We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
48
5
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
5
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm dogs swimming pool games room the cottages hidden gem family holiday friendly holiday susan and andrew love dogs three children cosy cottage fridge freezer open fire definitely worth a visit water pressure washing machine home made cakes
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We have recently stayed at scotchcoulthard and wanted to say it is a great dog friendly place. We have 3 dogs and there is no problem about how many dogs you take as long as they are well behaved. I am a bit fussy in my own home even though I have dogs myself and the cottages are lovely and clean and very well equipped. Had such a good time we are going at new year.
It's great to find a place that loves dogs that is clean well equipped and in a stunning location.i can highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Metric111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2016

We are pleased you and your dogs enjoyed your holiday and look forward to seeing you again at New Year.
Andy and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

This was perfect for our dog and the kids. Before we even parked the car we had an extra dog in the car. We generally had 4 dogs in our little cottage even tho we only took 1. Sadie, Heidi and Meg made us so welcome (as did Andrew & Susan) The cottage is in the middle of nowhere. It was spotlessly clean and really well kitted out. Fantastic walking country. Super dog friendly. It was lovely to stay somewhere and feel 100% comfortable with our dog. The owners were as welcoming to our dog as they were to us. We didn't panic if we had a soggy, muddy dog which in comparison to a lot of places made a really welcome change. Lovely holiday

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dinkie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2016

It was lovely to meet you all and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. However our dogs are not pleased you left!
Andy and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Second time back and i missed the place once i left to return home.

The owners are lovely people and will help you out with anything.

The cottages are simply perfect and need for nothing. I love the daily coal and wood collecting for the fire.

Heidi and sadie are sweet dogs and i loved having them in the cottage with my son and our dog.

Morning view are glorious

Situation bliss and peaceful allowing you to feel a million miles away from daily life.

A games room and seasonal swimming pool attached to entertain everyone.

Thank you again Andrew and Susan and i will be returning.

Leigh Mckay , my son and our dog Heidi x

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2016

Hello Leigh
Thank you for your review.
Andy and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

This is a hidden gem and when I say hidden, I mean hidden. Do not follow satnav's as they may lead you elsewhere. It took us a long time after taking many wrong turns to find the place, we even began to wonder if the place did actually exist!. Once we did find the place, the private road down to the farm was a very bumpy and cringeworthy track, as our car is quite low based, it was not a comfortable drive. Taking the drive very slowly was the way to go. We did witness in the days we were there, others in a little corsa and others that managed the drive quickly back and forth through the day, however we still chose to take it slow. Many, many potholes, but we did notice that on some days, that hardcore had been added to help, which was appreciated. A 4x4 vehicle would be advised but not necessary if you take is easy. The road/track down to the cottages is the only down side and the only reason why I haven't marked the overall rating as Excellent.
We stayed at Hope Syke cottage. We were greeted by Andrew and several friendly dogs who were eager to meet our two dogs.
Dogs are free to explore completely, which was just perfect for our two dogs. They loved the freedom and enjoyed the daily meet ups with the residential dogs, who often came into our cottage in the mornings and evenings to say hello. When were were packing up the car to leave, one of our dogs, ran back down to the cottage and tried to hide, she really loved it and really didn't want to leave. Both our dogs were rescues at one time and the stay here we saw their confidence grow in leaps and bounds.
The cottage was homely and very cosy and just perfect for our needs. There was a cake left waiting for us on our arrival which was a lovely touch by the owners. We arranged for our weekly shopping to be delivered by Tesco, which I might add we were really surprised that they delivered so far out!
My hub got to make fire every evening, which was entertaining in itself :) All wood and materials for the fire were stacked in the cottage and for more, twas just a short walk up the path for more.
On evenings when venturing outside the cottages, you may wish to watch where you step as the ground was covered in frogs and toads of all sizes, this did entertain us, as our two dogs were completely baffled by them :)
The place is totally off grid, no internet, wifi or mobile phone connection which was complete bliss! There is an indoor swimming pool and a games room with darts and a snooker table.
The nights are very quiet and the sunsets are just beautiful! With no light pollution, the stars just fill the sky above, just stunning.
If you want a place to completely get away from the rat trap and re-vitalise your mind and want to give your dogs a real treat of a holiday, this is the place for you!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Majorboots2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2016

Thank you for your review. The drive can be bad during the winter because of the weather but the pot holes do get filled up periodically throughout the year! The corsa will be our 19 year old son's who had a theory if you drove fast through the potholes you didn't feel them!
Andy and Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Spent the new year (30th Dec - 2nd Jan) at the cottages (The Byre) and had a lovely time. The location and surroundings were fantastic with great views and plenty of places to visit and explore nearby. The cottage itself was awesome big enough for 4 of us as well as being very clean. We also had the use of the games room and swimming pool. The owners were most welcoming and very helpful, I would definitely recommend the cottages as a place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank gthirkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews