We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashcroft Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashcroft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 15 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

I have stayed in many hotels and Guest houses all over the world both for pleasure and Business and I have to admit the Ashcroft Guest is one of the best I have ever stayed in for many reasons

1)Geoff & Christine were the perfect hosts polite helpful kind
2)The location is fantastic for walking cycling or just inbetween the A1 and M6
3)The price and quality of rooms is by far better that Hotels charging £90/night
4)Large rooms overlooking their fantastic gardens(which only yesterday won TOP gold awards from Northumbria in Bloom)
5)In short if you are anywhere near Haltwhistle and need a "gem" of a place to stay in this is the place..

  • Liked — The hsitory and flavour of the Guest house and the area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry_Jenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
115
242
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

We stayed for 2 nights recently at Ashcroft. The Centre of Britain hotel was full so they recommend us to try there. It was a good thing that we did. The house is absolutely beautiful with a lovely garden. It s the best B&B we have stayed in the UK. The hosts are very friendly. We stayed in the four poster bed suite. There is a little balcony and the children stay in a separate room within the suite which is neat. Everything is immaculatly clean. The bathroom is hugh with plenty of fluffy towels. I would strongly recommend it. The rooms look much nicer than the photoes suggest in their webiste. .

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Plasticbattleaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

This may be the best B&B in England! The owners have lovingly thought of everything from convenient shelves and hooks in the bathroom to bottomless OJ on the absolutely delicious breakfast buffet.

In addition, this was the only B&B where someone carried my bag upstairs. The only B&B where a request for a bottle opener was met with an immediate, friendly response, the only B&B with a gorgeous garden.

Honestly, Ashcroft Guest House is perfection. Beauty, care and efficiency. The house and room were gorgeous. We had a huge room with a lovely view and an impressively large wall-hung TV. To top it off the owners are very friendly and helpful with driving directions and restaurant recommendations.

The place to stay, imo, for touring the Hadrian's Wall area.

  • Liked — Lovely Owners; Beautiful Room
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spookysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2007

This place is perhaps the finest example of a family-run b&b. The owners were friendly, the place was lovely, and the grounds were simply gorgeous and the flowers were going off. Also need to mention that our room was wonderful and the bed very comfortable! Thanks so much for making our Haltwhistle/Hadrian's Wall visit so awesome!!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nugemolaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

Best B+B room we've stayed in, great bathroom. Good breakfast, only downside was lack of things to do in evening in Haltwhistle (we stayed mon/tues)

  • Liked — Room, breakfast
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UkTallpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, England, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

This is an extremely stylish and well run guest house - the owners are very good at what they do. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

The room (room 6) was very clean, comfortable and equipped with a large flat screen TV. We didn't hear any other guests which was another bonus as it was quite busy both nights we were there.

Breakfast was varied and very tasty.

The garden was magnificent - a real credit to the owners.

There are plenty of good pubs/eateries in Haltwhistle all within walking distance.

We'd make no hesitation in staying here again, it would always be our first choice if we came back to Haltwhistle or Hadrian's Wall.

  • Liked — The owners are really friendly and down to earth. Stylish surroundings.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything negative at all!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandStuEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myfakename
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

The room was gorgeous - they put us in the family suite for the same rate as the double. Big tub, fluffy robes, four poster, big flat panel tv, wifi, spacious room. Breakfast was delicious - fresh ingredients, cooked to order. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank myfakename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
7.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
3.5 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#6 of 15 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#2 of 9 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
9.8 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#4 of 15 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashcroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft Guest House

Property: Ashcroft Guest House
Address: Ashcroft, Haltwhistle NE49 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashcroft Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Ashcroft Guest House Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing