We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent b&b”
Review of Grey Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey Bull Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very decent b&b”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for one night while doing Hadrians cycle ride. The welcome was excellent, second to none. We were escorted personally to the room on the top floor and then brought coffee and tea by the landlady. The room was excellent with good beds and bedding and decor. As we were on cycles our bikes came into the main house into a totally safe room so the fear of losing our expensive bikes overnight was allayed. Would recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirinneVeritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
61
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Grey Bull B&B for 2 nights, June 11-13, 2014. The host, Kristen, is a very special person who can not do enough to make your stay a pleasant one. She prepares an excellent English breakfast and is very helpful with suggestions as to where to hike, where to eat and which bus you need to catch to see the Hadrian's Wall sights. She even delivered us to the train station the morning we left. The room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend the Grey Bull to anyone staying in the Hadrian's wall area. Haltwhistle has good train and bus connections to anywhere in the UK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanBinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Grey Bull is a jewel of a place, centrally located and the perfect hotel to stay for your visit to Hadrian's Wall. Kristen Hind runs the family business and gives out the kind of service and kindness money cannot buy. First, she stunned us by picking us up at the train station and whisked us off to her charming B&B.This is a clean, comfortable, storybook place with history,comfort and style. The fresh, homemade English breakfasts are fantastic, the rooms nice and cozy and she has a wonderful staff. We got all Kristen's great tips for eating in town, and exploring The Wall and beautiful countryside. We were treated as family really, not just customers. We would never think of staying anywhere else! Thank you Kristen for a truly magical couple of days!
Samantha and Rick Pierce

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrumbateman
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Haltwhistle is well located to explore Hadrian's Wall and the Grey Bull is the perfect place to stay to round off the experience. The Grey Bull is a short walk from the railway station, with ample parking next door for those that drive. Kristen runs a very efficient operation whilst making everyone feel at home, resulting in a very breakfast atmosphere. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable, with windows that could be opened - always high on my list.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs the rooms on the top floor have pleasant views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynetteKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a really great place to stay in Haltwhistle. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfy too. The full English breakfast was a good and not too greasy. Kristen was friendly and very helpful. We were initially booked to stay one night and we planned to walk along Hadrian’s Wall the following day. Kristen tried to find out if there were any local bus services to Housesteads Roman Fort, but there was very little running. We thought we would get a taxi but she offered to take us there (for a small fee) which was perfectly fair. We asked if we could extend our stay after the walk as we had not planned where we would be for the following night. We needed to move rooms as the room we had stayed in had been booked for a more elderly person who would struggle to make it to the second floor. This was no problem for us and we were happy to oblige. Should we find ourselves in Haltwhistle again we would happily book this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackdog400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Grey Bull is well located for exploring 'The Wall'. The house has character, ample off-road parking and superbly appointed rooms, assuming they were all like our's [no. 5]. Kristen, who runs it with the help of her mother and others, is the highlight of the place. In our 4-night stay she could not be more attentive, welcoming you warmly and looking after you as if you were a favorite relative. Excellent quality and choice of breakfast. Good places for evening eating in easy walking distance, especially 'The Centre of Britain' restaurant, so no problems drinking and driving. Can't wait to revisit!

Room Tip: No. 5 was light and spacious with a large loo/shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for three days in early May. It really is a wee gem of a place and Kristen the owner is very helpful , attentive and accommodating . We have no hesitation in recommending the Grey Bull Haltwhistle and hope to return some time soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
0.1 mi away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 14 in Haltwhistle
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashcroft Guest House
Ashcroft Guest House
#1 of 14 in Haltwhistle
511 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#6 of 14 in Haltwhistle
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belford House
Belford House
#8 of 14 in Haltwhistle
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#3 of 10 in Haltwhistle
58 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Bull Hotel

Property: Grey Bull Hotel
Address: Main Street, Haltwhistle NE49 0DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grey Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Bull Hotel Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing