We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend”
Review of Grey Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grey Bull Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

1st class B&B, and Kristen was a fabulous hostess. Smashing rooms.....great breakfast....what more can a person ask for. Highly recommended to singles, couples and families.
We were there for a break away for my 40th birthday, and our hostess even started the break off with a lovely surprise....a cake.
Would not hesitate to go back here any day.

Room Tip: Room 2....excellent!! Warned about traffic noise, but heard nothing at all. Brill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Kirsten is the consummate host. She worked out what train we were on and came to pick us up from the station without us asking and dropped us off for free at the b&b.
Room was great. Breakfasts substantial and quality. Hard to fault.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlordship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Grey Bull B&B Inn is wonderful place to stay in Haltwhistle. I have stayed at other inns and B&B in the town of Haltwhistle and this one is wonderful. The owner loves what she does and it shows in quality of the place and super customer service. From the warm welcome to the complete English Breakfast everything was done with a personal touch. Next time I am in Haltwhistle I will stay at the Grey Bull. If you are hiker or cyclist you will find there accomdations very nice because they even have a place to store you equipment.

Room Tip: None of the room have A/C, the bathroom are a nice size and the bedroom area is OK. The room in ends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Kirsten was waiting on the doorstep when we arrived having been directed from another B&B that was full. She has a wonderful smile and is a very friendly lady - nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms were lovely and a very thoughtful basket has been put together with everything that you could need and may have forgotten to bring ( Face wipes/shampoo/ elastoplasts etc) the breakfast was great served by another very smiley friendly lady. Although we had rooms on the front Main Street, we had no trouble sleeping - it wasn't noisy at all. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the shower was great. There were a lot of steps up to the room which might put some people off.

Room Tip: Higher floors are via lots of steps !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferJane05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Grey Bull for three nights in September, 2012--to be close to Hadrian's Wall.
Kristen was wonderful in helping us make some telephone calls, transportation to the train, and--of course--serving a wonderful breakfast and providing a lovely room. It was in easy walking distance to many interesting spots in town. We have told friends in Georgia about it--and might well return someday. Thank you!

Elizabeth Allan

Room Tip: We had a big room on the f ront with double windows--a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 655Elizabeth655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights while walking Hadrian's wall. It was a welcome sight after a long day. I had a single room which seemed large and was very comfortable. Each room has a basket containing various items you might need in an emergency. Kristen prepared the best full "English" breakfast that I have ever had. Other guests said it was the best of their trip. Kristen goes out of her way to make you feel at home. Wish other places would do the same. There is a separate room there for use by the guests to eat any meals that were take away. Sainsbury is close by. I would definitely recommend this place, but if you do not like stairs, maybe you should reconsider. I will stay here the next time when in the area. Thank you Kristen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevadaWolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I would say The Grey Bull is more a B&B than a hotel as it has no bar or restaurant facilities. These are available a short walk away though, including a good real ale pub - The Black Bull.

The hostess is very welcoming with a great smile, and a pot of tea if you would like some. There is secure storage for your bike if you are cycling the Hadrian's Wall way, and the room was spotless and reasonably spacious with an en-suite that had a proper shower, not one of those rubbish electric ones where it's hard to get wet. Breakfast was extensive, including grapefruit segments and prunes etc. although the full English was more Tesco than local farm shop.

It's hard to fault the Grey Bull on anything apart from the price. I stayed at an almost identical room in the Lake District for less than half the price. This might be why I couldn't get in at my first choice hotel and I appeared to be the only one staying here. A lovely lady though, worth going just for the smile!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fandango11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haltwhistle hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashcroft Guest House
Ashcroft Guest House
#1 of 14 in Haltwhistle
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belford House
Belford House
#4 of 14 in Haltwhistle
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#4 of 11 in Haltwhistle
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#14 of 14 in Haltwhistle
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 14 in Haltwhistle
237 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#7 of 14 in Haltwhistle
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Bull Hotel

Address: Main Street, Haltwhistle NE49 0DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very well converted Coaching Inn, offering seven all en-suite bedrooms, with two guests lounges, dining room, off street parking and safe and secure cycle storage, all rooms have beverage making facilities, central heating, flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Grey Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Bull Hotel Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing