We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay with fantastic hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broomshaw Hill Farm
Ranked #6 of 16 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Level Contributor
336 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay with fantastic hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Oh how we loved it here! An oasis of calm and tranquility, with every comfort to hand. The welcome was superb with tea and delicious home made cakes. The bedroom was great, we opted for the twin, and the beds were very big and superbly comfy, with good linens. All spotlessly clean. We slept very well as it is so peaceful. The fact that the house is at the end of the lane means it is very quiet. Breakfasts were delicious, and the help and attention that Martin and Anne give is superb, even printing out an extremely helpful tide table for us for Holy Island which was our next destination. They have loads of walks and local information available. To walk to the town for our supper, down the lane next to the stream, with the birds singing in the lovely evening light was a highlight of our trip. This really is a special place to stay and I really can't recommend it highly enough. It is so close to Hadrians wall and is just a perfect B & B.

Room Tip: We loved the twin room with its big beds but I am sure any of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was my third stay at Broomshaw Hill Farm since it reopened last year with Anne and Martin as hosts. You have to know how to find it, leaving Haltwhistle and winding up Wilia Road alongside the river on one side and hills with sheep and lambs on the other.
The welcome by the hosts and offer of assistance followed by a hot drink and home made brownie were really welcome on this snowy, cold March day.
The room I stay in is the Red room with a window facing the drive and views up the burn towards Hadrians Wall. It has all the usual technology and kettle with a jug of fresh milk to make further hot drinks. Evening meals have been taken at a local hostelry which is a 15 minute walk up the side of the burn.The fayre and local beers there are well served and good value.
Waking up to a covering of snow and a journey to the Lakes panicked me a little but both Anne and Martin were up and a splendid breakfast freshly prepared with locally sourced food and home made bread being served up was an excellent start. Anne's news of a red squirrel visiting the bird table outside the front of the house is just another good reason for me to revisit. I shall wake earlier next time hoping to see this creature.
A very good price for what is provided and anyone passing-by Haltwhistle thinking of rest and relaxation in the countryside should try Broomshaw Hill Farm.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Whilst Broomshaw Hill Farms was on a small road out from the town, we had a wonderful time. The hosts were very helpful regarding where to eat in Haltwhistle, maps for walking, day trips in the area, the weather and conditions of the roads and most importantly, the history of the area. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfy with a large en suite in each. There was never a shortage of a cup of tea and the breakfast was enormous and catered to your wants and needs. We were only disappointed that we couldn't stay longer and explore more around the farm. We could easily walk from the farm to the Roman ruins of Hadrian's wall along a creek and through the moors. There was still snow but we enjoyed the cold, as our hosts always warmed us up with a hot cuppa when we returned. We would highly recommend staying here to those wanting to escape the hustle of the cities and for a relaxing time of sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbounreturps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We had a lovely stay at Broomshaw. The breakfast was very generous and really tasty with lots of choice. The owners were really welcoming and knew lots about the area. Especially liked the offer of a hot drink and homemade cake when we got there. Martin picked us up from the train station which was great. We will be coming again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenS497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
8.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 16 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 16 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#5 of 16 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#4 of 9 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomshaw Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomshaw Hill Farm

Property: Broomshaw Hill Farm
Address: Broomshaw Hill Farm Wilia Road, Haltwhistle NE49 9NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Hotel Class:4 star — Broomshaw Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can be confident that a warm welcome awaits you at Broomshaw Hill Farm bed and breakfast, Northumberland. At our lovely, partly original 18th century, farmhouse we aim to provide luxury and an extremely comfortable and peaceful night's sleep in our 4 star, silver award en suite accommodation. Delicious breakfasts are locally sourced and on arrival homemade cakes and biscuits will await you. Nestled alongside the tumbling Haltwhistle Burn we provide a secluded location that is moments from the National Trail, historic Haltwhistle, acclaimed as the Centre of Britain, the National Cycle route and the iconic World Heritage site of Hadrian's Roman Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broomshaw Hill Farm Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing