We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-Rate Stay at Hadrian's Wall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashcroft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 16 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“First-Rate Stay at Hadrian's Wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

In May 2014 my wife and I only spent one night at Ashcroft, as a stop-over to see Hadrian's Wall. We could easily have stayed longer, both at Hadrian's Wall and at Ashcroft. Very welcoming and helpful host and hostess, excellent breakfast, elegant (and spacious) room. Like Judith R, we also ate dinner at the Black Bull. In short, we recommend both Ashcroft and the Black Bull.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
116
244
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pike Road, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife, daughter and I spent five nights in the two bedroom apartment at the Ashcroft Guest House in Haltwhistle, England in late May 2014. Not only were the accommodations the most comfortable of any place we have stayed in the UK, the overall grounds and pleasantness of the owners could not have been better. The place is immaculate and the people - Geoff and Christine - are outstanding, nice folks. The location is just right for hiking along Hadrian's Wall or other local pathways, and close to shopping and banking in town if that is needed.

When we return to this part of England we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have teenagers needing privacy - book the two bedroom apartment - you cannot beat it! Or - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The house was in a lovely setting and very quiet. The room was huge, tastefully decorated with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Breakfast gave a wide choice and the owners were very helpful about the local area. I would also highly recommend the food at the Black Bull for dinner which is a short walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent three nights here recently. The rooms were very nice but the gardens and grounds were spectacular. The hosts were lovely and made us feel right at home. The best part may have been the breakfasts, which were out of this world. A lovely spot and a great base for our walk along Hadrian's Wall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ashcroft Guest House in late May 2014. In all our 30-day travels about Britain, Ashcroft Guest House might be the most pleasant place we stayed. This is due in very large part to the efforts of the hosts, Geoff and Christine, who maintain a beautiful home, guest rooms, and extensive garden. They serve a delicious breakfast and provide comfortable rooms with lovely appointments. Both hosts have the knack for making each guest feel as though s/he is their only care. The pictures you see on their web site, on Trip Advisor, on Rick Steves do not lie. If anything, pictures fall short of conveying the true beauty and freshness of the Guest House and Haltwhistle area. The views of the surrounding hills are sublime. Local pubs around the corner serve very good food in a fun atmosphere. The Main Street is lovely with many small shops. Sainsbury's is nearby. Haltwhistle and Ashcroft Guest House are very much worth a trip north for serenity, history, comfort, tranquility. It is hard to conceive that you could be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DocentDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bapchild, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Ashcroft House with friends last weekend and had a fantastic time. We were treated to immaculate rooms and a great breakfast by fabulous hosts Geoff and Christine. Ashcroft is the ideal place to base yourselves at whilst visiting Hadrian's Wall and the surrounding area. We had a great time and would recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Ashcroft House after visiting Hadrian's Wall. The house itself is splendid. Our room was lovely, spacious and beautifully furnished. The ensuite bathroom was large and modern. Our hosts, Geoff and Christine, and their staff were warm and welcoming. The attention to detail was very apparent. Breakfast was delicious.

Geoff is an award winning gardener and his gardens are gorgeous beyond description. We thoroughly enjoyed walking around in them and taking pictures, even though our photos don't begin to do it justice.

On our 3 1/2 week trip to the UK, we stayed in many lovely hotels and B&B's. This was one of our favorites and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
7.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 16 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 16 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
3.5 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#5 of 16 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashcroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft Guest House

Property: Ashcroft Guest House
Address: Lantys Lonnen, Haltwhistle NE49 0DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashcroft Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Victorian former Vicarage set in four acres of land. 5 Star & Gold Award status from Visit England. Free WiFi. Extensive gardens with seating & picnic tables. Private, off street parking within grounds. Secure undercover cycle storage. Large bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, with high ceilings and wonderful Visitors Lounge & Dining Room looking out over the river South Tyne Valley to the fells. Fabulous Breakfasts with a large choice of fresh, local ingredients wherever possible. Most diets catered for. Apartments also available with private lounges and kitchens for a minimum of 2 nights.. Including a new Ground Floor Apartment, Within 100 metres of the Main Street with Pubs, Restaurants, shops etc. Bus stops and Train Station all within a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashcroft Guest House Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing