches that make it feel just like home. Well equiped kitchen, ensuite bathroom, and a big open fire are just a few things that keep us coming back. Being dog owners these cottages are perfect and the dogs just love running around in the open spaces and mixing with the owners dogs who always end up in our cottage joining us for breakfast.

Best of all the owners Susan and Andrew care and listen, nothing is too much trouble.

Top Tip: dont mess around get ASDA to deliver the weeks shopping, they will deliver your online order, direct to the cottage, at the time of your choice - saves a lot of messing around

Highly recomended, you wont be dissappointed.

Room tip: we prefer hawthorne cottage but the decision is yours. beamed ceilings, big open fire, patio at the back, big kitchen and good bedrooms
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JULIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My boyfriend had booked this as a surprise present for my 21st which was in December but as our dog was still just a puppy he had booked it for May when the weather was due to pick up. He did not disappoint me!!

Scotchcoulthard is in the middle of 178 acres of sheer blissful nothingness!! Just what you need when you are both busy at work back to back. I am honestly quite shocked that there are any bad reviews on this place. We stayed in Acorn cottage which was a lovely small 1 bedroom with wood beams , stove fire and a cute little kitchen space.

We were immediately greeted by their super friendly doggies who were more than happy to welcome themselves into our cottage to give our pup a bit of company. We had a nice little chat with the owners who also pre warned us about a House Martin nest above our bedroom window which was amazing to watch in the mornings when they were feeding the young. Our dog felt right at home running around on the vast amount of land. The cottage was clean and ready for us to turn into our home away from home , we had very comfortable nights sleep every night enjoying the Dark Skies above.

I had such fun in the pool- yes a little maintanance would make it 1000 times better but to say we could pretty much have it to ourselves most days - i wasnt turning my nose up. We were aware beforehand the games room was going through referbishment so were not dettered by some of the bare woodwork. It was lovely playing pool and table tennis towards the end of the week when the weather deteriorated.

I will advise that if you dont love dogs as much as i do this may not be for you, if you are expecting pristine cottages with modern features then you are looking for the wrong type of holiday. I loved having no phone signal in the cottage (with access to good WiFi if needed) walking the dog down the stream and waking up early to see the pigs and horse were parts of this holiday we loved. I thought that both the owners and their whole family were very kind with us and gave us lots of tips as to where is best to go and when.

We spent the last two days of the holiday in the cottage during the day because the weather was pretty miserable and we had done four days of hiking prior.. it was so perfect just to snuggle in front of our big stove fire and enjoy peace and quiet.

I can not recommend this place highly enough for its fantastic location, room and friendly service.Will definitely be returning.

Room tip: Acorn is a fantastic Couples retreat as its nice and cosy with romantic features. I would not recommend this holiday to any non dog lover or anyone with kids who will want to be on their phone 90% of the holiday. If you are a nature/animal lover like us then you will love this place!
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherbetpips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just returned from our first trip to Scotchcoulthard and it will be one of many. We found our little piece of heaven. So much land to wander around, walks in the forests, streams to play in. The dogs loved every minute and so did we. Andrew and Susan are very helpful but do not intrude on your stay. The cottages have everything you could need for a week away and are cosy and clean. It is wonderful to not be charged extra to take dogs and there are no limits to how many you can take! No added costs, supermarket deliveries to the front door, functional swimming pool, games room, lots of books, lovely friendly farm dogs, pigs, hens and Turner the horse all set in the outstanding beautiful countryside made for an absolutely fantastic holiday. We were all very sad to leave but will be back!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bessieboo2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in both Hope Sike & Acorn. Each time it was a great place to unwind (esp. in front of the log fire).

It's Dog friendly and supplied with everything u need esp now many supermarkets deliver.

This is a great farm cottage with acres of fresh air

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EvilEvilBeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I would like to express our thanks for such a lovely time at Scotch Coulthard. we were slightly apprehensive as to whether the accommodation would be clean, as it was a 'Dog friendly place'.We were so pleased to see lovely clean cosy cottages, (no doggy smells) fires lit and homemade cakes to welcome us! Both of the cottages were so well equipped with every possible need fulfilled - even fresh ground coffee and extra candles for cosy evenings! Our dogs loved it, lots of new pals to run round with in such a safe environment.
We would not hesitate to recommend it to all our country loving friends. Loving forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews