We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashcroft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my second visit to Ashcroft House and another fine experience it was. We were treated to a an immaculate room, superb breakfast and excellent service. This was topped off with caring and genuine support when one of our group had to have her motorcycle recovered. thanks Ashcroft for your help and top notch B and B. we will be back again soon

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikerbevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Third visit. Accommodation was as excellent as on previous visits. Geoff & Christine were as ever wonderful hosts. Delicious breakfasts. Easy access to Hadrians Wall and good walking of the wall from Haltwhistle.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DerbyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Premise: we usually do not write reviews, but in this case...
My wife and I had been planning to visit Hadrian' Wall for a long time. We finally found the time and -- as the two academics we both are -- we did a full research on places, distances, places to visit, restaurants, etc. In the end, we choose to book 3 nights at the Ashcroft. It was the perfect choice. The hotel is beautiful, very comfortable, very clean, and the breakfast is really good. The B&B is ideally located to visit the wall and the surrounding museums, and the owners are friendly and helpful. We had a great time, and would recommend it strongly.
PS You may find a bad review on this website. We asked the owners and the story they told us was appalling. A young couple basically trashed the room and "forgot" to pay when asked for the reimbursement. Having met the owners and seen the place we have no doubts this is what happen. They said they did not wish to ask tripadvisor to remove the review to provide full transparency.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a fabulous property with fabulous hosts. We were cycling coast to coast and they have a huge garage for the bikes. Everything in the rooms was top class and the breakfast was superb. Will definitely stay again if I am in the area and would recommend without hesitation. Didn't really get a chance to make use of the gardens but they were immaculate. We had a balcony outside our room and sat on there in the early evening sunshine with a bottle of cava and it was idyllic - we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Haltwhistle is an ideal base for touring Northumberland and the surrounding area, and you won't find a better B&B than Ashcroft. The gardens look great in any season and are perfect for sitting out in the evening, and all the rooms (I've tried 5 so far) are comfortable and well equipped at the very least. Breakfast never fails to disappoint, from the handmade yogurts to the wide selection of cooked options (including the huge Full English!) - I'm already thinking of an excuse to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We've just returned from a 4 night stay in the self-contained apartment attached to the beautifully renovated old house, and can honestly say that it was perfect for our needs. The apartment was clean, fresh and cosy, with cooking and dining facilities, and each of the 2 bedrooms had its own ensuite shower room. The rooms were made up for us every day, and we were treated to a copious and leisurely breakfast in the lovely dining-room of the main house with views of the beautiful garden and the valley beyond. Christine and Geoff and their staff were very welcoming and helpful, and were happy to spend time chatting with us and giving advice about the area. Haltwhistle ("The Centre of Britain"!) has various shops and eating-out options within easy walking distance of the Ashcroft, and is ideally placed for exploring Hadrian's Wall, the beautiful Northumberland countryside, and the northern Lake District. The town is also on the direct railway line between Carlisle and Newcastle, where we had an interesting day out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a fabulous place to stay when wanting to see Hadrians wall. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment at the back of the main building. Very spacious with a kitchen and lounge. We were able to put the heating on here, so all nice and cosy. I found the decor quaint and homely which really suited the surroundings. Room looking over the country fields, beautifully quiet, had the best sleep. Beautiful grounds. There is a laundromat in the town which is just a 5 minute walk around the corner. Highly recommend the Black Bull hotel where we had the best sausages we've ever eaten. Breakfast at the Ashcroft is excellent. A beautiful dining room. Hugh selection including porridge, potato scone, black pudding and kippers plus what you would normally expect eggs, bacon etc. Owners friendly and helpful. Roman Army museum close by which was truely memorable as well as Housteads. See all the wall sites if you can. Really left a lasting impression. Highly recommend Ashcroft, would love to go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedPanda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
7.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,178 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#14 of 14 in Haltwhistle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#6 of 14 in Haltwhistle
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 14 in Haltwhistle
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 14 in Haltwhistle
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashcroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft Guest House

Address: Lantys Lonnen, Haltwhistle NE49 0DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range: £82 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashcroft Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Victorian former Vicarage set in four acres of land. 5 Star & Gold Award status from Visit England. Free WiFi. Extensive gardens with seating & picnic tables. Private, off street parking within grounds. Secure undercover cycle storage. Large bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, with high ceilings and wonderful Visitors Lounge & Dining Room looking out over the river South Tyne Valley to the fells. Fabulous Breakfasts with a large choice of fresh, local ingredients wherever possible. Most diets catered for. Apartments also available with private lounges and kitchens for a minimum of 2 nights.. Including a new Ground Floor Apartment, Within 100 metres of the Main Street with Pubs, Restaurants, shops etc. Bus stops and Train Station all within a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ashcroft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashcroft Guest House Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing