We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashcroft Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walwick Hall(Humshaugh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
551
14
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
14
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeoff christinehadrian's wallb bbeautiful gardenfamily suitebreakfast was deliciousblack bullperfect hostshomemade yogurtlocal knowledgetrain stationfriendly hostsour room was spacioustwo nightsowners and staffstayed longerkippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Really enjoyed our weekend stay at Ashcrofts - excellent in every respect. Great location and base from which to explore what is without doubt the best portion of Hadrian's Wall and, of course, the World Heritage site, Vindolanda, which is only a few minutes away - a must see for all visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

In May 2014 my wife and I only spent one night at Ashcroft, as a stop-over to see Hadrian's Wall. We could easily have stayed longer, both at Hadrian's Wall and at Ashcroft. Very welcoming and helpful host and hostess, excellent breakfast, elegant (and spacious) room. Like Judith R, we also ate dinner at the Black Bull. In short, we recommend both Ashcroft and the Black Bull.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife, daughter and I spent five nights in the two bedroom apartment at the Ashcroft Guest House in Haltwhistle, England in late May 2014. Not only were the accommodations the most comfortable of any place we have stayed in the UK, the overall grounds and pleasantness of the owners could not have been better. The place is immaculate and the people - Geoff and Christine - are outstanding, nice folks. The location is just right for hiking along Hadrian's Wall or other local pathways, and close to shopping and banking in town if that is needed.

When we return to this part of England we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have teenagers needing privacy - book the two bedroom apartment - you cannot beat it! Or - if you just want a terrific place and great experience - book any of their rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The house was in a lovely setting and very quiet. The room was huge, tastefully decorated with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Breakfast gave a wide choice and the owners were very helpful about the local area. I would also highly recommend the food at the Black Bull for dinner which is a short walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent three nights here recently. The rooms were very nice but the gardens and grounds were spectacular. The hosts were lovely and made us feel right at home. The best part may have been the breakfasts, which were out of this world. A lovely spot and a great base for our walk along Hadrian's Wall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews